We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place but!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
tyneside england
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“very nice place but!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

the buildings are superb, the tour was good and informative plenty to see and she tells a good story. we stayed in teh oversees cottage and at 3109 dollars it was reasonable value. bed was a bit small but furniture is all very old , room was otherwise comfortable.
teh grounds are very nice even in teh dark! the pool is very nice hot tub was off when we were there.
i thought the restaraunt was a touch overpriced and that the menu was a bit limited. service was ok but not particularly special. cheapest wine @ £24 dollars was the most expensive on our whole trip and it wasnt very good.
its the little things though that make a difference, and in this i felt Nottaway was lacking, the receptionist had a strange attitude, i had need to complain regarding the lack of an internet facility (from england so didnt have lap top) teh facility was still there but she said teh computer have been removed! no further explanation! we asked for towels to use the pool and were told "the bell boys has stepped out can you wait an hour" !!!
no red wine in teh rooms, why do i look like i will spill it! no where else we stayed had this ridiculous rule. no outside food or drink , including water allowed in the rooms you got to be kidding! we did drink our own beer on the balcony, the bar area was deserted at 10.00 bar was way overpriced.
overall a nice experience but could be so much better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david.russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    243
    100
    41
    23
See reviews for
311
542
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanger, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Having seen pictures, we were excited all the way up from New Orleans. It looked to be such a beautiful place, so spacious, so gracious.

In the end, it was like a date with a beautiful woman who can't carry on a conversation.

The buildings and ground have been renovated and are beautiful! The grounds are manicured, the buildings immaculate. We stayed in one of the new cottages, and the building still had a fresh paint smell. The beds were nice, the bathroom spacious. The air conditioning was exceptional, which is very important in Louisiana, even in the late spring. The cottages have very good - and free - high speed internet connections, which is important than in past years. (I'm guilty - I feel adrift if I don't check my email for a few days.)

However, odd notes started appearing as soon as we checked in. We were handed a set of rules for guests. No red wine in the rooms. Yes, red wine can stain linens, however a competent laundry service can remove the stains. No outside food or drink in the rooms. This smells of greed more than anything else. It is like a movie theater on thin margins which only makes money on the concessions. This just seems like they don't understand the idea of hospitality.

When we checked in, we were told to drive to our cottage and that a bellman would come by to help us unload our car. After waiting half an hour, we unloaded the car and called the front desk to tell them we didn't need a bellman. No one answered the phone, so we left a message. No one ever called to apologize. Had they not promised a bellman, we wouldn't have missed the service. Since they promised, didn't deliver and didn't apologize it was annoying. "Raving fans" classes suggest under promising and over delivering. They got it backwards.

The food at the restaurant was wonderful, however the service was spotty. Both times we ate there, there was no one at the maître d’ station and no signs, so we didn't know if we should seat ourselves or wait for someone to show us to our table. About the time we were going to seat ourselves, someone appeared to seat us. Also, was served before my wife about half the time. At their price point and with the aura of class they are trying to project, it matters.

In the morning we wanted to take the tour of the mansion. We missed the first tour by a few minutes. Although no one had taken the first tour, the woman running the tours suggested we wait almost an hour for the next one on some uncomfortable looking chairs on the veranda. The chairs were in full sunlight, and it was already uncomfortably hot. We decided to forgo the chairs, the wait, the sunburn and the tour. Surely there were chairs inside where we could have waited.

All in all, there were too many rough spots, too many places where they were too obviously concerned with their business and their procedures and too unconcerned with the experience their guests are having.

At this point, we are not inclined to return. If their staff gets some training on enhancing the customer experience, we'll reconsider.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed here one night in room #2 for $170. The bedroom is very pretty and wonderfully decorated. There is a large bathroom with a huge, old fashioned tub, huge walk in shower and a separate area for the toilet that has it's own door. We had three people, so we ordered a roll-away for $25. The roll-away seemed to be from the period the mansion was built. The bed, however, was very comfortable. Upon arrival we went down to the bar and had a glass of wine and sat in a cozy nook and watched the rain coming down outside. The bartender was very friendly and allowed me to sample several wines before I chose the one that I wanted. She gave my daughter a free Shirley Temple and basket of bread. In the morning we had the breakfast that was included with the price of the room. I had scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuit, hash browns and fruit cup. Order just the fruit cup if you are looking for a light meal! The decaf coffee that I ordered was French pressed, Community brand coffee and was good. We took the 9am tour of the mansion that was included in our room rate, and watched the video afterwards. I would stay here again. After leaving Nottoway we did the tour of Laura and felt that their tour was more informative and interesting. Just driving by Oak Alley and taking a picture from the road is worth while too! Enjoy the food in this part of the country, but bring along your Lipitor!
We ate at Crawfish Town USA in Henderson, LA.(I-10 exit 115) This is as authentic cajun food as you can get. My husband had the boiled crawfish and ordered it extra spicy. He would get just spicy next time, as his hands and lips were burning after peeling them.
He also ordered the seafood fiesta which had a sampling of many tasty, Louisiana dishes.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms online to see. We liked room #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberries4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

If you're looking for a unique stay this may fit the bill. Wonderful historic setting. Terrific period decorating. Restaurant pretty good. Historical tour (included) quite interesting. Lovely pool/hot tub as well. Not much else in the area, but sure is more interesting than another Marriott! (Even better if you stop at the Abita Brewery tour on the way!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45ACP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Nottoway is a fabulous plantation house on the famous Louisiana River Road. As part of a tour of several historic plantations with a friend, we stayed here for one night and were very happy with our stay. We had room 9 in the Overseer's cottage, which was perfect for non-couples as there is a single bed in a little separate chamber. Room was nicely appointed with two second-story porches available for sitting, and, with a free tour of the house and breakfast, a real bargain at the rate of $119.00 (AAA rate). We also had a late dinner of very tasty crabcakes in the glassed in dining area overlooking the grounds and live oaks. Breakfast was buffet style and very good, with the exception of coffee refills, as someone else mentioned. I found the Nottoway to be lovely and evocative of the time it was a vast sugar plantation, especially the graveyard and live oaks. Of course, the view of the Mississippi River is obscured by the levee today, but one can walk across the lawn and up the levee for a smashing view of the front of the house. We had the pool to ourselves on a weekday morning. The tour of Nottoway was wonderful with a great local guide. Outstanding highlights are the white ballroom and magnolia cornice in the dining room. I suppose Nottoway would appeal most to those of us who love and appreciate historic sites. The site is popular for weddings and new cottages were under construction while we were there for guests. Highly recommended for history buffs touring the River Road.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deckyria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clatskanie OR
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our room was in the boys quarters and have to say the room was not up to my standards. If you looked under the bed or in front of the headboard or in the corners, we noticed dust and a bandaid. It appears that the vacuum cleaner is only used in the middle of the room. The furntiure is old and the mirrors on the armoire is in need of change. The bathrooms appear to have been updated. They do have new rooms and even though the rooms are presented as antiques, I would prefer a clean new room. Perhaps other rooms would have been nicer. The dinner at the dining room was superior quality and service. The breakfast buffet was OK but the trays were short on food. We felt we couldn't take much as others were in line for food. We had to ask for OJ with our breakfast. A free tour was included with our room. We stated during the high waters on the Mississippi River and the plantation is right on the edge of the levy. There was not problem with the water. Internet did not work in my room, even with someone coming to the room to add a cord.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My husband, 4 year old daughter and I took a recent stay to Cajun Country and New Orleans. Mid-week we spent a night at Nottoway Plantation. While there isn't much to see in the immediate vicinity, this was well worth the stay. Grounds/Gardens were beautiful. The accomodations were extremely comfortable. We stayed in the Overseer's cottage, separate but very close to the main house. Price included a lovely tour of the mansion the next day, as well as full breakfast. The house itself was amazing. Very well maintained. We enjoyed walking up the levy bank to see the Mississippi. My daughter especially enjoyed the pool. Overall, I was very impressed by the comforts and modern amnemities, while still maintaining the beauty and history of this plantation.

Room Tip: Go mid week!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 78 in Baton Rouge
481 reviews
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#9 of 78 in Baton Rouge
527 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 78 in Baton Rouge
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Property: Nottoway Plantation Resort
Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing