We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very very nice”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

If you're looking for a unique stay this may fit the bill. Wonderful historic setting. Terrific period decorating. Restaurant pretty good. Historical tour (included) quite interesting. Lovely pool/hot tub as well. Not much else in the area, but sure is more interesting than another Marriott! (Even better if you stop at the Abita Brewery tour on the way!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45ACP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    207
    88
    35
    20
See reviews for
243
463
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Nottoway is a fabulous plantation house on the famous Louisiana River Road. As part of a tour of several historic plantations with a friend, we stayed here for one night and were very happy with our stay. We had room 9 in the Overseer's cottage, which was perfect for non-couples as there is a single bed in a little separate chamber. Room was nicely appointed with two second-story porches available for sitting, and, with a free tour of the house and breakfast, a real bargain at the rate of $119.00 (AAA rate). We also had a late dinner of very tasty crabcakes in the glassed in dining area overlooking the grounds and live oaks. Breakfast was buffet style and very good, with the exception of coffee refills, as someone else mentioned. I found the Nottoway to be lovely and evocative of the time it was a vast sugar plantation, especially the graveyard and live oaks. Of course, the view of the Mississippi River is obscured by the levee today, but one can walk across the lawn and up the levee for a smashing view of the front of the house. We had the pool to ourselves on a weekday morning. The tour of Nottoway was wonderful with a great local guide. Outstanding highlights are the white ballroom and magnolia cornice in the dining room. I suppose Nottoway would appeal most to those of us who love and appreciate historic sites. The site is popular for weddings and new cottages were under construction while we were there for guests. Highly recommended for history buffs touring the River Road.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deckyria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clatskanie OR
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our room was in the boys quarters and have to say the room was not up to my standards. If you looked under the bed or in front of the headboard or in the corners, we noticed dust and a bandaid. It appears that the vacuum cleaner is only used in the middle of the room. The furntiure is old and the mirrors on the armoire is in need of change. The bathrooms appear to have been updated. They do have new rooms and even though the rooms are presented as antiques, I would prefer a clean new room. Perhaps other rooms would have been nicer. The dinner at the dining room was superior quality and service. The breakfast buffet was OK but the trays were short on food. We felt we couldn't take much as others were in line for food. We had to ask for OJ with our breakfast. A free tour was included with our room. We stated during the high waters on the Mississippi River and the plantation is right on the edge of the levy. There was not problem with the water. Internet did not work in my room, even with someone coming to the room to add a cord.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My husband, 4 year old daughter and I took a recent stay to Cajun Country and New Orleans. Mid-week we spent a night at Nottoway Plantation. While there isn't much to see in the immediate vicinity, this was well worth the stay. Grounds/Gardens were beautiful. The accomodations were extremely comfortable. We stayed in the Overseer's cottage, separate but very close to the main house. Price included a lovely tour of the mansion the next day, as well as full breakfast. The house itself was amazing. Very well maintained. We enjoyed walking up the levy bank to see the Mississippi. My daughter especially enjoyed the pool. Overall, I was very impressed by the comforts and modern amnemities, while still maintaining the beauty and history of this plantation.

Room Tip: Go mid week!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I have learned that time and time again what makes a good property excel is service. It is too bad it is lacking at Nottoway.
We had been looking forward to Nottoway since we stopped for lunch in November 2010. The food was great and the service outstanding.
The trip in May was an entirely different experience. The best description of the front desk clerk was uninterested. The room was new but ordinary and for the price the walls are too thin.
The complimentary high speed internet did not work and no one seem to understand how to fix it.
The restaurant food was still superb but our waitress was untrained. The waitress never mentioned the nightly specials although we heard them mentioned by others. She had no knowledge of wines, unclean silverware on the table, and unaware on how to serve. She was not ready to be a waitress. The complimentary breakfast was of low quality and obvious cost cutting since the remaining meals were excellent.
There was some great staff; a very friendly housekeeper, the morning waitstaff and the night clerk. It was disappointing it was so inconsistent.
Just not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidid0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
242 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I'm giving Nottoway an excellent rating as we loved it however there were downsides but these were easily dismissed by us. The cons ; Roads either side and a train at one side. It's old and the stair carpets are a bit tatty. Our room (no 1) had an adjoining door which had quite a gap under so was not that private. No safe, hairdryer or in room drink facilities & they prohibit outside food & drink in the rooms & especially no red wine.
The pros; It's a unique environment and a beautiful, historic, imposing building overlooking the Mississippi. The grounds were not huge but were well maintained and attractive. The furnishings are not original to the home but typical of the period and charming. A tour is included in the tariff. The restaurant is lovely and the food was superb.
The receptionist was extremely helpful with hints on parking in New Orleans. We chose Nottoway because it was driving distance from NO and we wanted to stay in a plantation home. We have no regrets about not actually staying in NO and would definitely stay at Nottoway if in the area again.
Our room was in the main building and the guide said to treat it as a 'home away from home' and we had free run of the house so had a feel for actually living there to a degree.
We stayed 2 nights and there weren't many guests. The staff were all very friendly and we especially enjoyed the meals.
There is building going on as more accommodation is being added. Evidently the owner lives in Sydney, Australia & is investing a lot of money in the place.
We fell in love with it.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a view of the Mississippi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Didn't have a reservation for hotel nor for dinner. While I do believe we lucked out being early in the week - they had a great room and helped us get organized to go to dinner. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left - most everyone wanted to make sure we were taken care of and comfortable. The only complaint would be the front desk clerk was not the most cheerful when we arrived. But overall from the night clerk, to the maids to the hostess in the restaurants made our stay comfortable. The room was great in is spacious and an awsome bathroom. We stayed in the girl's wing and other than the lack of access to our veranda - really enjoyed this stay. It is the absolute middle of nowhere - so it is not a place I would go to without the concept of having a relaxing evening with little nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#14 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
#1 of 1 in Plaquemine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#5 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
15.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
#2 of 6 in Donaldsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Property: Nottoway Plantation Resort
Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing