We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nottoway, A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Irvine CA
12
Reviewed June 23, 2003

Our cousin was getting married at the Plantation, and we had a four-night stay. Much like the previous poster mentioned; pay the extra amount to stay in the mansion portion of the house. Since my relatives are from Louisiana, I knew pretty much what to expect.It was a once in a lifetime experience! In my latter years of travel, I will return to Nottoway, as it was just such an experience one is lucky to take. It is truly what life in the South used to be many years ago.One note. If you are expecting cable TV, internet, data ports, and even a newspaper, you are in for a surprise, because they just don't exist.Don't expect diet plates visiting Nottoway. Breakfast is filling, even if you have stomach space after the 'wake-up call' of sweet potato muffins and beverages. You can get a lighter fare lunch from the chicken salad served with the wonderful house herb dressing. For dinner, I recommend the fried shrimp, and of course, mint juleps! I also recommend the alligator excursion just down the road a bit. If one wants to truly experience the Old South, than this is the place for you! If you are looking for something with all of the gadgets, look elsewhere. I truly loved this experience!

  • Stayed: May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2003

The sheer size of this plantation house is amazing; it's well worth touring even if you're not spending the night. We stayed in one of the rooms in the rear "wing," but if we visit again, would want to stay inside the main body of the house. The wing rooms are generally cheaper, have a wonderful veranda and are good if you're more interested in privacy. But for the full plantation experience, you probably should consider paying a little extra for one of the more spectacular rooms actually inside the main house. The on-site restaurant was good but not great. The room where the B&B guests get breakfast lacked atmosphere. As with most dining experiences in Louisiana, not a lot of heart-healthy options.

5  Thank Dtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fribeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 434heikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 993thelmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 602yannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephanietP4208NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
485 reviews
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#10 of 77 in Baton Rouge
546 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
#1 of 1 in Plaquemine
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
16.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#29 of 77 in Baton Rouge
595 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gonzales
Hampton Inn Gonzales
#1 of 16 in Gonzales
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range: $119 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing