We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!”

Cajun Critters Swamp Tour
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Westwego
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Massillon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I had been to NOLA several times before I gave this a try. Our guide was hugely entertaining, especially when he hollered "Ici!" (here!) and about six alligators came swimming to our boat. He would toss marshmallows into the air and the gators would jump out to catch them. He actually gave a marshmallow to one gator in his teeth!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MassillonJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    25
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Learnin about the bayou”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Swamp tour on a pontoon boat next to Bayou Signette State Park in Westwego, La. . Very nice leisurely tour of the Bayou with a fun and knowledgeable captain. 2 + hours of touring with plenty of gators,birds,flowers and all you might expect to see in the Bayou.
Well worthwhile of your time and dollar

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had a great Captain Troy, he was highly engaged and knowledgeable, we say baby gators as promised and even got to hold one.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great swamp tour at a great price that's close by New Orleans!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This swamp tour was the highlight of our short trip to New Orleans! We received a fantastic tour from a local who knows the area well. Extremely educational both visually and verbally. We learned about the effect of the flooding in this area too. The youngest member of our family was nervous about getting way too close to an alligator so didn't want a tour in a small boat where we could be eye-to-eye with an alligator. This vessel was large, up higher off the water, and very stable for the entire 2-hr. cruise so we all felt very safe. We all loved it! We saw all kinds of wildlife including birds, alligators, and turtles along with amazing plants and trees. The location is close to New Orleans, about a 15-20 minute drive southwest of the downtown riverfront. They offer transportation too if you don't have a car or don't want to drive. The price is excellent. Kids and seniors even receive a discount when you let them know. So glad we picked this swamp tour!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Critters Swamp Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Critters Swamp Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing