We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Short distance from Texas for gamblers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westlake
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short distance from Texas for gamblers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I took my wife and mom here for Morter's Day...It was a great trip and we had a lot of fun...Even die a lot of the slot machines was down at the time my mother and wife still found plenty to do to lose there Morther's Day money on..Staff was great and frequently rotated with drinks offers...Overall I would visit here again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bk103Cuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, General Manager at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I appreciate you for letting us know that both you and your Mom enjoyed her Mother’s Day outing at the Isle of Capri. We strive to provide our guests with a fun and friendly experience at a fantastic value and I was happy to hear that our friendly team members took good care of you while you were here.

Thank you for choosing the Isle for your special celebration. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Paul E. Hutchens
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    65
    46
    37
    37
See reviews for
47
94
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Of the two casinos in Lake Charles, we prefer this one because it is smaller and not as pretentious as l'auberge du lac. The staff is much friendlier here, as well. They have always been fairly prompt about taking and delivering drink orders which is not the case with l'auberge. Granted, it isn't as upscale and fancy as the other one, but it is our casino of choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, General Manager at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We appreciate your kind remarks. We do agree with you that the Isle has the friendliest team members in Southwest Louisiana who also truly care about our guests.

We hope to see you again soon.

Paul Hutchens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked a Tower Jr. Suite for our 1 night stay in Lake Charles in late August. Everyone we encountered was very nice and professional. We checked in and went to our assigned room but found a "Do not disturb" sign on the door. Given that it was after 9pm we didn't want to risk walking in on someone, so I went back downstairs and was assured that no one was in that room, but I was quickly given another room right next door. ( I was told that security would check on the room, but in the morning when we checked out the sign was still there, so who knows).

The room itself, although in need of an update (scuffed, stained furniture etc) was clean and surprisingly large and very comfortable! It was funny, because in the morning, we noticed that many of the rooms on our floor were being emptied and prepped for renovations/refurbishment.

We did play in the casino and it was fine. I lost but my husband won a little.

My only suggestion would be for the hotel to offer more eating options. There really isn't anything besides the buffet area for late night or morning before 11am. We wanted a light snack before bed and could only get some chips at the stand in the atrium. Again, in the morning before checking out, we wanted a light breakfast, but only the buffet was open. It was ok, nothing note worthy, but much more than what we wanted.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay and would stay here again on our next visit to Lake Charles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g35girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, General Manager at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review of your recent trip to the Isle of Capri Casino Hotel in Lake Charles. As you indicated, we recently got underway with a fifteen million dollar renovation of the 253 hotel rooms in the tower. Although we were already very proud of the size and cleanliness of our rooms, we think that our guests will enjoy the fresh new look as well as they have enjoyed the improvements made on the casino floor. All of the rooms, fixtures, finishes, carpet, and wall covering are being addressed during this renovation.

While the buffet is the only outlet available in the early morning hours, we do provide our guests with various options in Tradewinds during late night hours. A light fare is available: anything from sandwiches, pizza, oriental cuisine, to a wide array of desserts. Tradewinds is located on the second floor across from the Fan Club.

Please let us hear from you when you visit us again.

Paul E. Hutchens
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was my first time going to a casino and was very excited, however, had a horrible experience at Isle of Capri. My boyfriend, who is 24, was excused of having a fake ID just because the ID was from another country!! We were waiting for about 20 minutes while the employee was looking through a book to see if she could find one like it, but nothing. I was very understanding at first because they have to follow policy. Then that employee called her supervisor. The supervisor came, looked at the ID, said no, then left. He never looked at us, didn't apologize, nor did he give us a reason why they were falsely accusing us of carrying a fake ID. I WAS VERY ANGRY!!! I drove from Houston, TX and reserved my hotel at Isle of Capri to find out they were not going to let us in. We left and decided to drive to COUSHATTA. They let us in with no problem!!! I WILL NEVER BE GOING TO ISLE OF CAPRI!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yessika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, General Manager at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
I am sorry for your recent experience at the Isle of Capri Casino Hotel. Our director of security has attempted to contact you on several occasions regarding this situation. Thus far, we have been unable to reach you. As a state-licensed Louisiana casino, we are under very strict guidelines on the forms of identification that we may accept to permit entry into the casino. These forms of identification include state-issued driver’s license displaying photograph, state issued identification card displaying photograph, United States or foreign government issued passports displaying photograph, official military identification displaying photograph or national or territorial issued identification card displaying photograph. We have a legal and moral responsibility to ensure that individuals under the age of 21 do not enter our casino. Since we have been unable to reach you, we have been unable to ascertain the type of identification that you may have presented to our security personnel. Additionally, if we mishandled this particular situation, we would appreciate following up with you on the details so that we may coach our team members. If you would like to discuss this matter further, you may contact our casino at (337) 430-2400 and ask to speak with our director of security. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter with you.

Sincerely,
Paul Hutchens
General Manager
Isle of Capri Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westlake hotels

Victoria, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My recent overnight stay on 7-31-12 was a wonderful experience. At first I was a little concerned about the rooms after reading some of the reviews. Management contacted me and assured me the rooms are being renovated and if I had any concerns upon arrival I was given a phone # to contact. Fortunately, there was no reason for concern. The Tower room where I stayed had not yet been renovated but was still a very clean/comfortable room. Also, so there would be no surprises, I was told ahead of time that the renovation noise would begin about 9:00 am and was asked if that would be problem-no problem for me as I am an early riser. Everything about my visit was exceptional from the reservation, check-in/out, housekeeping, and casino. EVERY employee I had contact with was friendly and seem willing to do whatever they could to make my stay enjoyable. I would highly recommend the Isle in Lake Charles even while the renovations are in progress.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FML-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

First let me say that they are in the middle of renovating their rooms. It is much needed and hopefully will help them improve overall.

The Casino is nice and well kept. Lot's of games to choose from and staff overall seemed pretty good. It was fun!

The security was pretty lax or so it seemed especially between the hotel and casino and not for a comfortable atmosphere late in the evening.

Pool was also in great need of some TLC. Overall the hotel had a pretty low end feeling overall. Staff was not very engaged and seemed not very concerned with making you feel welcome. No place to get a good cup of coffee and I am pretty sure no room service (they never answered the phone).

The location is good and if they were to invest in more updating and customer service training it could be a grea place again. But definately needs a lot of desire to change!

If your looking for a better casino/hotel experience I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris_lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, General Manager at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We have been busy the past year-and-a-half here at the Isle and are looking forward to completing our tower renovation by the end of the year. We think our guests will enjoy the new renovated rooms as much as they have enjoyed the fresh new look on the casino floor. I apologize that you did not feel the presence of our security personnel during your visit. In addition to our officers stationed throughout the casino, we have designated officers patrolling the perimeters of the parking lots, an officer assigned to bike patrol, as well as weekend off-duty officers from the Westlake Police Department, all of whom are dedicated to your well-being. If you ever feel unsafe on our premises, we would be more than happy to provide you with an escort to your room.

We have been told that we have the friendliest team members in Southwest Louisiana. I invite you to visit us again soon to experience some of our southern hospitality.

Paul Hutchens
Vice President/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visit the Isle occasionally, and lately it has really improved. There are lots of the newest slots, plenty of comp cocktails, good atmosphere with friendly employees. The only con is that it is extremely smoky!!! The food in the buffet is wonderful, the rooms at the Inn are horrible and really need an update.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, General Manager at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. You started off your comments under the heading “FUN casino”. At the Isle of Capri, we really focus on trying to provide a clean, safe, friendly, and FUN entertainment experience. We believe that we have THE friendliest team members in Southwest Louisiana and have a relaxing atmosphere where you can really let yourself go and have a great time. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the buffet. We have really been working on preparing fresh foods including a fantastic selection of local Louisiana and regional cuisine. I am sorry that you thought that the casino was smoky. We have been upgrading our air conditioning and ventilation but it sounds like we still have some work to do. I am also sorry that you did not enjoy the rooms at the Inn. We completed a renovation at the Inn just three years ago and have received a number of positive comments on the new décor, color scheme, and furnishings. We recently started a renovation of the hotel tower rooms that we hope to complete by the end of the year. Please keep checking in with us as we always have a lot of things going on and a number of new things that we are working on!

Paul Hutchens
VP/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westlake
2.2 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#3 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
1.8 mi away
America's Best Inn and Suites
America's Best Inn and Suites
#27 of 33 in Lake Charles
2.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles

Property: Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles
Address: 100 Westlake Ave, Westlake, LA 70669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Westlake
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Westlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles is your friendly Westlake gaming destination. We offer more than 1,000 slot machines and 40 table games including roulette, craps, blackjack, and poker. Extend your stay as a guest in our hotel. We feature two hotel towers providing upscale and comfortable accommodations. The action includes exciting promotions, delicious dining options, and headliner performances. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Capri Westlake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing