We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need more Waiters During Peak Season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Westlake
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have stayed with this hotel several times. We recently went during Mari Gras and Spring Break. The hotel/casino has to realize that they are booked to capacity and thus have enough wait staff available during peak hours. This did not happen. I have never seen the lines as long outside the eating establishments as I saw those two weekends. One person is acting as the cashier. Sometimes that same cashier is doing double duty in seating the patrons. Same goes for the waitresses inside the casino. Yes it is a luxury to get free drinks, but the waitress is so flustered by the amount of people that you only see her once in 3 hours? I did notice that there were quite a few "custodian" people keeping their sections clean. More of them than waitresses. Just a suggestion. Over-all, enjoy this place!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKKTEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, General Manager at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

I apologize for the lack of attention received during your recent stay at the Isle of Capri. Working through our inefficiencies should not reflect on the guest expectation and it seems that this was the case over your stay. We are making every effort to resolve our staffing challenges during peak periods. Our all-you-can-eat crawfish buffet has been very popular since Mardi Gras and we need to adjust the staffing levels to cover the demand. It is truly appreciated that you took the time to provide feedback on our day-to-day operation and we will continue to push for perfection in the eyes of our guest. Again, I apologize for your experience.

Paul E. Hutchens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 310 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

We did not receive the room we were promised. Horrible customer service. We ended up in a room at the Inn. Very dirty. Horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beantx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, Director of Hotel Operations at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Thank you for notifying us of your complaint. We strive to provide you with the best possible service, and when you feel that it fails to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know. Your patronage is important to us and we hope that you will continue to give us the opportunity to serve you.

Linda Ferguson
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stopped by the Isle of Capri again this after after attending a Mardi Gras Ball and it looked as if they had cleaned the place up a bit as the carpets and machines appeared cleaner and more looked after.
As usual we had a great time and I appreciated the helpfulness of the casino staff.
I'm sure we will be back again next year:-)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artkayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a review on the Inn, which is the hotel across the parking lot from the casino.

The rooms have been recently renovated, which is a plus. However, they NEVER have the room type you reserve available. We tried to check in at 2PM on a Thursday, and were told the room type we reserved was not available (king/non-smoking), but we could come back at 3 for that room type, or we could take a queen room now. That's fine, since check in is not until 3 anyway. So we decided to wait. Went back at 3, and were told there were no king non-smoking rooms available and would not be available at all. THis is the same story every time. They NEVER have king non-smoking rooms. Why would the person at 2PM tell me they would have one at 3, but then at 3, they did not and would not have any?

The rooms themselves are OK, nothing fancy. They've been remodeled recently, so are nicer than they used to be. There's a flat screen tv with decent cable, a coffee maker with pretty awful coffee, and the lighting is good. Beds are OK too.

The walk from the casino to the hotel only takes 3 minutes, so it is not inconvenient. It was raining one day, and they did have a van running back and forth, so that was handy.

There is no restaurant on site, so if you want a late night snack, grab one before walking over. Also, the pool and fitness room are in the main Tower/Casino complex, but you do have access to them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife and I went over for a 2 day get a way over the Holidays and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Inn across from the Casino, and the rooms were spotless, the staff was friendly! The Casino was a blast, with the dealers making the experience wonderful!.

Thanks to everyone at the property who made our experience memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed in the Tower. Clean room loved the whirlpool tub will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebingtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Started off at the Inn at The Isle and was the worst place I have ever been in. Stains on carpet, dust caked between floor and wall, in bathroom on floor had hair (both long and from the other part of anatomy yuk) and dirty napkins under curtains. Staff was indifferent, gave me key to look at another room which was no better. She then offered room at the Isle across street for 10$ more per night although she didn't know what those rooms were like(she didn't care about much about anything really). The Isle was worth more than 10$ more per night. Overall If not for the conference I went to there to see friends I would never go back to Lake Charles for anything.

Room Tip: Stay away from here unless you are addicted to gambling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Hutchens, General Manager at Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

I am very sorry that you experienced such poor conditions at the Inn during your visit in November. This is certainly not typical of our housekeeping or of our staff, as we strive to provide our guests with a clean, safe, friendly and fun environment when they visit the Isle of Capri. The issues have already been addressed and I would expect you to have a much better experience on your next visit. I understand you were here for a conference and don’t normally come to the Lake Charles area; however, if you are ever in the area, please call me personally and I will attempt to restore your confidence in the Isle of Capri.

Paul Hutchens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westlake
2.2 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 37 in Lake Charles
1,500 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake Charles
Courtyard Lake Charles
#10 of 37 in Lake Charles
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles - Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 37 in Lake Charles
365 reviews
0 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles

Address: 100 Westlake Ave, Westlake, LA 70669-5716
Location: United States > Louisiana > Westlake
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Westlake
Price Range: $120 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles is your friendly Westlake gaming destination. We offer more than 1,000 slot machines and 40 table games including roulette, craps, blackjack, and poker. Extend your stay as a guest in our hotel. We feature two hotel towers providing upscale and comfortable accommodations. The action includes exciting promotions, delicious dining options, and headliner performances. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isle Of Capri Westlake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing