We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Got Seated”
Review of Cheniere Shack

Cheniere Shack
Ranked #78 of 139 Restaurants in West Monroe
Price range: $6 - $30
Description: Full service sit down restaurant. Full bar available. Take out welcome.
Restaurant details
Description: Full service sit down restaurant. Full bar available. Take out welcome.
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never Got Seated”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Wife and I decided to try the Cheniere shack, had been a while since we ate there. It was a Tuesday Night, the crowd was light, and there were several empty tables. We stopped at the “please wait to be seated sign”. After several minutes one of the waiters started to pick up some menus and head our way but the gentlemen behind the check-out counter waved him off. Not sure who he was but all he was doing was standing behind the check-out counter. A couple of minutes later one on the waitress said she would be right with us. The gentlemen behind the counter continue to just stand there and look at us. After about 12 to 15 minutes we decided to go some where else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philpot122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    5
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best fried food I ever ate”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wow! Somebody at Cheniere Shack knows how to FRY! Got the combo plate with 6 fried shrimp, 6 oysters, onion rings and slaw. Those oysters were huge, juicy, and had just the finest crackle of a crispy cornflour crust. They stayed hot for more than 30 minutes! The best fried oysters I ever ate....and I've eaten fried oysters at the finest restaurants in New Orleans! Really amazing! The fried shrimp were jumbo, deveined but not butterflied, and had a different style breading -- flour I think -- that was just right for them; it was very light, almost like a tempura crust. The onion rings melt in your mouth, held together just by the crispy thin crust--it seemed to be a thin batter crust. The slaw was perfect...green and red cabbage and carrot shreds in a very light creamy sauce...not to sweet and not too much vinegar...just enough for the vegetables to shine. The bread they brought was very light, soft french bread that had been buttered and grilled....it was superb too. An amazing meal for only $17!

We got there at 6:00 on a Friday night and the place was almost full. Our server, Jilleen, did a great job and was super friendly and upbeat. She was moving fast and took good care of us. We'll definitely be back. Real Soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelStars4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheniere Shack is so good!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Love their food!! Live in Arkansas & have to go there every time we go to West Monroe to visit relatives. I got catfish & chicken strip special & it was delicious with Cajun ketchup! Family members love red beans & rice. Coconut cake slice is huge & delicious!! Wish we had this resturant in Arkansas!! Love it!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mflemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTGOMERY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Came on the recommendation of family member -”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We drove up, made a road trip out of it coming the back roads down the East West El Camino Trail. The beautiful forests, pretty lakes, and countryside - it was a enjoyable day. Got into West Monroe, found the Cheniere Shack. It had a good crowd and that's always a good sign. Danielle was our serving, it was a busy night but she kept up and never missed a beat. The beer was cold and flowing, the blackened catfish, the crab cakes with etouffe, the bread pudding - freshly made. A wonderful meal and will definitely go back. By the way they make homemade pies and desserts to buy whole or by the piece. The 4 layer coconut cake looked fantastic - will have to try it another road trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_k_0nline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
“Family night out”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have always heard about the cheney shack. Took the family one weekend night. Ordered fried catfish dinners. The "green salad" was chopped up lettuce with dressing on the side. Not one tomato,onion included,only chopped lettuce. The fish and fries came out cold. All in all,rather mediocre.We won't make a return trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheniere Shack also viewed

 

Been to Cheniere Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing