We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet people. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam's Southern Eatery

Sam's Southern Eatery
Ranked #95 of 138 Restaurants in West Monroe
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: They have a variety of fried and grilled seafood. They also have a location in Monroe, LA at 300 Laton Avenue
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweet people. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We asked for a referral from clerk at our front desk. He immediately said sams. "If you like Cajun food."
I was expecting gumbo and étouffée. Nope. All fried.
Fish was good. Shrimp are huge but batter too salty. Hush puppies are great. Crab cakes have too much batter. Great dirty rice and slaw.

Helpful?
Thank Snorkelingslumlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fish ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I always order the grilled shrimp salad. Shrimp are very large and sa ory.....tbe fish is cooked well too. We always chose grilled. Also o.ly place i can get a gyro sandwich or salad!

Helpful?
Thank Marla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of food but undercooked”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We selected this place because it showed up when we "googled" great places to eat in West Monroe. Very friendly service and generous portions but the fish was underdone and tasteless. My daughter enjoyed her fried shrimp & mac n cheese. The bathroom was disgusting which
should have been a clue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vlfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ordered the 4 piece fish - the fish was tough like it wasn't thawed out completely before being fried. They gave me one little plastic container of tarter sauce and I asked for another one; I was told it was an additional charge of $.76!!

My friend ordered the chicken wings and they were huge but tough!!

Lots of food but I didn't eat but a couple of bites as it was yuck!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Terrific Food and Service. We had a group of Motorcycle riders stop there about 40 of us. In addition to their regular patrons they handled us with ease and great food and plenty of it. They were very friendly and helpful. Got our food out in record time and were close by if anybody needed anything. Just a great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwinginit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Southern Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Southern Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing