We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in West Monroe
Reviewed June 14, 2008

I stay at Holiday Inn Express almost exclusively while travelling for work and have always had nothing but positive things to say about the chain,,,,,, "Except West Monroe"!

The first room that they put us in was on the first floor (#127). When entering the room there was a rush of a horrible mildew odor and everything felt damp. I figured that the ac just needed to run for a while and it would clear up. My wife and I went to dinner and returned to the exact same conditions.

I went to the front desk and explained the problems with the room and the night clerk said that there is no way there could be mildew/mold in the rooms because the hotel isn't old enough (I know it is older than 2 years because I stayed there prior and it has gone down hill significantly!), not wanting to be smart I decided not to ask him just how old a hotel has to be before mildew forms.

Any how, after going back and forth they transferred us to a different room on the second floor that didn't smell as bad and the ac actually worked. However, there was a box of chocolates on the bed when we entered. I informed the front desk of the chocolates so that they could get them for the proper guest. They said that these were left over from a previous group that came through and didn't need them, so I put them in the mini fridge and went to sleep. At 11:35pm the front desk called the room and woke us up to ask what kind of chocolates they were. Half asleep, I told them what I thought and they said they were coming right up to get them. By this time, I was quite angry so I just put the box outside and hung the do not disturb sign on my door.

I have stayed at Holiday Inn Express all over the country and typically highly recommend them for the quality of the room that you usually get. This is NOT the case at West Monroe. This establishment needs a change of management or something similar to turn this location around to be on par with other Holiday Inn Express hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FriendswoodTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 132 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express. in West Monroe LA very much.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was so nice we stayed an extra night. The breakfast was good - as usual. The Holiday Inn Express chain always seems to have a good breakfast no matter where you are. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding was clean and fresh.
I would have no problems recommending this property to anyone looking for nice accomodation in the Monroe/West Monroe LA area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ozcfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

Stayed here because of good experiences at other H.I. Express locations, the price and that they only charged $25 for a pet deposit. The desk staff was very friendly, but the hotel had problems. The first room I was given was already occupied (surprise!) The second room had a bathroom that looked as if it had been used, the security lock was missing and the bed had a serious, visible sag in the middle...the kind where you keep rolling into the center. Finally...after dragging luggage and dog for the third time...got a room that worked. Since I had driven all day and alone, I was pooped from all this upheaval just getting to a room. Bed not terribly comfortable..felt old...definitely NOT current trend in the great hotel beds of the major chains. The location of hotel was also at the end of a long, lonely, dark, frontage road...very deceptive when you exit the freeway and you can see it going by. In the end, I got a good room...with fridge and microwave and free internet. But I'm not filled with confidence in the management to stay here again. The breakfast room and food looked pleasant enough in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank atinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel many times. This time the service was horrible. The sheets were not changed, we did not have any bedspreads even after we asked for them. The floor in the bathroom was never cleaned. We had mud from the first day. The carpet was not vacuumed while we were there. The management was informed about this problem. Nothing changed. I will hesitate to stay there again, even though it is close to the Ike center.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

This is a nice facility. The rooms are a good size and clean. The bathrooms are somewhat on the small size but were very clean. The bed was comfortable. The hallways outside the rooms had a smell but this did not enter into the individual rooms. The breakfast was so so. It did leave alot to be desired. The staff was friendly but not overly helpful. The location is great, better than staying in Monroe itself. Would stay there again, but only for a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RaginCajun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2005

One of the nicest Holiday Inn Express' that I have stayed in. Clean and new. The staff was nice. Conveniently located around nice restaurants. I was there for travel.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auditor_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Monroe hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites of West Monroe
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites West Monroe
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton West Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn West Monroe
Hampton Inn West Monroe
#1 of 16 in West Monroe
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Monroe
Hilton Garden Inn West Monroe
#4 of 16 in West Monroe
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn of West Monroe
Comfort Inn of West Monroe
#11 of 16 in West Monroe
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe

Address: 603 Constitution Dr, West Monroe, LA 71292-8050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > West Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in West Monroe
Price Range: $117 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites West Monroe, La
Holiday Inn West Monroe
West Monroe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing