We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in West Monroe
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Checked into this one hour ago and the room is horrible there are stains on the walls and brown stains on the sheets. The bench has brown stains everywhere. Paid $164.50 for this room and called management and the lady named charlotte tried to find another room at another hotel and said she would not refund our money and she had a major attitude. We looked in the bathroom and behind the toilet looked like someone threw up in it and was never cleaned. Was wondering why it smelt so bad. Then i went to the vending machine and there was brown dripping stuff all over the trashcan and the wall. Would hope no one ever stayed here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sybilnut24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear sybilnut24,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to convey your thoughts regarding your stay with us.

I am truly sorry to hear your negative experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction the room condition has caused you and for the inconvenience you had with our level of cleanliness.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. Very nice hotel. Staff was wonderful! Rooms were very clean and beds were super comfy!! We had our daughters and my great niece with us. Pool was clean and they have an exercise room also! Would def. stay here again! Oh and the kids LOVED THE POPCORN MAKER AND PINK LEMONADE that was free!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff was really friendly. We were upgraded to a suite. The suite is really nice but please do not look at the curtains or windows. There must be condensation from the air conditioner that caused mildew on the curtains when we stayed there. I hope that they cleaned or replaced them. Overall, the room was nice, clean and spacious. I loved the two TVs, kitchen, and sitting area. The complimentary cookies and breakfast were really nice. It is probably one of the best choices in the area if you are visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Ascepti,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of the Holiday Inn Express brand and that you can afford us an opportunity of making it right and welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a good Hi Express to stay at. Clean, nice beds, good location, with the mall behind you and an Outback next door. Close to freeway but no noise. Nice outdoor pool. Good breakfest as usual with these folks. Had a good stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhinsUp_in_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Jodie H,

Thank you for your feedback for the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA. We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us. We regret that you found the bed to be stiffer than what you are accustomed to at other Hampton Inn's, however, we always like to reassure our guests that we strictly follow all Hilton standards in our hotel including the mattresses in all of our guest rooms. This is also includes our full complimentary breakfast, of which we were glad to hear that you enjoyed the sausage and biscuits.

We thank you for your time and business.

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Yes this is one of the more pricey hotels in the area but with the excellent breakfast and incredibly friendly staff they have, it's definitely worth it. The manager when we were there was a female, I believe Kathy or Kristen, but she helped two weary travelers feel right at home. They were honest about restaurants and accomodating in their demeaner. Hotel offers bottles of water in the room for outsiders who aren't used to that type of water!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice hotel - great value - just the right place to lay our heads when traveling for a wedding. We arrived earlier in the day and just left our bags. Later that night after a very nice wedding, we came in and just collapsed. Very nice - very comfortable and great price!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I really do dislike negative reviews, but I call 'em like I see 'em. Even though management left a message that I would get 1000 additional points for a 9 out of 10 rating given at Holiday Inn, I'll just have to pass on those points to be honest. To be as concise as possible...Pros: (1) Though hotel was full, it was quiet. (2) I liked the curved shower curtain that provides more room in the tub while showing. All hotels should have this (many do). (3) Plenty of towels. Cons: (1) Room had gnat infestation. I was swatting during my entire stay on one night. I brought coffee up from breakfast, set it on the counter and in 3 minutes had one floating in my coffee and two others crawing around inside. (2) Though I typically don't expect much from a free breakfast, the HI Express still managed to disappoint by keeping everyone there waiting for 20 minutes after opening before any hot food was ready (biscuits/gravy), then longer before the 'cook' told us that there were no eggs that morning (which is about the only hot thing there). I grabbed coffee and yogurt and went to the room before leaving to head to McDonald's for breakfast. (3) A rail in the elevator was broken and hanging from the wall by one support and the dryer in the washroom on my floor (there were signs on both warning/apologizing). (4) This place isn't really easy to get to being located a mile of so down a service road off of I-20 (not their fault, of course). (5) This brings me back to the beginning, it's too bad that a hotel can't just rest on its own merits and has to bribe guest for good reviews. I will not be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrvandelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Monroe
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Monroe
Hilton Garden Inn West Monroe
#5 of 16 in West Monroe
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn of West Monroe
Comfort Inn of West Monroe
#14 of 16 in West Monroe
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites West Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Monroe
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton West Monroe
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott West Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe

Address: 603 Constitution Dr, West Monroe, LA 71292-8050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > West Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in West Monroe
Price Range: $102 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites West Monroe, La
Holiday Inn West Monroe
West Monroe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing