We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican restaurant in Walker” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Sombreros Mexican Restaurant

Los Sombreros Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Walker
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Livingston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Mexican restaurant in Walker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Although, to my knowledge, it may also be the only Mexican restaurant in Walker. This is a nice little Mexican place. My husband and I enjoy going here when we are both free for lunch. The salsa is really good, not overly spicy like some places. The food is always flavorful and fresh. I would recommend getting there right when they open, as they fill up FAST!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

While this is not one of the well known mexican food restaurants, it is our favorite choice. Their menu offers a wide selection of both Tex-Mex and true Mexican options. We frequently order the Baja Trio. Delicious and can be ordered for one or two people!! The manager is a very likeable fellow. I haven't been there when he hasn't been present. He makes frequent rounds to the tables checking on customer satisfaciton and frequently helps other wait staff if needed. Tuesday nights are family night. They have face painting and a clown walks around blowing up baloons and making all sorts of designs. The kids love visiting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Never had a bad meal here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

My wife and I have ate here atleast 2 dozen times in the past two years. Neither of us have every had a bad thing to say. The food is very good and they have large portions.

We do avoid Tuesday nights which is Kids night. It's a mad house filled to the brim with families taking advantage of the free kids meals.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeauxJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly the Best in Walker!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

This place is without a doubt the best in Walker!! We live a few miles away and eat here often. The steak, chicken, and shrimp fajitas are WONDERFUL. We have always had a great meal and great service at Los Sombreros (which I cannot say about any other restaurant in Walker). The owner/manager always comes by our table to ask how our meal is and thank us for the business. He never stays too long but simply lets you know he cares about the quality of the food and service you are paying for. We have waited a long time for a restaurant of this quality to come to Walker and now we have one

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokyslovingcajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

My family and i ate here about a week ago and we were very pleased. After ordering, it tookonly about 10 mins. for our food to arrive. The service was very nice and helpful. The food was delicious. Also, in my opionion, Los Sombreros has the best salsa around. This place was very good. You should check it out.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birdyboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Sombreros Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Los Sombreros Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing