We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent rooms, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vidalia
Philadelphia, Mississippi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent rooms, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Our room was not on the river side but our family members had one on that side so we were able to look at both views. The rooms were musty smelling but clean. My only real complaint was that the staff parked under the canopy where guests park to unload bags and check in. They did this every day of our three days at the hotel. I presume this was because they were too lazy to walk from the parking lot but it was very aggravating especially when there were three employees cars blocking the whole driveway. If I was the owner or manager those employees would be scolded. The complimentary breakfast was good, but I wish it would have stayed open til 10 on weekdays too for late sleeping children.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a39350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    69
    25
    10
    10
See reviews for
68
85
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
tchrs
Level Contributor
335 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This motel has a spectacular view IF (very important word) you have a room on the Mississippi river side. You can look out and watch the barges go up and down the river, car and trucks cross on the bridge just south of the motel or walk along the bank. Combined with a good restaurant and filling breakfast and this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: absolutely positively pop for a river side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Newer hotel right near the Mississippi River. The lobby was spacious and clean. The rooms were nice and clean and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The location was good too. A quick drive to either Vidalia or Natchez.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Peaceful quiet hotel across the river from popular destination, Natchez, Mississippi. I love that I'm able to check and eat dinner at the restaurant, walk along the River Walk, then retreat to a spacious comfortable room, soak in Jacuzzi tub then look at this amazing view of the Mississippi River. After a good night's rest in a comfy bed, you think it can't get better then you get up the next morning and have a full Southern breakfast or healthy options. Waffles, bacon/sausage, gravy, biscuits, eggs, grits, pastries, boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, juices, milk, hot chocolate, hot tea, coffee, so many offerings and all very tasty. I recommend the shrimp poboy for dinner. There is also a spa right there too but I can't comment on it as I didn't visit it. You will have to go out for lunch but since we were exploring in Natchez anyway during the day that wasn't an issue. Look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnh624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Great Plains, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My room was more than adequate for my needs. It rained part of the time I was there, so I ended up spending more time in my room than I had planned. With the spacious and comfortable sitting area, this was not a problem. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, even for those folks who came 5 minutes before breakfast was supposed to be over. Every employee I encountered was courteous, professional and helpful. I thought the hotel was very easy to find, too. If you're coming from Natchez, you can see it from the bridge, and there are signs on the road regardless of which direction you're coming from. As others have said, the view is fabulous, and I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DrivingMissCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you want to be near the Mississippi and sit back and have a great breakfast while watching the barges slip up and down the Mississippi River, this hotel cannot be beat! You cannot get closer to the river, and along the river is a great promenade that goes all the way to the Mississippi Bridge and is excellent for taking that leisurely walk after breakfast. The views are excellent, with Natchez Under The Bridge and the new Casino just down the river and the excellent views of the Mississippi bridges, what can I say! The breakfast that comes with your stay each morning is also excellent, with scrambled eggs, cereal, juices, assorted danish, toast, coffee, potatoes, and can be enjoyed inside the spacious dining area or outside along the Mississippi! They also have an indoor pool for those who would like to take a swim. The beds are to die for and with flat screened TVs, you never want to leave your room.

We have stayed twice in 2 years, and this year we stayed during the Great Balloon Races (October 2013), that launched from Natchez, across the river. The rooms were quite costly during this event, but the manager helped us obtain a waterfront room as requested in our year advance reservations! The balloons did not cooperate, with light rain and winds canceling several launchings, but other than that, the stay was delightful!

The staff is great and does all that they can to accommodate each and every customer request! They even serve cookies in the lobby and we found this to be an added treat!

So, if you are looking for piece and quiet in the best situated hotel in Vidalia, there is no other choice available! We highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Try to get a riverside room if possible, as there is nothing better than watching the world go by wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjaseals711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've seen the hotel from a distance when crossing the Mississippi River bridge. This was my first opportunity to stay there. The hotel is actually on the bank of the great river, between the water and the levee. The lobby and breakfast area are beautiful with a amazing view of the river with it's barge traffic and Natchez "under the hill". The rooms are large, clean, and nicely decorated. The bedding was comfortable with only the short, fat pillows not to my liking. We had a third floor river side room with an even greater view of the river and Natchez.

The breakfast consisted of biscuits, sausage patties, scrambled eggs, waffles, assorted pastries and the best coffee that I've had in a hotel. Unfortunately the eggs were cool.

We had a minor issue at check-in but Page, the desk clerk, was very helpful and efficiently fixed the matter. I definitely would stay there again, especially in warm weather, so I could relax on the terrace, sip the great coffee, and watch the river boats go by.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra fee for the river view side and ask for a third floor room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne6396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vidalia
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.9 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
0.8 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Natchez
Super 8 Natchez
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 100 Front St, Vidalia, LA 71373-2830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Vidalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vidalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Vidalia
Comfort Suites Vidalia
Vidalia Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing