We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour just went a bit too long”

Laura: A Creole Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Laura Plantation Tour
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Laura Plantation Tour With Private Transportation
More Info
$109.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Vacherie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go beyond the myths of the Old South and walk in the footsteps of 4 generations of one Creole family, both free and enslaved, who lived together in complicated, intimate family relationships on this sugar plantation that remained a world apart from the United States through the first decades of the 20th century. Laura is open daily from 9:30AM - 5PM except for major holidays. The first tour of the day begins at 10AM with tours beginning approximately every 40 minutes thereafter until the last tour of the day at 4PM. Before or after your Laura tour, enjoy authentic, homestyle Cajun food at B&C Seafood Market and Cajun Restaurant right next door.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tour just went a bit too long”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

While we thoroughly enjoyed the tour and the history it just seemed to go on for too long plus there where no seats to sit down during the tour. Otherwise we enjoyed it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,333
    401
    82
    23
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AUBERRY
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A must see when visiting the plantations”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This plantation is Creole and so much different then the big houses and so colorful. Our guide was great and a wealth of information. Such insight to Laura, who once lived at the site. The tour is not long so it is easy to see everything.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BLPPEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip from NOLA”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have visited southern plantations and this one was different; it's not all about southern belles and the war. It's a Creole plantation and the tour guide was great! The tour was less than 2 hours and I didn't get bored with the stories of the Creole people and what it was like to run a sugar plantation in the 1800s. I appreciated the extra time to wander the grounds after the tour. I'm glad I made this day trip from NOLA.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our tour!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband, teenage daughter and I enjoyed our tour of Laura Plantation. Our tour guide, Ethan, told us lots of interesting information and spoke clearly so everyone could hear. This is a Creole plantation and the layout of the house is very unusual. There were some very strong women that ran this plantation and you should visit to hear about some of the things they did. Laura Plantation offers a AAA discount.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were originally scheduled to go to the Evergreen Plantation, but the rest of the group was going to Laura, so we joined them. We loved it! The tour is not about the architecture, or furnishings, as one would expect. Rose was our guide who relayed the story of the 4th generation plantation owner who was born before the Civil War and died in 1963. Rose's narration about the family's story, struggles, characters, and also the story about the slaves at the plantation was outstanding! We were very touched by her sincerity and empathy as she spoke about the real slave life at Laura Plantation. This was a very enjoyable visit, except we wished we could have rented a car and toured more than 2 plantations that day, at our own pace.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank leralera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura: A Creole Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Laura: A Creole Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing