We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved This Plantation Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laura: A Creole Plantation

Laura: A Creole Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Laura Plantation Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Vacherie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go beyond the myths of the Old South and walk in the footsteps of 4 generations of one Creole family, both free and enslaved, who lived together in complicated, intimate family relationships on this sugar plantation that remained a world apart from the United States through the first decades of the 20th century. Laura is open daily from 9:30AM - 5PM except for major holidays. The first tour of the day begins at 10AM with tours beginning approximately every 40 minutes thereafter until the last tour of the day at 4PM. Before or after your Laura tour, enjoy authentic, homestyle Cajun food at B&C Seafood Market and Cajun Restaurant right next door.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved This Plantation Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

As our excellent guide, Rose told us, "It's not about the furnishings and antiques, it's about the people of the plantation and their history". Laura's diary provides much insight to the lives of the four generation of women who ran this planation and the slaves they owned. Rose really brings Laura's story alive and without giving anything away, what happened to her once she left the plantation. This is a unique planation tour. Don't miss it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Myriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,259
    379
    75
    22
    29
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
630 reviews
271 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
“Authentic and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Laura Plantation offers an interesting look at Plantation life through the eyes of one family, and in particular one person Laura. This I found very interesting as it gave good context to what we could see in front of us. Our tour guide was interesting and engaging, I thought it was well worth the $36 we paid for it. There isn't much to see outside of the store if you don't take the tour but the buildings and grounds you see on the tour is fascinating.

I thought that this plantation seemed more realistic then the ones nearby that were completely reconstructed. The slave buildings were authentic as the rest of the grounds.

I think younger children might not find it all really interesting.

It's only an easy 45 drive from New Orleans and worth the effort.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not your average plantation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a Creole plantation that sets it apart from the normal 2 story columned white southern plantations. Also, this plantation was ran mainly by women. Several out buildings still standing. Tour guides are very knowledgeable. This trip was my 5th so I guess you could say that I like this plantation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaSPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice, love the grounds and real slave quarters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been to this plantation several times. Each time there is much improvement.

A lot of personal history goes with this plantation tour. Ground are nice and the real slave quarters are nice to walk through.

Overall one of my favorites

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Best Plantation Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. The Plantation was Amazing. Bryan was great. Only complaint would be the other tour group was so loud and noisy we couldnt pay attention to anything. If the tour was just 5 minutes later it wouldve been a 5 Star Tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nesli00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura: A Creole Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Laura: A Creole Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing