We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complex story -- told relatively well, but a bit rushed”

Laura: A Creole Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Laura Plantation Tour
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Laura Plantation Tour With Private Transportation
More Info
$109.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Oak Alley and Laura Plantation from New Orleans
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Vacherie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go beyond the myths of the Old South and walk in the footsteps of 4 generations of one Creole family, both free and enslaved, who lived together in complicated, intimate family relationships on this sugar plantation that remained a world apart from the United States through the first decades of the 20th century. Laura is open daily from 9:30AM - 5PM except for major holidays. The first tour of the day begins at 10AM with tours beginning approximately every 40 minutes thereafter until the last tour of the day at 4PM. Before or after your Laura tour, enjoy authentic, homestyle Cajun food at B&C Seafood Market and Cajun Restaurant right next door.
Sharon MA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“complex story -- told relatively well, but a bit rushed”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

There is a lot to tell here:
* about the location
* about the house
* about the family
* about the slaves
* timeline of events for the last 200 years

The guide (dressed in modern clothes) had clearly memorized a script. At each stop there were certain stories/facts to relay in a fixed amount of time, then move on to the next stop. There wasn't time to squeeze in any questions. When I did finally ask "how long did it take to get to New Orleans?" she did not know and suggested I ask the staff in the gift shop. I did this later on and found that none of them knew either (the answer was supplied at Oak Alley down the road).

The civil war and Reconstruction are glossed over completely. I found this confusing especially since Laura was only born in 1861 -- her entire life experience was during Reconstruction and beyond. We tried asking the guide how life changed at the plantation after the Civil War, but she was only able to say "it did not change very much". I would recommend that they add another 15-20 minutes to the tour to flesh out a bit more about this period. The place and the story are fascinating and we would have appreciated hearing more of the story.

One surprise benfit of visiting in January -- the grapefruit tree had just been picked. There was a huge bin of fresh grapefruit sitting on the porch. One of the staff said "take as many as you want". We ate one on the spot and took a few more back to the city with us. They were great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shakespeare_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,330
    401
    82
    23
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Terrific view into local history”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our guide was a lovely lady who had a great deal of knowledge and a delightful personality.
The house is not Hollywoodized for tourism purposes, as some plantation attractions can sometmes be. It is a realistic planter's house, as it would have been in the 1800's. We found it to be very interesting, and the people there were very hospitable. The gift shop has a great selection of books and souvenirs, also.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeStembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“enjoyable but looking for more details”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am a huge fan of Laura Ingalls Wilder and was looking forward to learning about another Laura (Laura Lacoul Gore) who lived a very different life during roughly the same time period and also wrote her memoirs as an older woman. I was particularly excited to learn about this plantation run by women since this was so unusual in this time period for women to be the "president" of a plantation. That being said, I am still not sure what it was but something was just...missing. I didn't leave with a sense that I knew this Laura or where she came from. I wanted to know all the details of a woman running a plantation, inside and out. Perhaps it was because not many of the artifacts were from Laura's family, or perhaps the tour leaves out so many details (many of which I am sure are unpleasant). I think the inside of the plantation house could have used a lot more desciptors of Laura, her family, and the items within (notes and placards, timelines, family trees, that sort of thing) although in the defense of those running the tour the plantation house was half destroyed by fire about 7 years ago so i am sure they are doing all they can. The guide did a nice job but i didn't have a sense that he felt a strong link with his surroundings (that and his voice was very Community Theater. It didn't really work with the tour) I also felt a bit rushed on parts of the tour, there were two rooms off each bedroom that I barely got to peek in. In the giftshop you can purchase Laura's memoirs where many of the stories from the tour are recounted. The memoirs are enjoyable but greatly in need of annotation. Hopefully this will be done for future editions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galliano, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time there, it was pretty much gutted, cleaned after a fire. Still one of the most informative and interesting southern plantations I have ever toured. Second time, the place was totally renovated, and I was even more amazed. I think everyone that is of Acadian/Cajun French heritage should go there and especially bring young adults. So informative!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank nette49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun to visit”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very different but interesting from some of the other large & formal plantations. A different perspective on the Creole life & plantations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam91710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura: A Creole Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Laura: A Creole Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing