We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to travel back in time”

Oak Alley Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Tour of Oak Alley Plantation
More Info
$112.00*
and up
Combo: Oak Alley Plantation and Swamp Boat Tour
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Combo Tour: Oak Alley Plantation and Airboat Swamp Tour from New Orleans
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Vacherie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A powerful testimony to the rich history of the antebellum south, Oak Alley invites visitors to explore all facets of her plantation past. The Slavery at Oak Alley exhibit, Civil War exhibit, Sugarcane Theater and Big House offer an experience as compelling as the plantation’s 25 historic acres and 300 year old allee of oaks.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great way to travel back in time”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our tour guide did a fantastic job narrating details of how life was at the plantation during slavery. This was a very enjoyable visit, except if you come with a tour bus, you don't really have time to see the slave cabins or walk around the premises. A suggestion: once the tour bus drops you off, don't spend time in the gift shop (leave it for after the tour), and look around in the slave cabins instead.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank leralera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,380
    722
    207
    64
    22
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Oak Alley is just for pictures under the trees. My family went, excited to experience the plantation life, only to find it was just an operating business that did not have the "southern hospitality" that I experienced else where. The staff was more on a schedule than anything and were not that friendly. The house was nothing too special, no fancy crown molding or extravagant rooms. I did enjoy the tour guides outfits and knowledge on the home. Though, even people coming out were saying don't spend your money, that it was over priced and a waste of time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Good History Lesson about the Civil War, its Culture and Slavery in the Deep South”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Besides the stunning beauty of the original plantation and the 300-year old Live Oaks lining the road from the mansion to the Mississipi River, the visitor has the opportunity to learn about the daily life of the white owners (opulent), the business they were conducting (sugar) and became so rich literally on the backs of the slaves they owned. To the credit of the present owner, a section of the quarters where slaves used to live (a stone-throw from the mansion) was rebuilt for the visitor to feel the emotion, the senseless behaviour of people towards their fellow human beings. It was quite depressing!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ntee6603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Customer friendly staff in snack bar? No way”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

topped at Oak alley Plantation for Lunch after visiting Laura Plantation. I decided to eat in the snack bar because the restaurant was full and crowded and the menu overpriced. There were no sandwiches in the case so I asked the customer friendly staff for a roast beef sandwich. The girl behind the counter told me in no uncertain words. I am making chicken ceasar salad wraps and when I finish, I will decide what I will make next. The sandwiches I am making will be ready in 15 mins If you want a roast beef sandwich I might be able to make one in an hour if I have nay Roast beef. With this attitude why would anyone stop other then there are no other nearby restaurants. Not only did I leave but will suggest to others buy food for a picnic and let these rude people find out what it is like with no job.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Skytamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I toured Oak Alley on our 5th wedding anniversary. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the home. The stories were very interesting and kept us intrigued! The grounds were just beautiful and photo ops are just endless! Cannot wait to go back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cajunmomma68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Alley Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Oak Alley Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing