We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Stay at a Historic Site with Family Atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thibodaux
Certificate of Excellence
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class Stay at a Historic Site with Family Atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Absolutely adore the Carmel Inn in Thibodaux, LA! Great place with a perfect location! 0.1 mile from Nicholls State University and even closer than that to downtown Thibodaux! Every employee is super nice and goes out of their way to make you feel like family! They serve a great FREE dinner on week days that is delicious with numerous options! Most nights the owners themselves are on site to greet you and chat about your day! I typically am a Marriott guy who loves to get his points but whenever I am in this part of the state, the Carmel Inn is a must stay for me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODSR, Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and staff. It means the world to us that you enjoyed your stay. It brings us great pleasure to know that our guests feel taken care of and comfortable. Thank you for your kind remarks about our dinners. It was a privilege serving you! We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and we wish you the very best in your travels!

Danny Donham,
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    63
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
99
66
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saraland, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

From the moment I called to check on rooms and rates for our motorcycle group the staff was helpful and professional. The staff even called a couple of days before we were to arrive to
see if we had any special needs. The day of the arrival they had our groups name on the electronic billboard out front. The rooms were great and the owner and his staff was great and helpful in locating local places to visit on our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loyd Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and staff. It brings us great pleasure to know that our guests feel taken care of and comfortable. It was a privilege serving you! We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and we wish you the very best in your travels!

Danny Donham,
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Minette, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Checking in was a very pleasant experience. We were given some cookies and cold orange aid, which were very refreshing. The employees were very kind and patient and that was nice because there were 25 of our group checking in. We found the room to be very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. The breakfast was enjoyable and all food was hot and not served cold. The checking out experience was also pleasant and we were again given some great tasting cookies. We would definitely recommend to others to stay at the Carmel Inn & Suites. Our whole group enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the pool unless the manager closes the pool no later than 10:00 pm, which ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal-Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind review of our staff and hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay from check-in to check-out. Your experience is what we strive for with each and every guest, so thank you for your encouraging feedback. Thank you as well for the privilege of serving your group. We wish you the very best in your future travels!

Danny Donham,
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

It's an old hotel but there's nothing to complain about, everything is in good shape, pool looks nice, rooms are clean and it is in close proximity to all major things in Thibodaux. Especially good if you're family visiting your kid at Nicholls, as it is super close to campus and hosts some events for the college. If you're from out of state, you'll experience southern hospitality first hand.
The breakfast is very great with fresh community coffee and friendly service if they run our of anything. You can sit outside and have breakfast by the pool, super nice!
I'd recommend this hotel first if anyone wanted to stay in Thibodaux.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel! It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and think so highly of staff and property. We are delighted to know that our guests are having the excellent experiences at our property. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, and we wish you the best in your travels until then!

Danny Donham,
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Though obviously an older building it has been well maintained. Staff exceptionally helpful. Wonderfully clean! Breakfast included hot grits! I would definitely return and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind remarks concerning our staff and hotel! We really appreciate your encouragement and taking the time to write a review. It is a pleasure to know that you had a fulfilling stay here in Thibodaux. We wish you all the best in your future travels!

Danny Donham,
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Really pleased with our stay. It's apparent that the on-site management really cares! The rooms were super clean. Crisp sheets.
Anything you need just call the front desk.
And they give a free Hot breakfast! Eggs sausage grits waffles.
Safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screenname501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our staff and hotel! Your words are a great encouragement to us and very helpful for our future guests. We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We wish you all the best in your future travels, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Danny Donham,
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockmart, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were in Thibodaux for 5 days doing an antique show Sept 4th-9th and stayed at the Carmel Inn. We were greeted by Greg (the owner) and he gave us a history of the area and we have never stayed at a friendlier place. They also have a hot breakfast every morning and 2 of the nights they had a welcome get together with all kind of food, some Creole, salads, etc They also have a nice pool area..
I would definitely recommend staying there. Will stay there again when back in Thibodaux.
Ruth S

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our staff and hotel. It is such a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful experience here at our property. Your level of satisfaction is what we strive for with each and every guest, so it is very rewarding to hear your feedback concerning your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Until then, we wish you the very best in your travels!

Danny Donham,
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thibodaux
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thibodaux
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Thibodaux
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Thibodaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#4 of 5 in Thibodaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
12.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Houma Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn and Suites

Property: Carmel Inn and Suites
Address: 400 E 1st St, LA Highway 1, Thibodaux, LA 70301-3328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Thibodaux
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thibodaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-owned Carmel Inn and Suites has been making guests feel at home for over 40 years with wonderful hospitality and comfortable accommodations! Surrounded by large oak trees and southern mansions along Bayou Lafourche, the Carmel Inn is built at the historic landmark site that was once a Mount Carmel convent and school, dating back to before the Civil War. Elements of the original building were preserved and restored, and incorporated into the present structure of this unique hotel. We boast almost 100 spacious rooms, a pool, fitness center, and computer room. Enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast before you explore nearby historical sites, Cajun country, and more! Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, a family reunion, or a fabulous wedding, Carmel Inn and Suites looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Thibodaux
Ramada Thibodaux
Thibodaux Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing