We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carmel Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thibodaux
Certificate of Excellence
Cameron, Texas
1 review
“Great Historic Hotel”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is an older hotel but kept in great shape and very clean. The pool area is very nice and relaxing. The owner and staff are extremely nice and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. I would definately recommend this hotel when staying in Thibodeaux.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, General Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! It is such a reward for us to know that our guests enjoy themselves and think highly of the staff and property. We strive everyday to provide 5-star experiences for our guests, so your review means a great deal to us. We wish you the very best in your future travels and look forward to seeing you again!

Danny Donham, CHA
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    66
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
106
73
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really nice comfy beds and the rooms were clean. Breakfast was better than the average, with eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy - much better than a "continental" breakfast! The staff showed great attention to pleasing the customer. Would return the next time I'm in town..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drumnjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, General Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us here in Thibodaux! It is such a privilege to serve guests like yourself and to be a part of making their stay in a Thibodaux a pleasant memory. I'm so thankful that the care of our staff directly impacted the quality of your stay here. That is what we strive for with every guest, so thank you for your positive feedback. It is very encouraging to us!
We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing again soon!

Danny Donham,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the best place to stay in Thibodaux !! One of Thibodaux's finest hotels !! Great service , friendly staff !! The rooms are so clean , an a+ to the housekeeping team !! The beds were so comfortable . This was our second stay for the summer. Would defiantly recommend anyone to stay at the Carmel inn , when visiting the Thibodaux area !! Love the updated rooms !! Special thanks to Mr. Gaubert for the hospitality and making our stay a good experience !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolThomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, General Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow, what a privilege to serve you twice in one summer and to earn such a glowing review! Thank you so much for your kind words regards our staff and hotel. We are delighted to know that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. Your type of experience is the one we strive for with all our guests, so it is rewarding to read your gracious feedback. We wish you all the best in your future travels!

Danny Donham,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Staff, service, accommodations, and hospitality are A1! Five stars across the board. The dinner functions are an added bonus and the breakfasts are the best. Close to plantations and local restaurants. Pet friendly, which is a must for us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DustyWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, General Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel and staff! It is such a privilege to serve guests here in Thibodaux, and knowing that you felt well-served while here is a great reward for us. We wish you all the best in your future travels, and we look forward to the honor of serving you again in the future!

Danny Donham,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great service, great location, great breakfast. Seems as if breakfast hostess gets a bit busy for one person on weekends. But, that is testimony to how busy your hotel is, I suppose. Want to do that Cafe service from John Folse one day. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeafRiver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, General Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and staff! It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed yourself here and were impressed by your experience with us. We wish you the very best as you continue your travels, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Danny Donham,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

stopped here for a night on a recent trip and cannot tell you how amazing I was treated. The boss himself came up and spent time talking and even invited me to a dinner function at the nearby University if I was in town. Talk about amazing southern hospitality.

When I think of the south, this hotel is a perfect representation to me of what I think of. Although a slightly older hotel, I feel that adds to its charm. The room was simply amazing and have pictures for you to look at.

The staff goes above and beyond. Suggesting restaurants, activities and giving some information about the area.

Rooms - mine was huge with a whirpool. Upgraded, but it felt nice to sit in it. Bed was pillow top and slept like a log.
Breakfast - typical fare of sausage and eggs, but grits was cool to try.
Workout - not sure as I did not try on this trip
Wifi - strong signal and fast
Location - nice and close to Nicholls State, very close to shopping and restaurants

This is absolutely my go to hotel for Thibodaux. Great job you guys and look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, General Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you so much for your gracious and thorough review! We are so delighted to have made such a great impression on you. We earnestly desire for our guests to not only feel accommodated, but also warmly welcomed. Thank you for your feedback sir, and we hope to see you again soon! Until then, we wish you the very best!

General Manager,
Danny Donham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

When visiting some of the nearby plantations I was looking for a low cost but clean option to stay nearby. Having seen this locally owned hotel nearby with such great reviews I decided to give it a try. I would say that overall it was a good experience. We used the pool late at night and had a good sleep in the clean rooms. Overall it was a great find, and I would recommend it as a no-frills but clean stay when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stancv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDonham, General Manager at Carmel Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you had a great stay at our establishment. It is important for us to know that our guests feel that we are providing great value at our older property here. We thank you for trusting us to accommodate you, and we sincerely hope that your next stay with us is an even better experience!

Danny Donham,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thibodaux
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thibodaux
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Thibodaux
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Thibodaux
Motel 6 Thibodaux
#5 of 5 in Thibodaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houma
1.3 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#4 of 5 in Thibodaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
12.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Inn and Suites

Property: Carmel Inn and Suites
Address: 400 E 1st St, LA Highway 1, Thibodaux, LA 70301-3328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Thibodaux
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thibodaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-owned Carmel Inn and Suites has been making guests feel at home for over 40 years with wonderful hospitality and comfortable accommodations! Surrounded by large oak trees and southern mansions along Bayou Lafourche, the Carmel Inn is built at the historic landmark site that was once a Mount Carmel convent and school, dating back to before the Civil War. Elements of the original building were preserved and restored, and incorporated into the present structure of this unique hotel. We boast almost 100 spacious rooms, a pool, fitness center, and computer room. Enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast before you explore nearby historical sites, Cajun country, and more! Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, a family reunion, or a fabulous wedding, Carmel Inn and Suites looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Thibodaux
Ramada Thibodaux
Thibodaux Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing