We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dansereau House
Ranked #1 of 2 Thibodaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Made a two-day stopover in Thibodaux as base for a swamp tour and some local sightseeing. Staying at this beautiful mansion ended up being the real highlight of this part of our trip. Excellent personal service, lovely room and delightful breakfast. Can warmly recommend this B&B. We shall certainly come back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thsbulow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 160 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

I thought hard about this review as I really wanted to love the Dansereau House but left feeling disappointed. Let me start with the positive, our room was beautiful and very clean as we're the communal rooms downstairs, if a little soulless. However, we were very unhappy to find the outdoor seating on the porches to be a mixture of shabby and sometimes rusty furniture left scattered untidily around. It was also unpleasant to find a dirty ashtray and empty cigarette packet on the outdoor table when we took our drinks out.
We did not enjoy breakfast, finding it excessively sweet and greasy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It's funny how people can share the same experience yet have such different perspectives. My husband and I spent one night at the Dansereau House at the same time the previous reviewer did. We loved every minute of our stay and have no complaints!!
Alan was there to warmly greet us when we arrived. He was friendly and gracious and gave us an extensive tour of this beautiful mansion. We learned about the history of the house and because no one else had checked in yet, we were able to view all of the rooms including the opulent, luxurious upstairs suites. All of the rooms looked bright and spacious. We stayed in the Dansereau room and were delighted with the gorgeous bed, furnishings, window treatments and chandelier.
Alan provided us with restaurant recommendations and we chose to go to Fremins for a delicious dinner.
We spent the rest of the evening on the porch, looking at the beautifully well kept grounds and listening to all the songbirds.
We came back in to find our bed turned down and all the decorative pillows placed in the closet while the regular pillows (which were hung on hangers in the closet, how fancy is that??) were now placed on our bed.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious and served in the lovely dining room. Yes, there was a problem with their regular coffee pot that morning and there was a bit of a delay using the single serve coffee machine but we didn't find that to be a big problem.
The previous review stated that the other guests looked deflated. She certainly couldn't have been looking at us because we were thrilled with the three course breakfast that included a lovely baked good, delicious parfait with yogurt, whipped cream and blackberries, and then amazing Eggs Benedict.
If the staff seemed a bit busy, it was because they were preparing for a Mother's Day Brunch open to the public that was due to start in just a couple of hours.
We also thought the town of Thibodaux was cute, well-kept and very friendly.
Would love to have the opportunity to stay in this gracious home again and hope Alan and Susan are still managing it when we return because they certainly do their job exceptionally well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I wasn't going to leave a review as the new owners have only just taken this place over but too many little thing were "off" and I was going to just have a quiet chat to them but when I got to them they walked into the kitchen and closed the door saying staff only. There was no social interaction at all...just cursory show around.. So sadly I leave a rather disappointed review. which I would rather not as they do need tim to learn the ropes ofthe hospitaility business.

We had the smallest room..dark too if you don't open balcony door..our friends, for same price, had lovely big room with king bed, bedside lights and robes. We had one robe and one light between two and light so dimyou couldn't read. We had to search for pilows as bed nor properly made up. Found them in cupboard Mirror so high up on wall you can't see face or hair. ...a hotel reviewer I know says owners should spend a night in each room to see the snags..I suggest this here. Also charge what room is worth....ours sadly already overpriced after the other places we have stayed around. No coffee or tea, ironing boards etc.

Breakfast was large and. Problem was we all turned up on time and had to queue to use one do it yourself coffee machine to which you add water took half an hour for eight coffee hungry people...how about a jug like everywhere else? Easy and can refil. Another pet hate are plastic cups of milk.....at this price $200 I would expect a jug.....

I do hope Alan and Susan settle in and pull it together.... There was a distinctly deflated air in th dining room this morning amongst other guests. Good luck to them

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This Second Empire home with a wraparound balcony is in the middle of a plain downtown but once you step inside you are in another world. Beautiful period furnishings and chandaliers, big ornate beds, modern bathrooms. Very quiet. Awoke to chirping birds.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middleagedtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After flying into New Orleans that morning and going on a swamp (bayou) tour, we were fortunate to have booked ahead as we were late in arriving. The Dansereau House Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful restored old house. It is located in an area in Thibodaux that seems to be going through restoration but it was fine. We got a restaurant recommendation from Paul and Lori and were able to walk there. Paul and Lori were great hosts and we had a wonderful breakfast the next morning. As a note, however, we understand that Paul and Lori have moved on and I don’t know who the new hosts are. In any case the house is beautifully restored and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to take a few days in the middle of the week to stay. We haven't stayed in many bed and breakfasts in the past, but the house was beautiful. While Thibodaux is not a typical destination town, it was the perfect location for what we were after. There were several restaurants and watering holes in walking distance and my wife found some neat stores and did some shopping. Paul and Lori absolutely made the stay what it was. Their hospitality and knowledge of the home made us feel immediately welcomed and comfortable. And as hospitable as Paul and Lori were, that breakfast put everything over the top. The breakfast was simply amazing!!! We hope to run into Paul and Lori again and certainly will consider another stay at the Dansereau House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmendoza65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thibodaux
0.4 mi away
Carmel Inn and Suites
Carmel Inn and Suites
#1 of 5 in Thibodaux
353 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thibodaux
13.8 mi away
Madewood Plantation House
Madewood Plantation House
#1 of 1 in Napoleonville
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
The Inn at Houmas House
11.1 mi away
A Chateau on the Bayou Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Thibodaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dansereau House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dansereau House

Address: 506 Saint Philip St, Thibodaux, LA 70301-3234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Thibodaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thibodaux
Price Range: $163 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dansereau House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recapture the past in the historic Dansereau House, located in the lush beauty of Southern Louisiana. Built in 1847, the house retains its historic architectural majesty, while being lovingly restored and equipped with the amenities of today.Relax on the veranda or your balcony and enjoy the beauty of the gardens. Or, stay inside and curl up in one of our many quiet corners with refreshments and a good book. Located in downtown Thibodaux, unique shopping and fine dining are all within walking distance. Remember forever those special moments in your life held here in the Dansereau House. Whether in the sparkling beauty of the mansion, or in the lovely garden, your occasion will always be memorable. Weddings, receptions, parties, and meeting all become more festive in our beautiful house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Dansereau House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing