We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, atmosphere and service”

Fremin's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fremin's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Thibodaux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Green St
Staunton VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were able to snag a Friday night reservation even though there was a festival going on and the town was jammed. The atmosphere is very convivial, sort of busy French bistro-like, and the vibe is trendy and vivacious. They had live music, the place was boisterous and tons of fun. The menu is extensive and creative, and the seafood entrees were both excellent. The waiter was knowledgeable, attentive and earnest, and his service was excellent. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kassiekody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    48
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectation.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I won't bore you with embellished opinions based on sentiment or emotion. Pros and cons only.
Pros: Friendly, large portions, beautiful ambience, nicest place in town.
Cons: cuisine reminiscent of a good TGIF's, pastas drenched in sauce and overcooked, seafood was past it's self life, bread was doughy and stale, bartender couldn't make a simple cocktail, heavy glassware, super sweet desserts that all taste the same, staff was friendly and attentive but definitely not fine dining caliber.
I really wanted to like the place more. There are so few dining options in town that I'd give it another shot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank suegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited here for a meal on Friday evening. The place was packed with local people - a good sign! Excellent food and not too much of it which is a bonus. The staff were very efficient, helpful and friendly. Lovely atmosphere too - although the air-conditioning I found was a little on the 'cool' side for us English! Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Porkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Soft Shell Crab over pasta was awasome”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Every detail was great and what a terrific staff. Share a portion of my wife's Tortellini was fantastic and had enough to bring home for my picky son. He said it was "amazing!" My guest ask to join them to learn more about Thibodaux and Freemans is such a nice place with classy atmosphere.
They even had live music with local a flare. Will return real soon.
P.S. Our friend really liked the Baked Charred Oysters "Was like he was back at exclusive restaurant in New York."

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmelowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Passing through and saw this place on TA and it was not a disappointment. Amazing. Great wine selection, the Mac and cheese was breath taking. The steak was one of the better steaks I have had in years! Had a dessert special sorbet one was root beer and one was bacon and it was surprisingly delicious! I recommend this to anyone who passes near the area. Great! Great! Great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caseywest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fremin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing