We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of Sophie's New York Italian - CLOSED

Sophie's New York Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went for dinner tonight (Sunday) with husband and daughter. Sadly totally disappointed to say the least. Waitress was friendly enough but the food ugh! Have been going regularly to both Wolves and Blue Chicago and couldn't fault either...Sophies looks similar to both of these restaurants but that is where the similarity ends. Daughters chicken strips @ £12.95 inc curly fries were over cooked and dark brown . Onion rings were frozen (horrible).. Will not be returning!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aly212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Second visit to Sophie's NY Italian and will def be back. Tried the Brooklyn burger and was best burger ever. We also tried the Eggs Benedict, which was really tasty and perfect for Sunday brunch. Kids meals are good value and the chicken nuggets are real chicken strips. Lastly, you must try the Ferraro Rocher cheesecake as it was THE BEST!! Surroundings are cool, staff are cool and the food is amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sophie's New York Italian Choice”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

First time at Sophie's NY Italian and we will be back; Food excellent even for the fussy vegetarian! Excellent customer service from the welcome to leaving. Very efficient service, co-ordinated staff - they take trouble to make the experience special. Our food was excellent as was that if surrounding tables warm bread and oils perfect, rib eye steak cooked just right, spaghetti with a real NYC Italian sauce robust with just a hint if sweetness and the desserts Best banoffee ever and delicious brownie which oozes 70% cocoa even the coffee was really good.
Great experience, we will bring friends and business colleagues and they do breakfasts so watch this space for a brekkie report :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoozleTwitterBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Quick visit”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Took my son in for a quick bite. Waitress was friendly. Enjoyed my pasta dish. They might want to make kiddies burgers as opposed to buying them in frozen. Wouldnt stop me from coming back again to try out your buttermilk pancakes lol

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luxibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Unforgettable food, relaxed atmosphere and brilliant service. One of the best steaks I had at a reasonable price!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's New York Italian also viewed

Dundonald, County Down
Dundonald, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing