We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous Customer Service at Baja Beach Oasis”
Review of Baja Beach Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elias Calles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baja Beach Oasis
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrendous Customer Service at Baja Beach Oasis”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I purchased a Living Social voucher to travel to Baja Beach Oasis during Christmas of 2012. Two days before we were supposed to depart, an unfortunate personal incident occurred which sadly forced us to cancel our trip. We immediately emailed Bobbi (owner) to inform her of this. She informed us that she could have booked someone else in our room had we given her more notice (which would have been impossible given the circumstances), but kindly offered to allow us to use the voucher up until November 2013.

Fast forward to June 2013...my husband and I realize that we have no vacation time available before the voucher expiration date, so we offer to gift it to 2 of our very good friends. Sounds like the perfect way for to make use of the voucher even though we personally will not be able to use it, right? Wrong. Bobbi tells us that she won't allow us to gift the voucher to our friends. When I asked her via email to elaborate upon her reasoning for not allowing us to transfer the voucher, she refuses to reply.

I can't say what Baja Beach Oasis is actually like because I was penalized by Bobbi for having a personal matter happen in my life that was out of my control. I can only speak of my customer service experience, which was appalling at best. Thanks a lot, Bobbi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VaNessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M, Owner at Baja Beach Oasis, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are a small family-owned resort and it must be obvious by the other glowing reviews that we have awesome, very personalized service for our guests. Our high-end service is a source of great pride to us at Baja Beach Oasis.

This review and situation are unfortunate. We have tried hard to accommodate, already altering the rules of the voucher, offering a second chance though they cost us dearly by cancelling without sufficient notice at our busiest time of the year, and now they want more special privileges, in addition to the tremendous savings with the voucher.

The vibe of our Baja Beach Oasis is to keep things simple, offer great value, and extend our Baja hospitality to people who love this place as we do. Most people express gratitude and joy at having a home away from home in the Baja. It would be great if every single person felt this way, but then if the world were perfect, you wouldn't need to take a vacation to absorb the simple tranquility and great hospitality of Baja Beach Oasis.

Peace, Bobbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great week at the Baja Beach Oasis. Thank you to all the other reviewers who have so highly recommended this place, because you all helped us score a great new find. This will be our home away from home in the Baja. Here´s what we especially loved, in no particular order -- really comfortable bed, great to go to sleep with the sounds of the waves,
easy access to beach and to everywhere else in the southern Baja, but out away from the crowds in a quiet neighborhood,
good service and great foods made by the owner,
plenty of privacy as each room is a separate little bungalow,
small place with only 3 rooms,
you can order what you want and not need to go out,
the stars are incredible as there is no city light...this place is off the grid and fabulous in that respect. You will need to rent a car, most likely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just back from a second trip to the Baja Beach Oasis...this place is awesome. The peace and quiet and wonderful amazing service....couldn't be better. Ask Bobbi to make her signature margaritas for you....lots of fresh juice with just the right amount of other goodies. This is the place to go if you want an adventure and if you can enjoy the serenity of a beautiful seemingly-private beach alongside an oasis, at the mountains. A great way to experience Baja.

Room Tip: Three different rooms, all charming in their own way...all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Overall I don't think you can go wrong. Just read the other reviews. I enjoyed my stay but I don't quite think it was a five star experience. The owners could have put a little more effort into making the experience amazing for the guests- Or- they should at least disclose that this is a completely no service, no frills sort of accommodation. Don't expect any house keeping. We had to change our own towels, dump our own garbage, sweep our own floors and the pathway, and we had the same set of sheets for a week. There were tiny spider looking bugs that made home of our kitchen counter. A little caulk in the beams would've kept them out. Also the light in the bathroom was out so we were given a lamp to set on the floor. As a result It was too dark in the bathroom to use the mirror. The pool looked like it was cleaned once a week and the outdoor shower was a mess. My husband ended up cleaning it. Bobbi wasn't there so her son was managing things. Maybe it's different when she's there? If you don't go expecting a hotel experience you'll enjoy your time. You are basicly renting a bungelow and you do your own thing. Its a more authentic experience. It's uncrowded, peaceful, and off the beaten path. The beach offers amazing sunsets but isn't safe for swimming. The outdoor shower was amazing and it was nice to disconnect from a tv. Book the horse back ride. You won't be disappointed! Sleep with the windows open and enjoy the crashing waves.

Room Tip: The eastern most bungalow offers the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraveltoseetheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my second trip to the Baja Beach Oasis in the past year and it just keeps getting better. This is definitely the way to travel...great intimate place, incredible people...I didn't want to leave ! If you want to feel like you're at home at a deserted beach, go to the Baja Beach Oasis...just do it. You will thank me.

Room Tip: Each casita is different, you cannot go wrong. This time I stayed in the middle one...lovely....fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Baja Beach Oasis was the highlight of our vacation on the Baja Peninsula!!! We stayed a few nights in town (Cabo) before heading up the coastline to this beautiful setting. The bungalows were cozy, the setting intimate, the facilities eco-friendly, and the staff was amazing! Everyday we walked to the beach, where we had miles of open coastline to ourselves (unlike the crowded beaches in Cabo)! Some nights we cooked in our rooms, and other nights we shared meals with the other guests in a large community kitchen. We showered in the most amazing outdoor shower and soaked in the sunshine every day! I hope to return to the Baja Beach Oasis in the future, and I would recommend this incredible location in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: Just call or email...the owners are incredibly helpful and accommodating to your desires
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is perfect for travelers who like to experience something out of the ordinary. We were pretty much on our own the whole week as Bobbi was in the states and Sam was gone on an expedition for the first two days that we were there. Sam did arrange an incredible horse back riding experience for us with a neighbor who let us enjoy the beach and the horses and acted as our personal photographer. The stars are incredible out away from everything and the copper tub was a great way to relax and enjoy them. We could see and hear the pounding surf. We enjoyed local restaurants and cooked in our own bungalow a couple of times. The off-the-grid, sustainable location also had a few bugs which I thought were to be expected. It would have been nice to have had a more personable host experience, but one also can't complain about the peace and quiet, solitude that Baja Beach Oasis afforded. I wouldn't disagree with any of the spectacular reviews on this site. I just would have liked to have had a little more direction about where and how to change towels, access some of the other resources in the area.

Room Tip: There are only three bungalows. I think the first one on the left is the most private of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PromoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elias Calles
16.0 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
16.5 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
9.8 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cerritos Beach Inn
Cerritos Beach Inn
#1 of 8 in El Pescadero
88 reviews
15.9 mi away
Los Colibris Casitas
Los Colibris Casitas
#1 of 13 in Todos Santos
182 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cerritos Beach Hotel Desert Moon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baja Beach Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baja Beach Oasis

Property: Baja Beach Oasis
Address: KM 79, Highway 19, Elias Calles 23390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Elias Calles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Elias Calles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miles of nearly-deserted beaches, celebrating the arts and traditions of Mexico, privacy and tranquility galore. Comfortable bungalows where guests report their best sleep in years, lulled to sleep by the waves. This is a sustainable resort for adventurers. Rate: $139/night plus tax, 7th night free Come enjoy the peace and tranquility of this Mexican beach oasis in Baja California Sur. Conveniently located on the Pacific side, half way between the busy Cabo San Lucas corridor and the low key "Pueblo Magico" & artist colony of Todos Santos, you'll find 7 miles of unspoiled beaches. Adventure, relaxation, romance, or a bit of everything, awaits you...Services and Activities available on site and within the area: Massage and Spa Treatments, Yoga, Dharma Talks, Health and Well-Being, Cooking Classes, Spanish Classes, Cultural Tours, Whale Watching & Turtle Excursions, Surfing & Surf Lessons, Tennis & Tennis Lessons, Horseback Riding, Hiking & Biking, Diving, Snorkeling, Kayaking (and virtually every water sport imaginable) ATV's and Off-Road Racing Vehicles, Jeep Excursions, Private Beach Picnics, and, a great deal more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing