We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
116
109
30
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
109
30
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgordon damdam walldining room and loungea lake view roomstunning scenerywinter dealwell stocked baropen fireheated poolespresso machineremote areaself containedboard gamesbasic accommodationspent two nightsseparate bedroomcontinental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 276 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Rode over on bikes from Victoria. The road to Strathgordon is something every bikie dreams off. No wonder its one of the top rides in Oz. The chalet exceeded our expectations. we stayed in a lake view room. It's worth the couple of extra dollars. Clean with great beds and views over Lake Pedder. Continental breakfast was included which was a bonus. Lounge great area to relax and do nothing. We were really surprised with the meals. They were excellent. We pay double in Melbourne's trendy cafes.
Getting petrol was a bit of a hassle but we ended up being able to fill our tanks.
We were amazed that the chalet was closed by the government owners a few years ago.Thank you to Neville Susan and Santoush who have got it up and running.
Highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Try the lake view rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

After two weeks of bushwalking, my wife and I were ready for a little comfort for our last two nights in Tassie. We could not have picked a better spot. We stayed in early January 2014, the weather was wet, cold and miserable, which was fantastic when sitting around the log fire sipping red wine and port and looking out the window at the lake. I did the abseil down the Strathgordon dam wall and outside of that, we just relaxed, enjoyed some great meals and the hospitality of Neville and his dedicated staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Peddder wing which had wonderful lake views and was close to the lounge and bar. However, as we spent most of our time in the lounge and bar anyway, it was no real advantage.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent 2 lovely evenings at Lake Pedder! Our room had water views.. stunning. Very comfortable room - excellent bed and pillows. Heater was very effective !
Meals were first class - thank you Santosh! Loved the lounge area in front of the fire. Enjoyed learning about weather readings with Neville - thanks Neville! Initially thought we would 'die' without our mobile phone and internet access.... how silly - it added to the peaceful existence! Loved it! Pleased we visited this very beautiful part of Tasmania - and if you get to catch some of the stunning reflections on the lake - even better !

Room Tip: Worth spending a little more for the water view rooms!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent a lovely night in a water view room, which was very comfortable, with fridge and tea making facilities. Our meal that evening was 1st class. A large dinning room, bar and lounge area were kept warm with two open fires. Remember this was the mess, dinning and accommodation for the workers building the dam. Although the weather was bad (windy and wet) we did not let that dampen our spirits. We were amased at the size of the Gordon Dam and lake. The drive from Hobart was very pleasant and the vegetation very diverse. If out there also have a look at the Huon Pine log which is 2,200 years old.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

touring around Tassie on a motorbike, we spent a night at this "Chalet".
Now when i conjour up images of a chalet....this place is not what i imagined.
having said that the night was reasonably good.
A bit of confusion when we booked in, because the "chalet" has multiple wings with different names, and poor old Neville sent us to the right room number, but the wrong wing.
Quiet a relief when we found our room, because the other one had bare beds and a terrible damp musty smell.
No t.v or drink making faciities in the rooms, you had to go to the dinning room for a hot drink.

Dinner that night was very well done. there were 10 of us in a group, riding motorbikes around the state, and we were made to feel very welcome, we all got exactly what we ordered, from a very good choice of food.
A big log fire in the lounge area, kept us toasty warm.

Room Tip: No T.V in the rooms, so make your own entertainment. No tea or coffee making in the room, so if you like a coffe first thing..........bad luck.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews