We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big choice of Accomadation ....not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pedder Wilderness Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big choice of Accomadation ....not”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

touring around Tassie on a motorbike, we spent a night at this "Chalet".
Now when i conjour up images of a chalet....this place is not what i imagined.
having said that the night was reasonably good.
A bit of confusion when we booked in, because the "chalet" has multiple wings with different names, and poor old Neville sent us to the right room number, but the wrong wing.
Quiet a relief when we found our room, because the other one had bare beds and a terrible damp musty smell.
No t.v or drink making faciities in the rooms, you had to go to the dinning room for a hot drink.

Dinner that night was very well done. there were 10 of us in a group, riding motorbikes around the state, and we were made to feel very welcome, we all got exactly what we ordered, from a very good choice of food.
A big log fire in the lounge area, kept us toasty warm.

Room Tip: No T.V in the rooms, so make your own entertainment. No tea or coffee making in the room, so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    85
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
125
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

On our recent Tassie adventure we decided to take a night out of our Hobart stop to venture out to Strathgordon. It was a lovely drive of about 2.5 hours each way to get right to the famous dam wall... Also some interesting stops along the way if you have the time eg. Russell Falls.

On arrival at Lake Pedder Chalet our first impression was the place was a little outdated... I must say though that I am now a complete fan and would strongly suggest it for those seeking the sheer beauty and serenity that this isolated location offers... Hard to put into words and still do it justice.

We stayed in a hotel style room with a lake view ( well worth the extra money IMO ). That night there were only another 2 couples staying but the dining room and bar lends itself to collective gathering around the fire place and we shared one of the most memorable evenings of our trip with our new neighbours.

The room was comfortable and very clean although the in-room TV had no reception. I would rate it a 3 star style room with a five star view... Water was hot and our bed comfortable. We ate in the dining room and were all amazed with the quality of our meals at such great value. On reflection now we feel very glad and quite privileged to have experienced this very special location.

This little Chalet turned out to be a little gem!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a lake view room as the little extra money is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belljoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geeveston, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We only spent 1 day there in March this year but what a beaut place indeed. Excellent rooms, good food, superb view and great hosts. We had a top stay and would and will recommend to anyone. Another great spot in beautiful Tassie!

Room Tip: Well worth a visit indeed. And you HAVE to go to Gordon Dam, unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Great location and views. Meals great. Lovely hosts. Loved the indoor heated pool. It's a hikers paradise. We got lucky with the weather. And for winter it just magic weather. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cortinatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great food cooked by a high quality chief, a bit slow but it never wastes your time if the meals served deserves the wait. And it does indeed!
Stunning view out from the lounge and dining room. Lovely and cosy rooms. Although the t.v systems here is all running based on the analog which is abandoned already. You can find the only available t.v in the lounge.
The other downside is the absence of the Internet and the phone service, which is highly warning to those who depends vastly on them both.
Apart from that everything is all good! Friendly and nice hosts. If u r finding somewhere to escape the bustling rustling ambient in the cities, this is utterly right for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nmduy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights last week. WOW the views from the dining room and lounge rooms are unbelievable. The scenery changes constantly. We had a room overlooking the lake. It was spotless as was the rest of the chalet. The owners were awesome. Helped us with information on bush walks in the area and even helped us change our flat tyre. Food was modern and tasty and cheap which was a surprise given the chalet's location. Will come back in the near future with the kids. They will love the heated swimming pool and bikes. Not a place to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandraf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hi, myself and my partner booked a unit at the Chalet for 2 nights, upon arrival we where met with a not so welcoming male host/manager with very poor customer service skills, we checked in and proceeded to our unit were we descovered that the fridge was turned off and that there was no hot water due to the power eing turned off to it in the power box.

There was no information in the unit what so ever, and as we had not been given any information upon check in by our unwelcoming host we had no idea of timings for the pool/dinning room etc. There was also no information of local walks etc, which we discovered there wasnt any, you had to drive back to Scotts Peak road, for any signed walks.

The unit was new, however the last guest's had left cups and plates dirty and had to be re washed prior to using, there was only a old dish cloth that had to be thrown out and was unusualable.

When we went to dinner that night I mentioned to the host/manager that the hot water was turned off to our unit, and his reponse was oh well, Not Im sorry. The meals where great on both nights we ate in the dinning area, but very slow, and the second night we recieved our garlic bread 1 hour after ordering it and at the same time as our main meal.

The 2 manager/hosts, where running between preparing meals out the back with cook, to serving at the bar to checking people in, and even know the meals where great I have my doubts as to the hygene as I did not see them wash there hands at the completion of one area to the other.

Overall a great place but hosted by people with what I beleive to have little hospatality skills, this place is visited by people from all parts of the world and I find myself as a tasmanian that has visited many places a bit embarrassed if this is the kind of hospotality that is offered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brent g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pedder Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedder Wilderness Lodge

Property: Pedder Wilderness Lodge
Address: Gordon River Rd, Strathgordon, Tasmania 7139, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Strathgordon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Strathgordon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pedder Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedder Wilderness Lodge is located right in the heart of Tasmania's Southwest National Park which is part of Tasmania's World Heritage Area. Recognised as one of the world's extraordinary natural wonders by the World Heritage Commission, it is to be protected forever from human intervention. One tree, which now sits out the front of the Lodge, was cut down in the 1970's before this protection was in place. The great Huon pine, which is about the width of a car, has its rings marked all the way back to the birth of Christ. Our surrounds, from which this great Huon came, boast everything from ancient awe-inspiring landscapes with boulders from the Jurassic period, striking mountains and lush sub-alpine rainforests with monolithic trees which range from centuries to thousands of years old, all the way to the modern man-made Gordon Dam which offers one of the world's top ten adrenaline activities. With accommodation for all types of travellers, Pedder Wilderness Lodge offers a relaxing and warm environment with a focus on fine Tasmanian food, wines and produce. With sweeping views of Lake Pedder and Twelvetrees Range you could not find a more perfect place to escape, explore, relax and enjoy our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pedder Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing