We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Chretien Point Plantation
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chretien Point Plantation
Ranked #2 of 2 Sunset B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2010

My mom and I stayed there back on October 31, 2007. We had a good time, the staff was amazing and the haunted tour was cool to. I would love to go back and stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jforest83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed June 7, 2007

The stop off night that we spent at Chretien Point, was one of the most relaxing and interesting stays i have ever had at any bed and breakfast or hotel. If you are a fan of the southern way of life then you'll find yourself living the dream of being master of a plantation house, perfectly kept how it was back in the old days. If you are lucky like we were, and are the only guests, then you will have the entire house to yourself and enjoy the full southern hospitality.

You sleep on high, comfortable four poster beds that for some you even need a stool to get up on, and for as long as you are there have access to every room including the huge second floor balcony and veranda. The dining room and lounge on the second floor are beautifully kept in the same old fashioned way. We sat on the veranda looking across the beautiful property in the twilight with refreshments and snacks provided by the management, perhaps the most relaxing part of my trip down south.

The plantation house itself is full of history and during the day they have tours going around, but even so were never bothersome to us. In the morning we were served with a freshly cooked louisianna breakfast, and I had grown to like it so much over one night that i felt bad to leave it so soon. Chretien Point was an experience out of the ordinary that is hard to match anywhere else. Even the other bed and breakfast plantaion houses are considered to be in worse condition than Chretien Point. If you truly are searching for the southern hospitality, there are not many better places to find it.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank thetravellingwaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
16
Reviewed February 13, 2006

We stayed mid-week on a stop during our Southern States road trip. It was well worth the short drive out to the country. We stayed in the Magnolia room which has a very comfortable King sized bed and beautiful views of the yard. It is one of the smaller rooms, but very comfortable. The room had nice robes in the closet to use for your walk across the hall to the private (not shared) bathroom. At night we enjoyed mint-juleps (mint from their garden) out on the upstairs balcony in big rocking chairs. It was a bit cold in February, but so peaceful. The hostess was very friendly and made dinner reservations in town for us. If you are looking for a get-a-way with a combination of luxury and "homey" comfort, this is the place for you. Next time, I think we'll splurge and go for the suite that has a jacuzzi tub. We plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2006

We stayed 2 nights at this magnificent 1831 Plantation Home. The service was top notch, true Southern Hospitality. The bedding was very comfortable, nice amenities in the bathrooms. We stayed in the Prime Minister's Suite and it was worth every dollar! The bathroom was very romantic with 12 foot ceilings, a huge window overlooking the back and a whirlpool tub. The room was large with beautiful period antiques. It was really like stepping back in history. We had French doors that lead out on to the upper gallery overlooking 300 year old oak trees. The setting was peaceful and serene. The property does have wireless internet access which they charge $5 per stay to use, but they do not advertise this fact. The rooms do not have TV or telephone either - so come to enjoy "getting away from it all". We would definately stay again if in the Lafayette area. The cajun culture and cuisine can't be beat!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KidsnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2004

We spent our last 2 touring nights in Louisiana in Chretien Point, and what fun it was. By the time we got there we'd done quite a few tours of plantation houses, and stayed in the guest cottages of a couple. But this time we got to stay in one of the rooms that was on tour during the day, sleep in the antique four-poster etc! Not only that, but we were waited on in the grand reception rooms too. Each evening we were brought mint juleps and little savouries in the first floor drawing room. In the morning we were served a splendid southern breakfast at the huge table in the dining room.

On our first night we were the only guests and, though a staff member stayed downstairs in case of emergencies, we felt we had the whole house to ourselves, and could pretend to be grand Old Southerners.

Because of historical aspects, although we had a private bathroom it wasn't en-suite, but tucked into a cupboard down the hall. Don't worry though - robes are provided.

The staff were unfailingly cheerful, friendly and helpful.

Altogether this was a unique experience, which we will never forget.

14  Thank SeafoodQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chretien Point Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chretien Point Plantation

Address: 665 Chretien Point Plantation, Sunset, LA 70584
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sunset
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset
Price Range: $100 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chretien Point Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1830 Mansion - 30 Mins North Of City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chretien Point Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chretien Point Plantation Hotel Sunset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing