We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge, cheap, clean, family friendly room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites Sulphur
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We are on our way home from Disney. Our check in was quick, room 101 is huge. Two queens (a little small for queens) sofa, new tv, stylish room,clean, tub/shower, really can't beat it for $90ish. Slept great, quiet til 9am, walls may be a little thin. We heard either the cleaning lady or people leaving next door. Over all, we will stay here again any time.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashlogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidgeSingleton, Director of Sales at Quality Suites Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for your stay with us at the Quality Inn & Suites Sulphur, LA! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sulphur and our hotel and invite you to visit Choice Hotels website the next time you travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 72 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed here for 3 days on a business trip to Lake Charles. Picked this hotel based on the general recommendations seen on Trip Advisor. Although most reviews were favorable, we found the place to be only 'average' with regard to service and amenities.
First problem we encountered was soon after walking into the room...the TV remote was 'dead'. I took the remote back to the front desk and asked for a new set of batteries. The girl at the desk advised me that they didn't have any batteries and she would have to 'go look' for another remote in an unoccupied room. She came back about 10 min. later with a working remote. However, when I got back to the room, I noticed that the replacement remote didn't have any navigation (up-down-left-right) buttons, making it impossible for me to select any options from the main menu. I just used the channel buttons to watch TV and forgot about other stuff.
Returning to the hotel after dinner, we discovered the cable TV service and Internet service was not working. Went to the front desk and inquired about the problem, only to be told that they were 'working on it'. Came back on about 3 hrs later (about time to go to bed).
Day 2 seemed to go OK, with no issues. On day 3 (checkout), again discovered that the cable and internet service was again down. At the desk, the clerk said they could not process my 'check out' because their computers were down and that they would have to mail or fax my receipt after the system came back up.
Overall, this place was adequate for a place to sleep and the breakfast buffet was pretty decent. On the down side, the little glitches made for a less-than-satisfactory stay. I wouldn't say you need to avoid this place, just don't expect anything more than 'average'.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidgeSingleton, Director of Sales at Quality Suites Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel! Yes we did have some technical problems that week, we are happy to say that everything with the cable has been corrected. We hope that you will give us another shot when returning to Lake Charles. Also give me a call next time you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Great place. Unlike the Quality Inns of ten years ago, this place is first class, clean, up to date and well maintained. We found as we traveled more on this trip staying at Choice Properties Sulphur is just a little pricey. The highest while on the road for eight days.

Room Tip: Do not be ashamed to ask to see the rooms and stay on the top floor as long as there is an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RONALD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidgeSingleton, Director of Sales at Quality Suites Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Thank you for visiting Choice Hotels and choosing to stay with us at Quality Inn & Suites Sulphur! We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you again and invite you to visit choice hotels website to select other great quality inns while traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to I-10 and the Lake Charles casinos when we were returning from a trip to San Antonio. I used my ChoicePrivileges points and when we arrived the room was perfect. Hotel seemed to have been recently remodeled and was very clean and fresh. I did find that we had a problem with the wi-fi in our room that cleared up as I moved to the lobby, so the front desk clerk just assigned us another room where the connection was strong. A nice breakfast with hot selections was available the next morning with a very cheerful lady attending to it all. Overall, a great stay and a restful stop.

Room Tip: Room down north wing did not get a good wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank railroadpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidgeSingleton, Director of Sales at Quality Suites Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

We were very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your breakfast as well. Thank you for choosing Quality Sulphur and for letting others know about your stay! We look forward to welcoming you in the future when you stop in the Lake Charles area. Visit Choice Hotels when you book for the best available rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

From the rude workers, to the "extra stuff" we found in our sheets, to the wrong credit card being charged, to the dirty tub, to the refrigerator spoiling our food. I will NEVER EVER stay at another Quality Inn. THere wasnt anything quality about this hotel. We were told there was a Hot breakfast, but all they really had has burnt bacon, microwave grits, cold pastries and boiled eggs. Im assuming they had scrambled eggs at one point before 7:45 am but once we were there, there was nothing to be desired. The staff didnt bother refilling any items on the breakfast bar either. Never Again. We come out here every year for a convention. Others in our group reported wet carpet, broken ac units, filthy tubs and many more. We definitely will not sleep here again. The only reason I didnt give it 1 star is because it was a good size room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidgeSingleton, Director of Sales at Quality Suites Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you for your review, we are more than dissatisfied with the way our hotel preformed on your last stay with us. Your valuable comments have been shared with the management team and action has been taken to rectify these matters and to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope that you will reconsider staying with Quality again in the future and encourage you to visit choicehotels website when reserving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Quality Inn in sulphur has all the amenities of a 5 star hotel with very affordable rates.
I strongly recommend making this hotel your stopping destination on your next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidgeSingleton, Director of Sales at Quality Suites Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments! We appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Here at the Quality Inn & Suites Sulphur we strive to make everyone feel just the same way and wish that all guests could take away that five star feeling.Next time feel free to check out choicehotels website to book the best available rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Horrible experience at this hotel. Stayed here with highschool ball team. Front desk messed up multiple reservations, not just our group. Another group had to find other accommodations and they were furious. Apparently, a reservation number is useless for large groups (they said that a written contract was the only way to reserve the rooms, whatever!), so in other words - the hotel overbooked, hoping some people would not show up. Our group has NEVER run into this problem at other hotels, either. I found a dirty sock rolled up under the sheets in the hide-a-bed, YUCK!!!!! That spoke volumes for housekeeping. The showers were in desperate need of being bleached and updated. The worst part, a lady was attacked in the parking lot by someone who followed her to the hotel from a Walmart down the street..Security cameras??? I WILL say - the breakfast bar was decent enough. Nope, we won't stay here again & we are planning on being in the area at the end of April. Fully expect management of this hotel to respond to this review and looking forward to reading their version of events...I'm sure they remember this weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisianaluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidgeSingleton, Director of Sales at Quality Suites Sulphur, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to bring these events to our attention. We are delighted that we were able to host your group as well as all of the other teams that had reservations. Also we are pleased to offer our guests an expanded Hot Breakfast Daily, which we feel is pretty decent as well! All groups that book by calling the hotel directly or reservations department are presented with a legally binding contract that guarantees both their rooms and rate. Groups that book otherwise are given confirmation numbers to guarantee their rooms and rates. It is our policy to sell only available rooms; we would never choose to overbook our hotel as it creates discomfort for our guests and staff. We are recently under NEW MANAGEMENT, and your comments have been addressed with housekeeping and guest services to help us improve further stays. The safety and well being of our guests is a priority, therefore Security Cameras have been installed since your stay with us. We hope that you will give us a second chance to continue to host your group when in the Lake Charles area, and invite you to call the property or the 800 number to reserve your group’s rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
3 mi away
Days Inn Sulphur West
Days Inn Sulphur West
#17 of 21 in Sulphur
237 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Sulphur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Sulphur

Address: 320 S Cities Service Hwy, Sulphur, LA 70663-6406 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range: $79 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Sulphur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL Suites, hotel located in Sulphur close to industries, restaurants, casinos, beaches, mall, Creole Nature Trail, and more.Hotel feautres, hot breakfast daily, complimentary Wi-Fi, Fitness Center, and Outdoor Pool. Meeting Space is available. No Pets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Suites Sulphur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sulphur
Sulphur Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing