We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Sulphur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Sulphur”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

For those looking for a nice place to stay in the Sulphur area, this hotel fits the bill nicely. It's not new (you can see that the bathrooms and air conditioning units still retain a bit of an older style) but the rooms have new amenities and are well-kept. The breakfast in the morning has lots of good choices. But the best thing about this hotel is the staff -- they were very welcoming and eager to be helpful. I gave it five stars (even though it's not a full service hotel with all those types of amenities) because it does a very good job of doing exactly what it is supposed to do -- provide a traveler to Sulphur with a clean, pleasant, safe place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cherylmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesulphur, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback! We pride ourselves on the level of service that we provide to our guests, and it is so exciting to hear that your experience met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    22
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
26
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kaplan, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel was very impressed with the cleanliness of the property and the hotel itself. everyone from the front desk on down to the housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast area was well stocked and clean. I would like to thank Donna for the help with my reservation on such a short notice. I would definately stay there again and would like to give this hotel and staff a 10+ rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesulphur, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business very much and always look forward to return visits from our guests.

Donna Martin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

good rooms very friendly staff call you by name after a few stay's best breakfast plently of parking
outdoors patio to just relax get a little sun nice quite pool weight room
this crew always always trying to please

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesulphur, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We work very diligently to ensure that every guest has a relaxing and enjoyable visit. We are glad that you experienced this while at our hotel and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Donna Martin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is very close to the casinos in Lake Charles. The room was very clean and the service was great. Breakfast options are good for a quick start in the morning. Cracker Barrel is across the parking lot for more extensive breakfast option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hospitality911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesulphur, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We basically used this hotel as a place to sleep while traveling to Florida. As a priority club member, the front desk clerk at every priority club hotel we have ever stayed in has always given us something. Usually it's a free drink at the bar if there is a bar in the hotel. Other times its a free soda or snack. On this trip, we weren't acknowledged as priority club members nor were we offered anything other than our room keys. I know it's not much, but its always something we look forward to when staying at these hotels.

We got to the room and were impressed with the smell and cleanliness. Although the beds were a little on the firm side, they were comfortable. The bathroom didn't seem to be as clean. THere was grout missing between the tiles and hair on the floor. The bathroom didn't seem to be updated at all other than the granite countertop. I did like how the room itself was pretty big. There was plenty of room between the beds on both sides. One thing about the room I didn't care for was the air conditioner. While it stayed cool, we like to have the noise of it running all night because it helps us sleep. This air conditioner looked pretty old and there was no option to keep the fan on. We looked at the radio clock hoping for white noise options but there were none. Maybe it might be a good idea to include something like this in the rooms.

The breakfast food was fairly good. The only thing we didn't care for were the eggs with cheese already mixed in. The cheese was really runny and just tasted really odd. Also, the orange juice was not very good at all. Might want to consider having some other options for drinks.

Other than these things, it was a decent hotel. It is definitely good enough for an overnight stay. If I were here longer than that, I'd probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiesulphur, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Stephen,

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We strive to maintain the highest levels of quality, service, and value for our guests, and it's feedback such as this that helps us identify areas that we can improve upon in order to provide great experiences for future guests. We are so sorry that your stay held some challenges, and we'd really like the opportunity to make it up to you. I invite you to conact us directly so that we may discuss how best to do that. We know you have many choices when deciding where to stay in the area, and we hope that you'll choose us again next time!

Thank you,
Tracy French
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Awesome rooms great service will come again.really nice tubs and nice beds

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemcgee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We'd love to have you back! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San ANtonio, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here overnight. It is a nice looking hotel. The room was booked as a Queen Suite but turned out to be a room for movement impaired. That meant that the beds were lower on the floor and that can be a problem for old hips. The carpet on the third floor was smokey smelling. The room was clean and adequate for an overnight stay. The front desk check-in was adequate other than being assigned a room I did not expect. The breakfast was hot and tasty. The staff was nice and attentive.

Room Tip: Check your reservations and make sure they give you the room you requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmith2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles), responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I was concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable accomodations to all of our guests. As your reveiw was short, I would love to have the opportunity of speaking with you directly to discuss your stay in more detail and hopefully have the pleasure of inviting you back to the hotel in the future. gm@hiesulphur.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles)
Address: 102 Mallard St, Sulphur, LA 70665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sulphur, Louisiana. Our hotel is located in the heart of Sulphur Industries short distances from Phillips 66, Citgo, Axiall, Westlake Group, Sasol, LyondellBasell and Turner Industries. For the playful at heart we are minutes away from area Casinos - Isle of Capri, L'Auberge du Lac Casino and Golden Nugget Lake Charles. The horserace enthusiast will enjoy a day at Delta Down Horseracing and Casino. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is also in the heart of Louisiana Hunting and Fishing. Enjoy a round of golf at Graywood Plantations Golf Course, National Golf Course, Frasch Park, Mallard Cove. Our hotel is also conveniently located near McNeese State University. Our dedicated and friendly staff is here to make your visit to the Sulphur - Lake Charles area 'Your Home Away From Home!' We would like to host your next Corporate Meeting or Training Event in our versatile conference / meeting space up to 150 ppl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Sulphur (Lake Charles) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing