We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST Hotel Experience EVER!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Sulphur West
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
“WORST Hotel Experience EVER!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in April traveling to TX from Florida. Got to the room and there a 'crap load' in the toilet. Must have been there for a long time, since the room stunk to high heavens soon as the door was opened. Tried calling reception and no answer. They had file boxes stacked all over the hallway. The bed was on a platform that stuck out serveral inches from the matress and after bumping into it serveral times, and finally falling and cutting myself, tried calling reception again, and STILL no answer. The pull out sofa bed had no linens and so on and so on. Got home and decided to write the corporate office an email with pictures, and no response from them either. Words simply cannot express the horribly experience at this La Quinta. I will never stay here again and will advise everyone I know, never to stay here either. This hotel is bad!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherryd812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    46
    51
    36
    45
See reviews for
81
47
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have been staying at this LaQuinta for a long time, during our fishing trips to the Gulf .
We have always found the location ideal and the hotel to be one of the best. I must say that we were a little dissapointed this stay, as the hotel looks a little run down. It looks as though its in need of some updated and remodeling. The rooms are getting shabby and the pool wasnt as clean as it used to be.
Thank you for the great customer service that you all have always provided with such friendly service. We greatly appreciate it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Overall this is a good place to stay. All our request were filled and we left very satisfied as usual.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

On our way back to TN from Texas our transmission went out on our truck and we were stranded at this hotel. We could not of asked for a more friendly and extremely helpful staff. The rooms were very clean and they also had a great breakfast. Tomeka and Marcella were the two young ladies we dealt most with and they were AMAZING!! They were always extremely helpful to us while we were stranded there for a week. Tomeka and Marcella in our book deserve a raise because their customer service skills went above and beyond the call of duty. Being stranded for a week with no vehicle and 800 miles from home is very stressful but these 2 young ladies made our experience there comfortable and pleasant! If we ever go through that area again we certainly stay at this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay with a wonderful staff. If you are blessed to come across either Tomeka or Marcella I assure you, you will not be disappointed. Thank you Tomeka and Marcella for making our trip a pleasant one and for taking such great care of us and being so helpful, we appreciate it from the bottom of our hearts!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank linton448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The only thing pleasant about this property was the woman who worked the front desk. The room was clean but the towels were way too small and the shower head was for someone who was about 4 ft tall. I wouldn't stay here again. I know that they have lots of construction workers staying during the week but they need to start keeping up the property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passengersc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This is an older La Quinta but we found the room to spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is only a few miles from Lake Charles, but the rates were very reasonable. We were on the second floor facing away from IH 10 and the room was very quiet. There are no elevators but parking was very close the room. An excellent cajun resturant just down the main street a few minutes away is Hollier's. A previous resturant Cajun Charles had closed.

Room Tip: Stay in a room not facing IH 10. This is a two story hotel and we preferred the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardjmertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Our stay in this hotel was based on location alone. We were disgusted by the moldy curtains and the smell of deodirants to cover the musty smell. It was tolerable for only sleeping in the room. When we returned home is when I realized just what kind of people work here. My bank account has been fraudulently charged three times! I have had to close my account with the bank and file charges. Thank goodness the bank has returned all the money to me and dismissed all the overdraft charges I incurred d/t this hotel. The bank is also going after the hotel to retreive the money. To save your account from being robbed...stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Sulphur LA
Days Inn Sulphur LA
#11 of 21 in Sulphur
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Suites Sulphur
Quality Suites Sulphur
#10 of 21 in Sulphur
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sulphur West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sulphur West

Property: Days Inn Sulphur West
Address: 2600 Ruth St, Sulphur, LA 70665-7465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Sulphur West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensational days in Sulpher await you at our Days Inn Sulpher West hotel located off I-10 and minutes from West Cal Arena & Events Center and SPAR Waterpark. Our convenient location is walking distance from dining options, and nearby area businesses including Huntsman Tioxide, Louisiana Chemical Pipe Valve, and RED-D-Arc Welderentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn Sulphur West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Sulphur
Sulphur La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing