We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Go for the third floor'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“'Go for the third floor'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a very clean and comfortable property. However, it is pet friendly and the Chihuahua will wake you up when his master takes him for his early morning walk (if you have one lodged at the same time you’re there). I lived on the 2nd floor and the young mother with four children under age 5 lived above me on the third floor. The children seemed to use the bed as an outdoor recreational tool and jumped from the bed and made ‘good noise’ until they finally fell asleep. When morning came they were at it again.

GO FOR THE THIRD FLOOR, you won’t have a floor above you to listen to noise. I would suggest that pet owners be assigned the first floor, children on the second, and people without pets and children on the third.

Clean, no free breakfast, welcome coupon if you are an IHG member, clean and comfortable bed.

Room Tip: GO FOR THE THIRD FLOOR! Prepare to either buy groceries or eat out the hotel does not have a reatau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronNichols, Manager at Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
I am so sorry about the difficulties you experienced during you stay with us. Thank you for telling us about them so we can see about getting them corrected. We hope you come stay with us again so we can have another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
9
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

while I like the layout of the room, and the amenities (full size fridge, dishwasher, stove, and extensive utensils) the walls are very thin. I can hear the TVs in the rooms on both sides of me, and the people walking across the room above me. At first I thought I could just have some loud neighbors, but when I was able to listen in on a phone conversation (both sides of the call) I knew it was not that. My room was about half way down the hall from the front desk and I could here every guest that checked in too.
The thin walls do not make up for the little extras. The primary reason I go to a hotel is to sleep, and that is hard to come by with the cheap construction.... oh yeah, and all the doors slam real hard due to the slings in the hinges.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has nobody above it... i guess that is 1 direction for noise to be coming from
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Joshua K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see you enjoyed the room and the high scores for Service and Cleanliness. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

It's been a while since I had to stay away from fast food restaurants and being able to go to the grocery store get my own healthy choices and cook it myself in the kitchen which the suite sponsored by the Candlewood is equipped with. It had all the necessary kitchen tools to cook and plates, glasses, and silver wear. It also had a very spacious bathroom.
The staff was super friendly too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmkliur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronNichols, Manager at Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Thank you for this awesome review! We greatly appreciate you and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We make the trip to Lake Charles every year for our family reunion and usually stay at the Holiday Inn express, but they no longer allow pets so we were VERY limited (like 2 hotels) to choose from. Knowing the area well - we were so relieved to find Candlewood accepted pets. We had a wonderful stay with candlewood. Room was very clean and in very good condition. Nice cold AC, friendly staff and met and spoke with housekeeping in hallway. She was very polite and helpful as I was getting onto elevator with my two small dogs. They also have a large pet area to walk your babies. We will definitely be booking with them next year. Thank you Candlewood in Sulphur, LA for making our pets welcomed and our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjbb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronNichols, Manager at Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
We are so excited that you and your pets enjoyed your visit with us. We would love to have y'all come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is located amongst a number of other hotels, close to the highway. They are back off the road and you may miss the street to turn on to get to them. The lobby area was small, but clean. For a one night stay, they discounted the room from its normal price ($15.00). They have a few computers for public use but Wi-Fi If you have your own compurer. They have a small selection of movies (DVDs) if you like. No complimentary breakfast and each item you buy costs (i.e. cereal is $1.00). They have a small exercise area and complimentary washers and dryers (no cost). They do allow pets so if you don't like or want to see them, don't stay here. The room was very nice, except for the horrible smoke smell. Our room was to be non-smoking but someone obviously didn't care. When asked how the stay was I answered great other than the smoke smell. Without asking, we were given a discount ($30) on the room and the manager apologized. We would stay here again if we're just passing through.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmiepie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronNichols, Manager at Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice friendly lady doing the check-in. Room was comfortable if a little dark (small windows) Bed was excellent and the room had everything I needed. Funny smell in the corridors but not in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_BT_Hannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronNichols, Manager at Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Thank you for letting us know about your experience while staying with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here while driving cross-country with pets. The first room offered was supposed to be non-smoking, but reeked of smoke. The replacement room merely smelled of mildew, and that was the high point of the stay. Push on a little further, and drop a few more bucks and find a place in Lake Charles

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronNichols, Manager at Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
We are so sorry we didn't exceed your expectations during your visit with us. Since then we have made all rooms non-smoking. We hope to have you stop back in for a second visit so we can have another opportunity to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles

Property: Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles
Address: 320 Arena Rd, Sulphur, LA 70665-7462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sulphur, LA Hotel's Amenities Ideal for Extended Stay For hotel amenities that you can enjoy on your own schedule, come stay at the Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Sulphur near Lake Charles. Lodging here gives you convenient access to our unique amenities, as well as the local area of Sulphur, Louisiana. Our hotel's guests benefit from our location near a variety of attractions like the Lake Charles beaches and Prien Lake Mall. You can see an event at the West Calcasieu Arena or play a round of golf at the Frasch Park Golf Course. Casinos such as L'Auberge du Lac, Golden Nugget, and Isle of Capri are also just a short drive from our hotel. In Sulphur, you'll find we're convenient to the Citgo Refinery,Sasol, PPG Industries, Vista Chemicals, Lyondell, Conoco, Air Liquide, McNeese State University, as well as companies near Lake Charles. Lodging in our hotel puts you within a short drive of these places and gives you access to our corporate-friendly suites and 24-hour business center. From the Candlewood Cupboard, to free guest laundry, and free rentals from the lending library, we give you the comfort you deserve while visiting Sulphur and Lake Charles. Our suites feature fully equipped kitchens, large workspaces, free high-speed Internet access, Comforts of Home bedding and 32-inch TVs with DVD players. Whether you choose a studio or a one-bedroom suite, you're sure to enjoy a relaxing time at our extended stay hotel in Sulphur, LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles Hotel Sulphur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing