We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK But Nothing to Write Home About”
Review of Motel 6 Sulphur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Sulphur
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK But Nothing to Write Home About”
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Wireless internet works good, lets you on free for 8 hours at a time.

Best to get a second floor room, because on the ground floor, you can hear every little noise in the room above you. I asked for a quiet room, but as is often the case, no such luck. Somehow you can always count on other guests to be inconsiderate. The people above me got in after 11pm and didn't finally quiet down until 1am. Then at 6am they were up again. The guy at the front desk couldn't seem to do anything for me. They don't have actual king fitted sheets, and I get itchy so I think there could be bed bugs here, or the mattresses need changing. Better off taking your money elsewhere.

The only restaurant within walking distance is Wendy's. A short drive and you have many others available.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBear63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
5
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
farcry7
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

this econo lodge from

choice hotel offer the

same luxury than say

a comfort inn, I give 4.5

instead of five because

the construction (as of

Jan 2010) in front of the

hotel could be a problem

if you don't check during

the weekend. could be 5

for the staff : very helpful.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank farcry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Gamblers looking to save money stay in Sulphur instead of Lake Charles. This Econo Lodge is on a street with several economy hotels and lots of restaurants. The room was clean but the A/C was sized incorrectly resulting in a cold and clammy atmosphere. Grounds were poor, no pool. For the money I could have done better. Bad atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Hotel looks nice in the pictures, but when you arrive you see how rundown the hotel really is. They tried to remodel but did not even clean before painting... Our room was on the second floor the stairwell and walkway leading to the room was in very poor condition (dirty etc). The room was filthy especially the bathroom mold on the floor, bathtub, and shower head... The carpet was dirty and the airconditioner was so noisey you needed ear protection. To sum this up you feel dirty while in the room and do not want to touch anything. The only good thing that I can say about this hotel is the front desk staff made us feel welcome.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Front desk staff was pleasant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravelersTwoAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I spent the weekend at this Econo Lodge and was quite pleased. The room was clean and quiet and the rate was reasonable. The motel is located at Exit 20, which puts it very close to the casinos (Isle at Exit 27, Delta Downs at Exit 7, LDL nearby). There are also a number of restaurants and convenience stores nearby. The rooms each have a small microwave & 'fridge, and the place has continental breakfast. There's a small bar attached to the motel, so you might want to ask for a room away from the bar. I travel to Lake Charles to go gaming a few times a year and this is now my number one pick in the "budget" category. The place is A-OK.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — it was all fine
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Sulphur West
Days Inn Sulphur West
#17 of 21 in Sulphur
218 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Sulphur LA
Days Inn Sulphur LA
#11 of 21 in Sulphur
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Sulphur
Quality Suites Sulphur
#10 of 21 in Sulphur
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sulphur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sulphur

Property: Motel 6 Sulphur
Address: 2022 Ruth St, Sulphur, LA 70663 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sulphur 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sulphur is conveniently located on Interstate 10 and is just minutes from Lake Charles and Creole Nature Trail, known as the Louisiana Outback. This property has modern rooms with wood effect floors wtih free WiFi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Sulphur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sulphur
Sulphur Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing