We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”

Joe's Pizza and Pasta
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Sulphur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Joe's is a very good, original Italian style restaurant. Their bread is made fresh and is a good start to a wide variety of Italian dishes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DennisandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    31
    6
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Italian, friendly staff”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Consistently good food at reasonable prices. Staff, often one of the owners, provide good service. I have had most of their entrees and have not been disappointed. The bread and dipping sauce is the best I have eaten. Portions are large enough to share or bring home for a second meal.

Helpful?
Thank teebee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“First-Rate Food, Underdeveloped Service, Dull Decor”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Joe's Pizza and Pasta offers the best pizza in southwestern Louisiana. Rendered in the New York style, the pizza features a tasty but thin and exquisitely baked crust as well as a tomato sauce that is spot-on with regard to acidity level (it is wonderfully free of the sweetness that characterizes the sauces in too many pizzerias in this region). The combination of topping-cheeses produces a genuinely savory taste that hovers between provolone, Parmesan, and cheddar. From pepperoni and sausage through mushroom, olives, and bell peppers, the topping are not only fresh but evidence laudable depth of flavor. That having been said, Joe's Pizza suffers from certain deficits. The service is unpredictable. Some servers are friendly and polite; others are hasty and offhand. During a recent Sunday-night visit, we were met at the door with a rebuffing announcement that business was slow and that the restaurant would be closing ninety minutes ahead of schedule. After complaining that we drove from another city to dine there on the basis of advertised schedules, we were admitted, but we were later presented with to-go boxes and a bill well before one diner had finished. Throughout the meal, we could observe the chef standing and sometimes pacing, arms folded, in front of a TV. Decor at Joe's could also use some work,. A thudding beige paint job, black plastic tablecloths, and paintings of Italian scenes that look as if they were done during the youth of Dean Martin or Frank Sinatra make for a sobering dining experience. Joe's is well worth a visit. It produces an excellent meal. But more follow-through is needed with regard to the overall dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeQuincy, Louisiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great place to eat. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is very good. We have enjoyed eferything we have eaten there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place to eat in sulphur..THE BEST!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Best place to eat...generous portions...friendly staff...i submitted a pic of my dish and it was
EXCELLENT..Best ive ever ate

Helpful?
Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Pizza and Pasta also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Pizza and Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing