We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, If you book it at the right price :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
LA
1 review
“Good Value, If you book it at the right price :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

Could use some updating but otherwise a solid 2.5 star hotel and a great value if you book it through the right place (price chopper (hint)). The staff ranks up there with the 5 star hotel I have stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rr3507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    42
    20
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
39
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BATON ROUGE LOUISIANA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

Started off with a smelly room on the third floor was moved to the first floor and smelt like carpet glue They changed the carpet the day before ? stayed and took a discount we stayed with our softball team and every bathtub leaked except one out of 10 staff was nice breakfast was usual with waffles being on it . overall there was a lot of hotels around but we were only there for two nights but wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjnkriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

Fairfield Inn in Sulphur, La was nice and clean, inside and out. Friendly staff. Good old southern hospitality! Warm indoor pool and hot tub (whirlpool) was more than relaxing. Both were a blessing to my overly tired, aching, and stressed muscles at the time. I enjoyed it to the fullest! Our beds were nice and comfy. Housekeeping was great! They kept us supplied with bath towels, toilet paper, etc. Plus, they kept our room nice and tidy everyday. I felt safe staying here and I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

I stayed here on June 18th. The room and staff were fine. However, I have been charged for an additional nigh on June the 19that I did not stay. When I contacted American Express to dispute the charge, the hotel forwarded them a receipt showing a two night stay. THIS IS FRAUD. I am now having to get records together showing that I traveled back home on the 19th.

When I contacted the hotel directly, they indicated they would be calling me back. This has not happened.

Check your credit card statements carefully for FRAUD.

If they can't even keep track of who stays when properly, I'm glad that my stay was one night only.

Again, beware of FRAUD with this hotel and their staff.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Hesson412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for four days during the Hurricane Ike evacuation. The front desk and staff were always very helpful and friendly. They told me what to do if storm conditions got bad near the hotel and were very concerned about guest safety. Since I was there for four days I was able to use the hotel gym and had some good breakfasts which were included in the room rate. Kudos to this hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TexasMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2007

We booked two nights for a trip to the "Isle of Capri casino" Seven exits after the hotel.
price was very reasonable, easy access to the hotel from
exit #20 off Highway 10 East.

Staff at the front desk were very nice and helpfull.
Breakfast room very clean "good breakfast" & a relaxed atmosphere.
Rooms are clean, Ice box, microwave, Phone, couch, Tv .... Not to forget the gymnasium, the swimming pool and the jacuzzi.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KHARBAT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

We made a last minute reservation for a casino trip, and found that a lot of our usual hotels were sold out, so we opted for Fairfield. They were available, and was able to use Marriott Rewards points at the lowest level - a real bargain!

We got to the hotel early, and the front desk was able to check us in a couple of hours early, since our room happened to have been cleaned already. I felt sorry for the family that had tried to check in just before us, but their room wasn't ready yet.

The room was relatively small, but fine for two of us to sleep - a family would go crazy in that particular room (106), but it was fine for a couple sleeping. The lack of square footage, though, was compensated by additional height - the room had 10 foot + high ceilings - that gave the room a larger feel.

The king size bed was firm and comfortable, with more than enough pillows. There was also an easy chair with an ottoman, but the room was a little cramped between the footstool and the bed (see previous paragraph).

Also included in the room was the usual stuff for a room like this - desk, dresser, decent sized TV, etc., plus a dehumidifier. I had never seen one in a hotel room before, but all-in-all it was a nice addition. If you've been in the area, you know the summer humidity is outrageous in the area, and it kept the humidity down. When I asked at the front desk about it, she seemed surprised that I hadn't seen a dehumidifier in other area hotels before, and the manager overheard us and reinforced the same thing, adding that it helped his allergies.

The air conditioner is one of the older style motel under-the-window units. It works fine, but tends to be loud. In addition, the noise from the dehumidifier is even louder than the air conditioner. Whether this is good or bad depends on what type of sleeper you are. While they're loud, the noise is a "white noise," so it's sort of soothing, and helps cover up other noises. On the other hand, if you like falling asleep to a quiet TV, it's hard to hear the sound unless you turn the volume up more.

Minor annoyances - bathroom vent comes on when you turn on the light - would have liked separate switches; bathroom sink only have room for one person at a time.

Hotel has small indoor pool - good for getting wet or for kids to play - certainly too small for laps. Also indoors was a jacuzzi of some sort - didn't inspect. Hotel also has breakfast buffet which sounded good, but we slept too late to try it.

The location is on the west side of Lake Charles (Sulfur, actually), right off the freeway. There are a couple other similar hotels in the area as well.

When we woke up in the morning, there was a bill slipped under the door for express check-out. Only problem was an $11 + tax charge for my room for which there should have been no charge (used Reward points). I took it up to the front desk and I didn't quite understand her response, but it was apparently a mistake from the night shift, and she took the charge right off.

Bottom line, I'd stay there again if I needed a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CSL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Sulphur
Quality Suites Sulphur
#13 of 21 in Sulphur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Address: 2615 Ruth Street, Sulphur, LA 70665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Sulphur, in Southwestern Louisiana, Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake Charles Sulphur provides comfort and convenience with many modern amenities. Our Sulfur, Louisiana hotel offers the space you need to unwind after a day exploring downtown Lake Charles, the Isle of Capri Lake Charles casino, Golden Nugget Lake Charles and L'auberge du Lac. We feature accommodations that include free Wi-Fi and flat-panel TVs, and our public spaces give you a refreshing indoor pool and a breakfast area with a free daily morning meal. At Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake Charles Sulphur, your enjoyment is our number one priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Lake Charles Sulphur Hotel Sulphur
Fairfield Inn Sulphur
Fairfield Sulphur
Sulphur Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing