We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great staff, ok hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

My room was clean but a bit run down. It was fine for a quick nights rest, it was clean. The staff was great when I checked in, at breakfast and later in the day. Breakfast was simple continental affair, nothing crazy it was fine. Room itself was nice, had a dehumidifier in the room with a note on it explaining what it was there for. Good hotel overall I'd stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AGRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We strive to maintain the highest levels of quality, service and value for our guest. I am glad to hear you had a great overall stay with us here at Fairfield Inn Lake Charles/Sulphur. I was concerned to learn that you felt our rooms were a bit run down. Our hotel has just reopened after undergoing major renovations. I would love to have the opportunity of speaking with you directly to discuss your concerns in more detail. I look forward to hearing from you and hopefully inviting you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    20
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
39
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was a nice quiet hotel. I was in town for a funeral,never a pleasant reason for an out of town trip, solo and far away from my family. I was both physically and emotionally exhausted. The young lady at the front desk was so friendly and called a restaurant for me to see if they offered car service (they did) and the welcome package was much appreciated. Nothing like some chocolate to soothe a gal. The breakfast attendant only reason I didn't give this a 5 stars was because the sheets were a little on the rough side and the a/c never seemed to really cool the room but I was just too tired to request a room change. The hotel is convenient to I-10 but very nice, quiet area. I felt very safe even though I was alone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnh624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake Charles/Sulphur! I am very pleased to hear that during your difficult time we were able to provide you with the highest level of quality, service and value that we strive to maintain for our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here using our Marriott reward points and it was a very nice hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean and large. The room has a refrigerator and microwave, and an added bonus of a dehumidifier for that heavy LA humidity. The air conditioning worked very well and kept us cool in the hot LA heat. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okcmenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for selecting to stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Sulphur. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and found our rooms to be comfortable and clean. Our dehumidifiers are definitely an added bonus in each guest room and we are so glad you appreciated them. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stay at a lot of the Marriott's chains because of work travel. This hotel is not exceptional but is decent enough to spend a few nights.

Just make sure you stay opposite of the highway for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeramieOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We wanted to let you know how much we appreciate you staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake Charles/Sulphur. Our hotel has just reopened June 1st 2012 after undergoing major renovations. We would like to invite you to come in and give us a chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have stayed in the most elegant hotels in the world with professionally trained staff. However, my stay at this Fairfield was as good as anywhere in the world. This is 100% because of the employees at the Sulphur Fairfield.

From check in to checkout and everything in between, they treated me as if I as the most important guest who has ever stayed there. I will stay at this Fairfield whenever it is possible; even if I have to drive a further distance.

They are the greatest!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

As someone that is in the Customer Serivce insdustry, I value my customers and expect a certain level of professionalism myself. There are a multitude of Hotels to stay in within the Lake Charles/Sulphur area and I continue to be drawn to the Fairfield Inn here in Sulphur, LA. I travel frequently and being away from home is always difficult. The staff at this Fairfield is absolutely second to none. The main reason i keep coming back is because of their friendly staff. The treat me incredibly well and they are consistent each and every visit. What can I say? I'll see you soon! Thank you for your continued commitment to excellence. It is appreciated.
Ruben

Room Tip: Love the third floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bugs571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed overnight with some friends. Staff is very courteous and friendly. From the front desk, to housekeeping.. Every time I met staff in hall, or elevator and they they greeted me and made me feel as though they appreciated my patronage. As always rooms were clean and neat. And they are remodeling!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjensen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Sulphur
Quality Suites Sulphur
#10 of 21 in Sulphur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
Address: 2615 Ruth Street, Sulphur, LA 70665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Sulphur, in Southwestern Louisiana, Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake Charles Sulphur provides comfort and convenience with many modern amenities. Our Sulfur, Louisiana hotel offers the space you need to unwind after a day exploring downtown Lake Charles, the Isle of Capri Lake Charles casino, Golden Nugget Lake Charles and L'auberge du Lac. We feature accommodations that include free Wi-Fi and flat-panel TVs, and our public spaces give you a refreshing indoor pool and a breakfast area with a free daily morning meal. At Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake Charles Sulphur, your enjoyment is our number one priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Lake Charles Sulphur Hotel Sulphur
Fairfield Inn Sulphur
Fairfield Sulphur
Sulphur Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing