We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Than Average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Biloxi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better Than Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you can get a room here For less than 100 dollars, then this is a nice place to stay. It was recently renovated and it is clean. The bathroom, at least in my room, is miniscule. Other than that, the service is friendly and this is a fine place to stay while traveling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your compliment with us! We are very proud of the quality of service we provide here at the Holiday Inn Lake Charles W-Sulphur. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    10
    7
    13
See reviews for
28
17
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on September 1, 2012 and was very pleased with the room and the staff. The only drawback I had was I attempted to use the microwave and discovered and entire McDonald's meal had been left in the microwave by another customer. I had to remove the foul food and smell it the entire night after I had to dispose it in the trash can. Othen than that surprise I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Here at the Holiday Inn Lake Charles W- Sulphur, we strive to give our guests an experience that exceeds their expectations. The staff works very hard to provide excellence in service and product. In this instance we fell short of our goal and we apologize for any inconvience that you experienced during your stay with us. I can assure you that what you experienced is not normal service at this hotel. We hope that you will give us another shot when you are back in the area. We appciate your feedback and will use it to help us improve.

Benjamin Rhodes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

As someon that is in the Customer Service industry, I value my customers and expect a certain level of professionalism myself. There are a multitude of Hotels to stay in within the Sulphur area and I continue to the Holiday Inn in Sulphur, La. I travel frequently and being away from home is always difficult. The staff at this Holiday Inn is second to none. From the checkin to the checkout and everything in between, they treated me as if I was the most important guest who has ever stayed. Every time I met staff in the hall or elevator they greeted me and made me feel as though they appreciate my patronage. As always the beds were comfortable and the large room was clean and neat. The room has a refrigerator and microwave.The pool area was very relaxing and well kept as well. The resturant is WONDERFUL I was able to enjoy a great meal at a even better price without having to ever get into my car. I will stay at this hotel whenever possible, even if I have to drive a further distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWM7428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. The rooms were big and comfortable. Also, it was quiet in spite of the fact there was a boys baseball play-off and there were boys everywhere. Had breakfast in the restaurant and the wait staff were excellent. I would like to see HI have recycling available (I have had to carry my recyclables home the last two times) and use real glass instead of plastic and styrofoam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IxchelLufkin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysian Fields, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stay here a lot, in fact, I think I have been here more often than any other H.I. (I am a Platinum Member). It is always quiet, clean and well run. If you are traveling with family, you will feel very safe.
The rooms are typical of current Holiday Inns, very comfortable and large. If in Lake Chas. to gamble, it is a fast shot over to the casinos.
I will, at times, eat at Kems (hotel resturant) and have always been pleased with the quality. Service is always friendly too.
I have always found the front guest staff to be rather cool- don't get me wrong- they are nice enough and get the job done quick but I never feel particularly welcomed... or not welcomed...that is the "cool" aspect I speak of. Thats ok though. When you are on the road as much as I am, it is kind of nice to feel a bit more welcomed, particularly when you choose to stay there as often as I have. BTW.. I am a very nice guy, never rude or demading!
If you are a Platinum Member and expect any thing special, well, don't. Just once I would like to be offered an upgrade- just to see what the other rooms might look like! I know, very petty of me.
Anyway, this is a very good, clean, safe place to stay. No worries.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

After I called the 800 # to make a reservation and booked my room. I got down to Sulphur, La. only to find that I was booked in Sulphur Springs, TX. Upon showing up Jacqueline attempted to check me in when this little issue was found out. Jacqueline then devised a way for me to stay here even through an ATSSA kids baseball weekend (which turned out to be CRAZY) Parents WATCH YOUR KIDS! Needless to say it was a very trying stay! Jacqueline did her absolute best to maintain civilized order through this. The ones I felt bad for was Housekeeping! They did very well and did there time till 7pm both Sunday and Monday. Well done Staff. I had an issue with my AC and Tim was very quick to resolve it. Thank You to all the support staff...

Room Tip: There is no continental breakfast! They have room service and a resturant which was good but when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I am actually at this particular Holiday Inn right now as I type this. I love this place. I truly do. If I have to come to this area for ANYTHING, I stay here.

The rooms are comfortable with great beds. The people are all very friendly and they are a big part of what makes the hotel so great.

My only issue is the service in the restaurant. I've never had worst service. A friend ordered a crispy chicken salad that was described on the menu as a chicken strip salad. It came with chicken nuggets. O_o

Our wait was more than 30 minutes and our bill was all wrong. Overcharged for items we never received. But again, the people were friendly to the point where I felt bad even being upset. There appeared to be one bartender,one server and one cook on duty. But all friendly!!

Overall, its a great hotel. Just don't visit the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meghuneyntyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrforeman, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you love staying at the Holiday Inn Lake Charles W-Sulphur! We truly appreciate your kind words about the staff and the comfort of our hotel!

I do hate to hear that your experience in our restaurant was not so great. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and hope that you will give our restaurant another chance. I’m sure you will find that your experience was not normal service. I do appreciate your feedback as it does help us to improve our service.

I thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake Charles Sulphur
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
Address: 330 Arena Rd, Sulphur, LA 70665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Lake Charles - West Sulphur Our Sulphur, Louisiana hotel is located off I-10 with convenient access to many nearby attractions and businesses. Just a few miles from Lake Charles, our hotel is 10 miles from Lake Charles Regional Airport (LCH). Visitors to our Sulphur hotel can enjoy a wide variety of southern Louisiana attractions. Within seven miles of our hotel, guests will find lovely Lake Charles Beach and downtown Lake Charles. Leisure travelers can experience the Louisiana outdoors by visiting the Sabine Refuge or the Creole Nature Trail, both within 20 minutes of our hotel. There are also several casinos within a five minute drive of our hotel in Sulphur. Business travelers can travel easily to and from their meetings, with our Lake Charles hotel's convenient location. Business offices within 10 miles of our hotel include Citgo, Conoco, Northrop Grumman, PPG Industries, the Lake Charles Civic Center, McNeese State University and the Port of Lake Charles. Our Lake Charles, Louisiana hotel features friendly accommodations, along with choice amenities. Guests can enjoy the convenience of complimentary high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and a convenience store. Other amenities include a heated indoor pool, a 24-hour Fitness Center and a Business Center. Book your Lake Charles hotel reservations now and enjoy excellent Holiday Inn rooms and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing