We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel with very friendly staff :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
The Woodlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel with very friendly staff :-)”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were in town for a Mardi Gras Ball and really enjoyed how quiet our room was.
It was very easy to get a good nights sleep after a night out with friends as there was not much if any room noise.The beds were very comfortable too.
Another thing I would like to mention is how friendly the front desk agents were. They were very helpful with all of our questions and always had a warm welcoming smile on their faces.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artkayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    10
    7
    14
See reviews for
28
18
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We really enjoyed our GNO at this hotel ,clean ...stay was helpful...room was above average ...Breakfast served as well

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinlife68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrforeman, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Lake Charles W-Sulphur. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Lake Charles/Sulphur Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Level Contributor
376 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Hotel is fairly new and the rooms are in good order, clean and comfortable. The problem with the Hotel is that they are no different than a Holiday Inn Express. During a three night stay, they had only one waitress and one cook during breakfast and dinner. At night there is only one staff member at the Hotel, the front desk clerk. If you need anything you must fetch it yourself. The bar closes at 10pm and it was staffed by the same waitress that served dinner and breakfast. i spoke to the cook several times and he was on duty solo every time. This caused extended wait time if more than two or three tables were occupied at any given time.

The Hotel has potential but the owners/management have to invest in enough personnel to provide the normal service and provide better raw materials/ingredients in order for the food to be of acceptable quality. The staff in the restaurant and bar was quite friendly and tried hard, but they just did not have anything to work with.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrforeman, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Here at the Holiday Inn Lake Charles W- Sulphur, we strive to give our guests an experience that exceeds their expectations. The staff works very hard to provide excellence in service and product. In this instance we fell short of our goal and we apologize for any inconvience that you experienced during your stay with us. I can assure you that what you experienced is not normal service at this hotel. We hope that you will give us another shot when you are back in the area. We appciate your feedback and will use it to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This appears to be a newer Holiday Inn. The room was very clean, and smelled really fresh. Tons of TV channels, and they provide you with a handy channel listing so you can flip right to the channel you want. There is no included "free breakfast", which I usually expect from Holiday Inn, but there is a restaurant downstairs that has great food. Or, you can order room service. The gym is very small - 2 treadmills, 1 elliptical, 1 bike. I would highly suggest that management add a rack of free weights! There is also an indoor pool, opens at 9am. The staff was really friendly, and always greeted me when I came into the door. Overall, I have no complaints!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvey, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed there while traveling to New Mexico ,close to casino..........loved the staff extra nice !! Great night person who checked us in!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saints70059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I stopped at this hotel while we made a trip to gamble in Lake Charles. We arrived late at night around 10pm, just after the hot tub room closed. We were tired from a four hour drive and wanted to relax with our bottle of wine in the hot tub. The front desk guy allowed us one hour in the room even though it was closed. This made my day!

The breakfast was good, but I stayed away from the "hot" items such as the eggs, biscuits and gravy because those are never great at places like this. I ate the bagels and yogurt and one morning had cereal. All were fine, enough to fuel the start of my day.

The staff was very friendly and helpful as far as giving directions and suggestions for places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merryville, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel. The service was excellent. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was a new hotel and very clean. The food was also great in the restaurant, and children eat free. I would recommend this hotel to everyone that will be staying in the Sulphur/Lake Charles area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrose240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulphur hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sulphur
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Lake Charles Sulphur
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sulphur-Lake Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Sulphur
Comfort Suites Sulphur
#6 of 21 in Sulphur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sulphur / Lake Charles Area
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur
Address: 330 Arena Rd, Sulphur, LA 70665-7462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Sulphur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Sulphur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Lake Charles - West Sulphur Our Sulphur, Louisiana hotel is located off I-10 with convenient access to many nearby attractions and businesses. Just a few miles from Lake Charles, our hotel is 10 miles from Lake Charles Regional Airport (LCH). Visitors to our Sulphur hotel can enjoy a wide variety of southern Louisiana attractions. Within seven miles of our hotel, guests will find lovely Lake Charles Beach and downtown Lake Charles. Leisure travelers can experience the Louisiana outdoors by visiting the Sabine Refuge or the Creole Nature Trail, both within 20 minutes of our hotel. There are also several casinos within a five minute drive of our hotel in Sulphur. Business travelers can travel easily to and from their meetings, with our Lake Charles hotel's convenient location. Business offices within 10 miles of our hotel include Citgo, Conoco, Northrop Grumman, PPG Industries, the Lake Charles Civic Center, McNeese State University and the Port of Lake Charles. Our Lake Charles, Louisiana hotel features friendly accommodations, along with choice amenities. Guests can enjoy the convenience of complimentary high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and a convenience store. Other amenities include a heated indoor pool, a 24-hour Fitness Center and a Business Center. Book your Lake Charles hotel reservations now and enjoy excellent Holiday Inn rooms and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles W-Sulphur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing