We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing.”
Beggars Barn Arial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beggars Barn Arial View
New outdoor living area with uber sized sofas, dining area, arctic cabin Beggars Barn Pool and Summer House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Beggars Barn Arial View
New outdoor living area with uber sized sofas, dining area, arctic cabin
Beggars Barn Pool and Summer House
Out door living area with uber sized sofas and Hobbit House (Arctic cabin) in background
18 meter long heated Swimming Pool
Kitchen; 2 ovens, gas and electric hob, heated drawer, microwave, butler & main sink, dishwasher etc
Kitchen
Kitchen
Drawing Room
Drawing Room through to Dining room
Dining Room and piano
Dining Room - table seat 16
Downstairs cloakroom
Entrance Hall
Master bedroom suite with open plan bathroom & balcony overlooking grounds and pool.
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 En-suite
Bedroom 1 En-suite
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Landing
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3 Dressing Room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Summer House
Summer House
Summer House Bedroom 1
Summer House Bedroom 2
Gym
Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
11 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Shutford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kav v
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Beggars Barn for my sisters hen do and it was absolutely ideal! The team at Stays to Remember were very helpful from day one and provided lots of additional information to make our stay as memorable as possible. As soon as we were passed Camilla's details, she was just as helpful and was there to greet us and go through all the amenities within the house when we arrived.
The house itself cannot be done justice through photographs. It is absolutely amazing! There is everything you could ever want and more within the house and with the hot tub, pool games room, trampoline and outdoor space it made for a crazy but fun hen do for a bride to be who loves the outdoors!
Within 5 minutes of being in the house we were already trying to find another reason to go back, and as soon as that occasion arises we will be back! Thank you again to the Stays to Remember Team as well as Camilla and Johnny for helping me give my sister and the other girls, an unforgettable experience!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana J
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect weekend”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beggars barn is absolutely stunning, beautifully decorated to a very high standard.
It has first class facilities to ensure your stay is one to remember! There is plenty of space and the large kitchen with patio doors out to the garden makes this house a great place to entertain large groups.
Camilla was the perfect host & made us feel very welcome.
Thank you for a truely memoriable stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntoTheWo...
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place, lovely owners”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Booked this for a stag do (slightly sophisticated one) for a weekend in June. The house is beautiful, really tastefully done. The pool is nice and warm, the games and cinema rooms are a great option. You could spend days in this place and have plenty to do without leaving! Plenty of facilities and beautiful grounds, rooms, surroundings.

Camilla and Johnny (owners) are lovely, very friendly and accommodating. Also fair with the security deposit; which can be a worrying element of booking somewhere like this.

It is quite expensive, on the face of it, with various charges added for certain things (which you might not expect given the base cost is quite high); but I'm not mentioning this as a negative, just an observation - they are clearly stated, not hidden. It still definitely gets 5 stars, as once you get there, the price makes sense. The owners clearly really care for the place and simply want their guests to care for it too, which is understandable.

I'd definitely go back for a weekend, maybe with a bunch of friends or family.

Definitely recommend for pretty much any group weekend plan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah_I_1...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed in Beggars Barn with 11 friends for a weekend away. Couldn't have asked for more! Camilla (the owner) was incredibly welcoming and helpful with suggesting things to do around the area. The house is stunning and has everything you'll ever need for a week/weekend away. Highly recommended! I hope to make it back in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen is great
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakers46
Hornchurch, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend for my Husband's 50th!”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the house for the weekend with friends for my Husband's 50th Birthday celebrations and we couldn't have asked for a better choice.

The house is absolutely beautiful and everything is of very good quality, the kitchen utensils were the best I have ever seen provided for in a house before.

The downstairs is definitely a party house with the layout of the kitchen leading into dining room and then smaller relaxing area and the views out to the pool and the garden.

We also got caterers Croxfords for the Saturday night and cannot recommend them enough too, food was amazing!

The majority of the bedrooms are a good size, the smallest being the one near the dining room but we didn't need to use that.

The 2 suites they have are absolutely huge and they have thought of everything.

Also the house is only half an hour drive from Bicester shopping centre, so good for people who like shopping! :-)

We were lucky the pool was still heated and a couple of people even braved it outside in the cold.

The games room had recently been finished but we didn't get an opportunity to use it unfortunately.

Wifi is available if you are on a certain network (cant remember which unfortunately) and also not many phone suppliers were working to make calls out think only vodaphone and 02.

The owners were only a phone call away and were extremely helpful whenever we needed them. Only a couple of negatives, the surround sound music system didn't work during our stay which was a shame and also would say the security deposit is extremely high for the house compared to other houses we have stayed in of a similar quality, but when you see the quality of everything there then I guess that is why.

Looking forward to return again in the future though as we enjoyed ourselves so much!

Thank you and keep up the good work :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome house and a lovely stay”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were greeted by the lovely house owner who showed us around her beautiful home. The house was amazing and perfect for the twelve of use celebrating a 40th birthday. The kitchen and snug area were great and allowed for a cool, flowing party, in fact we rarely had to leave this area all weekend. The pub in the village was great too and had an excellent menu. All in all we had a brilliant stay, might even think about it for a 41st birthday.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evie C
1 review
“Brilliant house for a special occasion.”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely brilliant house. It has everything you could want. I would highly recommend it as a place to stay with friends. It made ny friends hen do feel really special. The surrounding countryside is beautiful too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing