We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carter Plantation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villas at Carter Plantation
Ranked #1 of 1 Springfield B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Carter Plantation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great Experience. Clean comfortable rooms and beautiful landscape.Restaurant was not available, but we were able to arrange catering for our meeting. Nice place for a company retreat and Pontchatula and Hammond are quuaint towns nearby that offer other options.

Room Tip: All suite are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JuJu4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avitus, Manager at The Villas at Carter Plantation, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your response. I apologize that the restaurant was not available during your stay. I invite you back to stay anytime towards the weekend since dinner is served from Wednesday-Saturday (5pm-9pm) with lunch served daily (11am-4pm).

You are correct about Hammond and Ponchatoula offering other options. Both locations are a quick 10-15 minute drive down the road! Hammond has Southeastern Louisiana University and Ponchatoula is well-known for the Antique stores!

We invite you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
12
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Attending a family reunion in Springfield is a challange in finding a hotel. I ran across the Carter Plantation on line and booked a room for 3 nights. The Carter Plantation is a great property with a golf course, meeting facilities and a pool. The best part was the room we booked. We were upgraded to a suite. Large bedroom with king sized bed, dining area, kitchenette, dressing room and large bathroom. Can't say enough about how nice this property is. If you are going to be in the area be sure to book here. Would be a great place for a golf trip with a group. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We will plan to stay there at the next family reunion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank highlanders6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avitus, Manager at The Villas at Carter Plantation, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your response! The Villas always enjoy providing accommodations for family reunions especially because our home is your home! We know who hectic reunions can be, but we always try out best to accommodate everyone to have a relaxing time.

We welcome you back for a Stay & Play golf experience or even a simple getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice, home away from home. Clean, comfortable and staff very very helpful. Would stay again. Only drawback is the club restaurant is not open late week nights, so we went to Ponchatoula for dinner.
Rooms are very close, walking distance to club house for golf, or the reception center.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedsdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avitus, Owner at The Villas at Carter Plantation, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your response. I apologize that the hours to the restaurant are limited, but would love to have you return for a weekend getaway since dinner is served Wednesday-Saturday (5pm-9pm) with lunch is served daily (11am-4pm).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I would have never thought we would have found this gem in such a small town. Room was very clean and tons of room. The grounds were very clean. The staff was very helpful and called once we checked in to make sure that everything was up to par. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SoniaBowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avitus, Manager at The Villas at Carter Plantation, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you Ms. Sonia for your response! The Villas staff strive to be on par with each person's stay! When we're not, please let us know, so we can bogey to a perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Beautiful place to stay if u want a great hide away. But it rained the whole time I was there. I was flooded in and when I did get out some nights I couldnt back in cause it was flooded again. No cell phone signal, no phone in the room, no internet, it was just horrible. Would I recommend this stay yes only if you want a hide away would I stay here again myself heck no.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarAmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avitus, Front Office Manager at The Villas at Carter Plantation, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your review after staying at the Villas. I apologize you did not have a pleasant stay. There are times when it does rain and being in this area(near the bayous), flooding occasionally occurs, and if it was torrential rain, it does take a while for the water to exit the area. I have lived on property for a year now and the only instance I saw major flooding was during Hurricane Issac.
Cell phone reception is difficult if you do not have AT&T or Verizon and as for the internet, we utilize Charter Communications and they are trying to improve their service daily in the region.

Yes, this area is secluded, but if you are looking for a quiet getaway from city life to play golf, bird watch, sit by the pool, this is the place for you! Nearby Springfield, there is Tickfaw State Park where there are many outdoor activities you can enjoy or if you want to experience more restaurants and shopping, Hammond is a 15-20 minute drive.

I do invite you back to experience a quiet getaway with great food and a chance to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Although it rained the day we arrived, we were able to play golf for two days on an excellent golf course. The ladies were able to do some antique shopping. The food in the club house was very good and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avitus, Manager at The Villas at Carter Plantation, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your response! The Villas invite everyone back whether to play golf or to simply antique shop! We would be honored to see everyone again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hot water for the shower didn't work great but the room was nice, very quiet and the gift basket they left was exceptional (catered to gluten free allergy). Unfortunately, the weather was awful and very cold but the front desk/office staff were very helpful and super polite. They went out of their way to ensure our late arrival was flawless. A+ overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avitus, Manager at The Villas at Carter Plantation, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
The Villas apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay last year. I apologize for the late response, but know that on behalf of the Villas, I invite you to visit us again. This time it should be a flawless stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ponchatoula/Hammond
8.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hammond
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hammond
Holiday Inn Hammond
#5 of 17 in Hammond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Hammond
Comfort Inn Hammond
#3 of 17 in Hammond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hammond
Hampton Inn Hammond
#1 of 17 in Hammond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
8.2 mi away
Days Inn Hammond
Days Inn Hammond
#7 of 17 in Hammond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Carter Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Carter Plantation

Property: The Villas at Carter Plantation
Address: 23400 Blackberry Walk, Villa 3, Springfield, LA 70462-8706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villas at Carter Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Southern Louisiana about an hour from both New Orleans and Baton Rouge, only 15 mins from Hammond, the home of Southeastern Louisiana State University, the Villas at Carter Plantation is your get away from the rigors of everyday life. Our world class golf resort has all of the modern amenities and services of the elite hotels and at the same time is an escape to the a relaxed air of a more genteel era of gracious Southern living. This historical plantation dates to a Spanish land grant in 1804. While no longer the working plantation of Cyprus, Pine and Citrus, today's golf resort incorporates the forests, wetlands and indigenous plants and grasses which has earned Carter Plantation a membership in the elite group of golf courses listed on the Louisiana Audubon Golf Trail, part of the Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary for Golf Courses program. Once you visit the Villas at Carter Plantation and experience our Luxury Villas, Mouth Watering Southern Cuisine, Great Golf and Beautiful Habitat, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villas at Carter Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing