We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude State Employees!!”
Review of Tickfaw State Park

Tickfaw State Park
Attraction details
Mempis, Tn
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude State Employees!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The park is beautiful. The people that run it are obnoxious and rude. They completely ruined my camping experience! The girl at the front gate was extremely impolite! They didn't seem to care about the visitors at all! You ask a question, she rolls her eyes and gives you a answer like it's a real bother!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tickfaw State Park”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Tickfaw State Park is located about 20 Minutes from Hammond, LA. It is a smaller state park site wise, with one loop for improved sites and another loop for unimproved camping. Between these two loops is the shower area. One thing that I did like was the design of the park, no two way traffic, so it is easy to ride bikes. The park has paved roads and is small enough to ride your bikes to all of the areas. I believe this park was built around 1998. The improved sites have adequate space between them and the unimproved sited are well maintained with a tent pad and plenty of privacy. The park has a nice canoe trail, you can rent canoes for 20 a day and the trip is a fun one, I recommend it. The manager at the park was really nice and accommodating.
The reason this park isn't rated higher is because of the shower area... not the cleanest. I was expecting nicer as the park is not that old.
Other than that, was a nice time had by all, and I will visit this park again in the future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cajun_Travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arthur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of louisianas better state parks”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The cabins here were very nice. Made a racoon friend wich the kids thought was great. Great places for the kids to play. Took a canoe out for a different veiw of the park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KELLI c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carencro, La
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved the interconnected roads to ride bikes. They have a picnic area and volleyball court next to the pond w/ lots of area for football and frisbee. Water playgrd too. Clean.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carencromom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Tickfaw State Park, LA Campground rating”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tickfaw State Park 27225 Patterson Rd, Springfield, LA 70462

For clarification, I am only rating the campground as it relates to RV and Trailer camping. No consideration is given for other aspects of a campground/park, such as swimming pools, clubhouses, or activities such as fishing or canoeing. Also, many campgrounds may have RV/TT sites that vary in quality. My assessment is base on what I perceive as the best they have to offer.

I use a two part rating system. The first is based on the basic elements that most campgrounds provide. The value for each of the items is fixed. This puts all campground on the same level based on what they provide. The final rating is the basic number plus a factor of my assessment of campground maintenance, cleanliness and overall aesthetics. Occasionally, I will throw in a note to explain my evaluation. Most any campground can earn at least a basic 5.0 rating. For me an acceptable campground for a multiple night stay will have to have a final rating of 7.0 or above. Very few campgrounds will go over a 9.0 with 10 being the max.

On Trip advisor a 6.5 to 7.0 is equivalent to 3 circles, four circles will be 7.5 to 8.0 and 5 circles are above will be 8.5 and above.

Tickfaw State Park Campground
Basic evaluation: RV/Trailer Campsite review, (30) sites, Surface: Paved (good width with decent back-in ease), Electricity Hookup: all have 30 and 50 amp connection, Water Hookup: Yes, Sewer Hookup: No, Dump station: Yes, Grills/Fire Ring: Yes, Picnic Table: Yes, Comfort Station: Yes. Value = 6.0

Secondary rating. Based on the good maintenance of the sites, good separation between sites, cleanliness of the comfort station, Laundry, campground wi-fi, and the overall value and appeal of park I added 2 points to the rating for an overall rating of 8.0

This is a nice state park. I particularly like the paved RV/trailer pads. We stayed here 5/2013 for one night (30 Ft. travel trailer). If you like the activities they offer, canoeing, etc you might rate it higher

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ArkTraveler72113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tickfaw State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tickfaw State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing