We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice for a Generic Motel”
Review of Days Inn Slidell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Slidell
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Slidell
Tallahassee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Nice for a Generic Motel”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Even though this motel has gotten some bad reviews, I decided to stay here anyway. I was very pleasantly surprised. The front desk clerk was very friendly and pleasant. She had some trouble with my reservation (I was using rewards points), but was apologetic and super nice. She told me that I was the only reservation for the night, and that she had given me one of their nicer rooms. So maybe all the rooms aren't as nice as the one I got (Room 220); I have no way of knowing.

My bathroom was spotlessly clean, and appeared to have been recently updated. My room was a generic motel room, but I have nothing negative to say about it. The television was great: not only was it a large, modern flat-screen tv, but it got about 70 channels and had an excellent picture and sound. The tv was in a very modern looking console that included a microware and a refrigerator. The next night I stayed in a room in downtown New Orleans with a normal price of over $300/night (I got a deal on Priceline), and its television didn't have as good a picture or even half as many channels.

There was the normal continental breakfast in the morning, but all I got was orange juice. The morning clerk was nice and asked if everything was fine with me room, and I said it was.

I would definitely stay at this motel again (but maybe I'd ask for Room 220!).

Room Tip: Ask for room 220?????
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    29
    24
    61
See reviews for
59
39
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here to evacuate from hurricane Issac. While waiting for the roads to clear so we could return home we would check with the front desk daily as they would assure us we would be able to stay as long as we need to. Suddenly while we still could not return home, we were told we had to leave immediately. Some tree trimming contractors booked the whole hotel. We were paying for every night we stayed. But got kicked out to the street.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladensburg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had read previous reviews of this property on tripadvisor about the check-in experience and we can echo these comments: the desk clerk was hyper, bordering on rude. We also took the advice of some reviewers and asked for a coffee pot upon checking in and asking for extra coffee seemed criminal to this same desk clerk. The room itself was clean but small. Breakfast consisted of various breads, fruit and juice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillervilleMayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel seems to be in the proccess of renovation. (Rolls flooring in lobby) The lobby and our room had new flooring and furniture and were very clean. The clerk told us the owner would not let them accept TravelCoupons from the red booklet on Saturdays,but she did
honor AAA discount. No coffee maker in room but you could borrow one from the front desk and return it. Continental breakfast was supposed to start at 6aam. but we had to wait until 7 am before it was ready. The cereal, fruit, and pasteries were all fresh.the hotel is conviently located near Rt.10 and is in an unattractive mall that has restaurants in walking distance. A newly renovated in right next door. They might actually accept their published coupon. This Days Inn seems to be confused about the hospitality part of the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is place is terrible to stay. We were there in our last trip and we just sleep over night. The carpet was wet, and room condition was poor. It was a bargain place to stay near New Orleans. There are plenty of other hotels around in Slidell, this place offered best price, so we stayed there but it was not a good place to stay. The front desk representative was very nice and helpful.

Looking for cheap overnight stay, no matter what? Yes this place would work, else I really don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhaboghure_jhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elbow Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2011

When you book at Wyndam Rewards, you expect some degree of consistent quality. This hotel was terrible! The amenities that were listed on their website had been taken out of the room, so that they wouldn't be stolen. The internet connection was secured, so you couldn't log on. The bed was horrible! Like sleeping on a board! The bathroom had mold! Carpets were dirty, borders coming off the walls...and to top it all off...ROACHES CRAWLING EVERYWHERE! Needless to say we didn't stay!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $20.00 and find a nice room from another chain! This is not Days Inn Quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSlidell, Manager at Days Inn Slidell, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Sorry to see your online review but it is not supprise to hotel since you threat to front desk staff to put bad review online anyway. We tried to give all kind of offers possible to make you happy and stay. As we see it is not fair for hotel let you stay about two hours and decided to stay with your family member nearby and still want hotel give you 100% refund. Since nowdays nobody can control online review whether it is true or not all based on what you want to say, we feel like it is neccessay for hotel to response.Do you know any hotels have roaches everywhere are still in business?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Let's just start off... The room was clean. Loved that in room 120 we had tile floors rather than carpet. Seemed much cleaner to me. There was an alright breakfast with very little selection. NO alarm clock, NO coffee maker and NO ironing board and iron. The last two are advertised online too!!! I came to Slidell for a wedding, well Saturday they come "clean" and take all our towels,wash cloths etc... @2:00 they have not replaced our towels yet. So we go ask what is going on and am told "they will be here by 3:00. She's washing them. I have new housekeeper mine is on maternity leave" so we go shopping come back at 4:00 and still NO towels. My brother in law who was staying in 118 had to hunt the cleaning lady down. For 2 rooms which consisted of 7 people she gave us : 4 towels, 4 wash cloths and 2 hand towels. No bath mat! So.. We go back to the front to ask for more towels and the cleaning lady shows up. Only 2 towels in her hamper. Front desk clerk hands them to us and they are Damp! She keeps telling my sister and I how they are clean just smell them. But that's not the point they are WET and we are still missing a towel. I was very disappointed all in all and would not recommend this motel! My sisters door didn't even have a chain lock on it which made her feel unsafe... Save your $$$ go somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccabear2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Slidell hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn New Orleans Slidell
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Slidell-New Orleans East
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Slidell Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Slidell/New Orleans East Area
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Slidell
Super 8 Slidell
#15 of 22 in Slidell
189 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slidell Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Slidell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Slidell

Property: Days Inn Slidell
Address: 58512 Tyler St, Slidell, LA 70461-2140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Slidell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Slidell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Slidell 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes to New Orleans, the Slidell Days Inn is close to the White Kitchen Preserve, Stennis Space Center, Fountainbleau State Park, University of New Orleans, Camp Villere National Guard, golfing, shopping, tours, and much more. The hotel offers spacious rooms with free wireless internet and continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Slidell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Slidell
Slidell Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing