We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People are super nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Slidell
Certificate of Excellence
Loogootee, Indiana, United States
1 review
“People are super nice”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Hotel was a hotel like you'd expect pretty much any other hotel. Water pressure was really good, water had a good temperature range. downstairs hallway has the same picture every couple feet which was kind of odd but okay. The service was all super friendly, a guy named Joel in particular who came up to figure out our TV was really helpful and gave us good recommendations on places to eat. Would recommend if you like friendly people.

Room Tip: if you're coming out of the elevator on the second floor and going to the right i'd recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Kylie L,

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review! I will pass your kind words along to the entire staff, as well as Joel, as I am sure this will make their day. Again, thank you and I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    55
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
76
28
6
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thiodaux
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here with our son's ball team and was very impressed from the time we walked through the door. We were greeted with a friendly smile from the front desk attendant. When we got to our room it was very nice and extremely clean. The thing that stood out for us was Sunday morning when we went for breakfast after our server, Ann asked us "what we would like to drink" the kids wanted chocolate milk and she said no that didn't have any.....when she saw that the boys were disappointed with this so she showed them how to make chocolate milk using the hot cocoa mix and they loved it. She made us feel very welcomed, part of the family and like we were at home. As time went by she asked us how was our room and we told her that it was no big deal but our air conditioner didn't work well and she asked if we had notified the anyone and we said "no" she immediately stopped what she was doing and went and got a supervisor. The housekeeping supervisor explained to us what to do when we went back to the room and told us if this didn't work to let the front desk know. Just wanted to thank the staff there for going the extra mile....with all the hotels out there it is people like Ann that makes you stand above the rest. Thank You

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Room was pretty small and the bathroom was extremely small for a room with four guests. Decor looked nice and beds were pretty comfortable. No view of anything on either side of the hotel. Free wifi was necessary for the price and breakfast was good. Nothing special about this hotel, there are better options out there. One thing to note is that all staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanLaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear RyanLag,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found the beds comfortable and appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. I am disappointed to hear you were not fully satisfied with your room accommodations. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our stay was wonderful and our server was very caring and very helpful on things to do in the area. Ann took the time to write down things to visit and different foods to try. I was shocked when I asked her how long she had been working here and she said it was her 1st day. We have traveled to many cities and states throughout the US and she is on the top 5 of the nicest and caring people. So whoever hired this one did a great job.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed there for a week and I was very very impressed by the service they have. All of the staff were amazing, smiley faces, pleasant, helpful. The rooms were very clean. Not a single employee was less than fantastic. I highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estifanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
WOW!!! Thank you so much for all of your kind words! Our entire staff strives very hard to provide the ultimate guest experience and to hear nothing but good things from you is very humbling and much appreciated. I will pass your comments along to the rest of the staff as I know this will certainly make their day. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay and hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Ashley Barard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

First off, booking was a problem. There was a block of rooms at a special price. I called the generic booking number, they told me the block was full, but that could offer me a room at a 25% higher price. This was a lie. When I called the hotel directly, I got the agreed on price. When I called generic line back to complain, they did not apologize, said that it was not a lie and that it was due to their 'systems', This is price gouging by the Holiday Inn chain. Be aware of this scam.

The hotel is OK, but not great. The room is clean, but the bathroom is very small. Also, the carpet is worn, stained in a few places and has cigarette burns in it. The desk is too high and the chair is too low. The chair also has a broken wheel on it. Oddly enough, the sink is also too high (I am normal height). The shower control was also broken, so it would only stay on in two positions. Thus, there seem to be some care and maintenance issues,

The service is also kind of annoying. They offer a free breakfast, but only until 9.30 am. If you have had a long drive and need to sleep in, this is a pain. Room service is also not an option after 9.30 am. We were organizing ourselves when the maid called. We needed a bit more time and told her as much. We asked her to come back later. However, when we came back after lunch, the room had not been touched. Fortunately, when we were talking to the maid, we got some real coffee. When we arrived the night before, all they had left us was a double dose of decaf, which really did not cut it.

Overall, I am pretty under whelmed. I am sure that one could get better for less, elsewhere. With the booking scam thing going on. I will not be trying Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Go else where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank istvanberkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear istvanberkeley,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I sincerely apologize apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the room conditions. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. The issues you have raised will be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have a suite with a minifridge, sink, microwave and coffee maker, and so can manage basic housekeeping. The place does a free breakfast, but they are often to always out of some things. For instance, I have been here four days, and they have been out of yogurt the whole time, and whole wheat bread. The breakfast does take kind of a long time as it is cooked to order and a waitress takes your order, so you have to allow enough time before going anywhere. They have coffee in the lobby, and tea bags and cocoa mix, but no hot water. I have been taking the tea bags to my room and making hot water in the coffee maker.

The suite is nice, but remember that this is a moderate range hotel, so it is not exceptional, but clean and everything works. The bed is comfortable, the housekeeper shows up every day and cleans, there are two tvs, one in the bedroom, one in the sitting area, the internet access is reliable, free and strong enough to stream. The cups and glasses are styrofoam and plastic, the utensils are plastic and the provided bowls and plates are styrofoam. I don't hear the neighbors. I don't run out of hot water. The climate control works. The pool is heated and indoors. The elevator is reliable and fast. I am happy enough here.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance, a McDonalds nearly next door, a Subway in a gas station, and a Wendy's about two blocks away. The restaurant does not serve lunch. This hotel is adjacent to a shopping center, but it appears to be mostly untenanted and shut down, certainly having little retail in it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margray_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Slidell hotels
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Slidell-New Orleans East
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slidell Northwest
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Slidell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Slidell Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Slidell
Hampton Inn Slidell
#6 of 22 in Slidell
350 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Slidell/New Orleans East Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites
Address: 372 Voters Rd, Slidell, LA 70461-3521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Slidell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Slidell
#2 Family Hotel in Slidell
#6 Romantic Hotel in Slidell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stellar line up of attractions can be found just a short drive away from the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Slidell. Everything from the Stennis Space Center to the French Quarter in downtown New Orleans and the Louisiana Superdome. Great shopping is exceptionally close as is phenomenally fine dining such as Young's Steakhouse, Osaka Japanese Restaurant and our very own bistro style Cafe 372. Make the best of your visit by taking advantage of several terrific travel specials and packages. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Slidell offers 91 newly renovated and spacious guests rooms with luxury duvet beddings featuring wireless high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool & spa, microfridge, room service, banquet and meeting rooms, free business center, guest laundry and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Slidell
Holiday Inn Slidell
Slidell Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing