We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bonnie C's

Bonnie C's
Ranked #14 of 220 Restaurants in Slidell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone 985 288 5061
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate here today on the way back to TX from FL. Our party had the oyster po boy, catfish po boy, fried shrimp, and chicken nuggets, along with sides of cornbread dressing and red beans. ALL of the food was delicious, but the dressing got the highest marks. The owner was super friendly and shared it takes two days to make the stock for the dressing. Would love to go back next time we are in area. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRH1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonniecscafe, General Manager at Bonnie C's, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I see you were passing through and decided to join us at our family owned and ran restaurant. We strive to satisfy all of our guests and we are glad we do so with you and your family. Next time you are in town please stop in! Thank you for your business and for rating us on this site!
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    36
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were in the area and looked up restaurants on here , bonnie c's had good reviews so we thought we would give it a go , so pleased we did , the menu is great with lots of home style choices the roast open faced beef in gravy was delicious hubby had the special beer battered catfish and my daughter wanted just the meat from one of their po boys with mash potatoes and gravy and they didn't mind changing it for her in the slightest , we had onion rings to start and they had to be some of the best we have had . the staff were friendly and efficient , the manager came over to say hi and thanked us for popping in and gave both my girls a complimentary chocolate pie each ,if that wasn't enough he then came back with two bowls of there speciality Louisiana rice dies that he had just made a fresh batch of for us to try ( sorry cant remember what it was called ) bit too spicy for us , we left with full tummies and take out boxes as the pie was massive without trip advisor places like this could go missed . Would we go back ? ...........hell yeh

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry N Michell... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonniecscafe, General Manager at Bonnie C's, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are glad you were able to find us on tripadvisor. Yes we have great reviews and its only because of guests like yourself. We hope come in again. We love all of our guests. As you could tell me are a very small family owned and ran restaurant so we try to take care of our guests like they are family. I hope we were able to make you feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My tripadvisor Family Comes Through Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Spending the night on the road near Slidell, we decided to check tripadvisor for dinner recommendations. Bonnie C's was selected and once again we were impressed. Service was prompt and friendly and the selection was extensive. I had the nightly special of White Beans with Meat over rice, which also came with a pork chop and smoked sausage. Mt spouse had the Crawfish Pie. Both were definitely in the outstanding category. Pretty much everything on the menu is homemade and plentiful. Wish that we could have tried one of the homemade deserts, but the dinner portions were so large that we did not make it that far. Although this is definitely a locals' hangout, we were made to feel like one of the family. definitely will stop again on our next trip through the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonniecscafe, General Manager at Bonnie C's, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I noticed you are from Florida and were passing through and from our family to yours we thank you for your business and for rating us. We are glad our staff was able to make you feel like a part of our family and that you enjoyed our good home cooking. Please stop by next time you are in town!
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service & Homemade Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The owner greeted us as we walked in on a Monday night. Funny, friendly & informative. Our party of four shared a crawfish pie appetizer...an absolute MUST! All of the food was homemade and delicious from liver & onions, fried shrimp, pork chops & a chicken breast with a seafood stuffing. The sides were just as good as the entrees. Greens, macaroni & cheese (that comes with a family recipe "gravy" to be poured on top of...sounds odd but do it & thank me later), mashed potatoes, the list goes on. Everything we ate was like what was served at our grandmother's house when we were kids. I would recommend this to anyone who was driving through the area & will definitely come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great People, Great Louisiana Home Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Bonnie C's after 9 hrs. on the road and 2 hrs. touring the swamp. Hot, tired, and looking for a good dinner to end a long day, Bonnie C's met the challenge. The atmosphere is "local diner" in every respect: very casual, local recipes, and a very neighborly attitude from the staff. For starters the crawfish pie is an absolute must. The stuffing has a healthy portion of tails, is perfectly seasoned so that you don't miss the flavor of the crawfish, and is smothered down with a delicious sauce with even more shellfish--this will easily cover a table of four. If you prefer a smaller appetizer, go for the fried green beans. Remarkably flavorful for such a simple dish! The po' boys and fried chicken hold their own with any of the iconic eateries across the lake, and as the menu says, the latter is "worth the wait". That covered our visit, but the menu truly has almost anything you could want: pork chops to etoufee, bisques to hamburgers, fried catfish to roast beef. To top it all off, the staff was attentive and as friendly as can be. We were too stuffed to try a dessert, unfortunately. We have visited New Orleans several times, and can't recommend enough that you take in what is available across Lake Pontchartrain. Take half a day, take a swamp tour with Cajun Encounters, and follow it up with Bonnie C's--bon temps in Slidell!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrOwl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bonnie C's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing