We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service & Homemade Delicious Food”
Review of Bonnie C's

Bonnie C's
Ranked #17 of 228 Restaurants in Slidell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Description: Phone 985 288 5061
Restaurant details
Description: Phone 985 288 5061
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service & Homemade Delicious Food”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The owner greeted us as we walked in on a Monday night. Funny, friendly & informative. Our party of four shared a crawfish pie appetizer...an absolute MUST! All of the food was homemade and delicious from liver & onions, fried shrimp, pork chops & a chicken breast with a seafood stuffing. The sides were just as good as the entrees. Greens, macaroni & cheese (that comes with a family recipe "gravy" to be poured on top of...sounds odd but do it & thank me later), mashed potatoes, the list goes on. Everything we ate was like what was served at our grandmother's house when we were kids. I would recommend this to anyone who was driving through the area & will definitely come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    36
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great People, Great Louisiana Home Cooking”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Bonnie C's after 9 hrs. on the road and 2 hrs. touring the swamp. Hot, tired, and looking for a good dinner to end a long day, Bonnie C's met the challenge. The atmosphere is "local diner" in every respect: very casual, local recipes, and a very neighborly attitude from the staff. For starters the crawfish pie is an absolute must. The stuffing has a healthy portion of tails, is perfectly seasoned so that you don't miss the flavor of the crawfish, and is smothered down with a delicious sauce with even more shellfish--this will easily cover a table of four. If you prefer a smaller appetizer, go for the fried green beans. Remarkably flavorful for such a simple dish! The po' boys and fried chicken hold their own with any of the iconic eateries across the lake, and as the menu says, the latter is "worth the wait". That covered our visit, but the menu truly has almost anything you could want: pork chops to etoufee, bisques to hamburgers, fried catfish to roast beef. To top it all off, the staff was attentive and as friendly as can be. We were too stuffed to try a dessert, unfortunately. We have visited New Orleans several times, and can't recommend enough that you take in what is available across Lake Pontchartrain. Take half a day, take a swamp tour with Cajun Encounters, and follow it up with Bonnie C's--bon temps in Slidell!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrOwl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, LA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Glad I gave it a 2nd chance!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our first experience in 2011 (review 'missed the mark') held us from returning until recently. We returned on a recent Friday and our last visit was vertically erased from memory. The staff were very attentive and the food was mouthwatering.
We both had their Friday special a wonderful crawfish etouffee topped with a very tender, cooked to perfection fried catfish. I could eat that every day of the year and never tire of it. Fabulous!
Since that, we have dined their many times only to be pleased with our choice and experience. It goes to show you that any place can have an off day and deserves a second chance. Glad we did!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyintheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

They have good bread, Leidenheimer, I'm pretty sure. Other than that I felt that the exterior and even the interior of the place should have been a warning, and the bar scene was a big turn off.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Honestcritic40435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home made Banana Pudding !”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This restaurant is great ! .... Don't let the Buildings exterior or the plain inside decor stop you from eating a wonderful meal !

opened and owned by the daughter of famed "Popeye's Fried Chicken" entrepreneur Al Copeland !

The food is great, authentic, and delicious !

The best banana pudding I have ever tasted !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkeye10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bonnie C's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing