We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant under the water tower.”
Review of LA Pines Cafe

LA Pines Cafe
Ranked #16 of 274 Restaurants in Slidell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

We have had breakfast here several times. The food is good and the cost is very acceptable. Usually don't have long to wait for a table. The staff is very nice.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 148 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

Atmosphere: like sardines in an old musty and greasy can
Not one comfortable chair or table to be had because they do not t exist here
Service : I would have gotten up and for my own coffee if it wasn’t a ride thing to do
We literally asked repeatedly for refills only to have the little old lady who brought our food to us walk on by again
And again
One of them brought me creamers when I asked for a coffee refill — they are hard of hearing as well as slow
I do not call anyone hear a server that would Indicate a level of service
I had place a simple order only to be told 30 minutes late that there were no grits
Which. He’s the question of how tables after me - behind and to the end of room we’re we’re in received them
Ok not a big deal
Bottom less coffe ? No ——we saw the bottom plenty of times —quality of said coffee? Weak and bland — how is that even possible I would not hazard a guess but it is clear that many many corners are being cut in this dump
The food was mediocre at its best
My order came with cold eggs and cheese smothered hash browns
I asked for cheddar on them , but I don’t expect to have some hash brown with my cheese
I asked if the corned beef hash was home made
It clearly was a hormel type canned product
The biscuit I ordered had half or it that tasted like it had gone bad
I did not finish my food
My husband enjoyed his omelette
My son enjoyed his hash
He also noticed that my food was cold
We ordered a muffalata to go
45 minutes later it was being packed up
This was beyond any common sense
The bath facilities: I was so disgusted in the one potty room that was supposed to service all these people
When I went in there was paper all over the floor and sear was wet
I papered up my hands and picked up the nasty floor
I wiped and papered the seat
And left the bath cleaner than when I came in
This entire experience was not just disappointing
It was disgusting
50$ for this experience ......
I want a refund !
I am concerned about the level of germs that were easily spread in such right quarters also
We had a sick and crying baby on a large table 3 feet away (at best)
And a coughing man right up against our backs at our table
If I get sick from either bad good or nasty bathroom or sick customers
It would be no surprise
My advice :IGNORE THE FOOD TV NETWORK SIGN —-Drive on by for anything or anyone better —-
RUN FOREST RUN—-

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 311pamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018 via mobile

My father-in-law took all of the family here each year for breakfast on the last day of our visit. Good food and good memories.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank CyndiG42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

We were surprised to see the cafe we picked had been on diners and dives. Started out for breakfast but changed our minds and waited to order lunch. Not a good choice. Place was busy and noisy.I ordered smoked prime rib poor boy recommended by Guy. It was soggy and over half the meat was too tough to eat. My husband had roast beef poor boy and his meat was very good. The bread pudding was good. Service was excellent. Overall not a place I will recommend or return too except for breakfast

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Linda12travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Went there for breakfast and it is a busy place. Good service and good prices. No ambiance as it is a greasy spoon but I do highly recommend it

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ffcady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Pines Cafe also viewed

 

Been to LA Pines Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing