We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast”
Review of LA Pines Cafe

LA Pines Cafe
Ranked #37 of 224 Restaurants in Slidell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
New Orleans
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Best breakfast in town!! Love coming to the "Pines" seeing old friends!! When out of town guest come they enjoy coming here. Was featured on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives...wait staff very friendly....good food. They smoke their own beef. Good choice for breakfast and lunch. They serve dinner on Thursday and Friday nights.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southcity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    16
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antigua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A local cafe that lived up to fantastic reviews”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My aunt had seen Guy Fieri's review and wanted to try this cafe for late lunch. We three arrived at 1:35 before their 2 pm closing (which can get frowns but did not). It's located literally under the water tower so easy to locate. Menu is extensive for a cafe that serves breakfast into lunch, then dinner menu later. Two had the prime rib po'boy dripping in au jus and waitress said to "flip it" to eat easier. They loved it, but one half was just too wet to enjoy. Ordering sauce on side would be better choice if you don't like it dripping everywhere. Other one was OK. My liver & onions was perfect. Two thin, tender slices fried just right, no gravy but covered with onions. I ordered extra onions and didn't really need to. We had corn pudding, which was different, with a bit smoky taste and had pieces of bacon - delicious! Oh, shared onion rings to start - very different wide pieces of onion, sweet and very thinly coated. For sure homemade and very good - don't miss! We plan to go back for brunch on Sunday. Also, they seem to have many "specials" days, all sounded worth the trip. Don't expect atmosphere, but do expect good food! Not your usual greasy spoon. Check their website.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Usually-positive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Guy was right”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I visited this restaurant based on viewing an episode of Guy Fieri's Diners, Drive Ins and Dives. I ordered the prime rib po'boy and corn pudding. The po'boy was as good as Guy said it was and the corn pudding was to die for. LA Pines is a dive in terms of appearance, but don't let that fool you - the quality of the food makes up for any shortcomings in décor,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breakfast - mediocre at best”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Honestly, I really don't see the hype...at least not with their breakfast foods.

I stopped by here on a Sunday (only breakfast is served) and the place itself had a good crowd for a Sunday afternoon. Service wasn't bad...a bit slow but friendly. I ordered some homefries and a banana waffle. I suppose I expected a waffle with bananas or at least banana flavoring baked into it, but what I got was a regular, Plain Jane waffle with some banana slices on top. The homefries also lacked that wow factor. They were very ordinary, hardly seasoned, and onions were watery. At least the restroom was clean.

Maybe the lunch at La Pines is good, but you're better off going to Waffle House/IHOP for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FuzzBall25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Little piece of perfect!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

It's a dive...exactly what you would expect it to like like! My family and I stopped at LA Pines on our way back from Florida. Thank goodness for the app for shows that have been on Food TV. After a recommendation from Guy Fieri...we had the best bread pudding of our lives! It would make Paula Deen cry it was so delicious! But please make sure to eat something else while you are there like the Smoked Ribeye sandwich or the Cuban! The employees were welcoming and attentive which only added to the awesome experience! We will definitely stop here again in the future :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sexyaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Pines Cafe also viewed

 

Been to LA Pines Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing