We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good experience.....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Slidell
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a good experience.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were traveling back to Texas from NC and Slidell was a good place to break up the trip. We wanted a hotel with an indoor pool for the kids to get out some energy. After reviewing Trip advisor, Candlewood had a pretty good rating and was top for hotels with indoor pools. When we got in the room, we were going to relax for a few and put on the TV. Several channels didn't work and the front desk said there was something going on with the cabel/satellite company. They offered free movies at the front desk for the kids which was great but the DVD player didn't work. They did come an swap the DVD player out. Before going to the pool, my wife was going to shave but the water in the shower and had kind of a yellowish tint to it which was not appealing. After that, we took the kids to the supposed heated pool which was very cold and there were no towels available. Another trip to the front desk to get towels. Last but not least, we got up at 6:00 the next morning to try and get a jump start on the final leg back home and the elevator was out of service. Trying to carry several pieces of luggage and 2 sleeping toddlers from the top floor is not fun at any time, especially at 6:00 AM in the morning. I would be very hesitant booking a Candlewood suites next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwo07735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear dwo07735,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay. We are pleased you chose Candlewood Suites - Slidell/Northshore as your hotel preference. I am sorry that several television channels did not work and that you encountered an initial problem with the DVD player. I also apologize for the lack of towels in our pool facility and the trouble caused by our elevator service. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide excellent accommodation for our guests. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to improve the service level we aim for.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    41
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
88
28
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here a few times. The hotel is very nice and clean. If you want two beds in the room, you get two full size beds; not quenn size beds like other hotels. Other than that, we liked it there. We stayed just one night each time on our way to somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bphpsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear bphpsu,
I would like to start out by saying thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We love hearing back from our guest. We strive as a team to make our guest as comfortable as possible and happy. I am sorry to hear that the beds were small to your liking. Next time you are in the area please stop by and see us again. There are other room types that may better accomadate you on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank you
Christina Restrepo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very clean, and comfortable beds. The full size appliances in the kitchen were very nice. When we called the Front desk the clerk told us to come downstairs and get the sheets ourselves, and then was not there when we went to get them. Another phone call did finally produce some bedding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brennakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Brennakis,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. It is so good to hear back from our guest. Here at Candlewood Suites we strive to make every guest happy and comfortable. I have spoken with the front desk staff and I apoligize that we were not available to you when you needed us. Let us make it up to you next time you are in the area, we would love to have you as our guest again. We look forward to your next stay.

Thank you
Christina Restrepo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Allemands, LA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff was very patient with our large group of 7 year baseball team and gave us a great discount for our group.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Husbands4othBirthday,
Thank you for your feedback. Here at Candlewood Suites we strive to ensure our guest are comfortable and happy with there visit. I am extremely happy to hear about your group having a fantastic time at our hotel. And I am even more happy that we could accomadate your group with our special group rates. Thank you again for staying with us. If you are ever in the area again please stop by to see us.

Thank you
Christina Restrepo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fire Alarm went off around 7:00 a.m. on Saturday morning. Elevator was out of service due to this alarm and was not working even 24 hours after the false alarm. Hair was on bath towels when requested towels at front desk. Pets are allowed here. Should have done research about this before hand. If you aren't used to the smell or have allergies, you are being forwarned. Also roach was crawling in tub when I went to use the restroom during middle of night. This hotel was considered a five star upon checkin and each day it's star rating dwindled down. As of now the only decent thing about this hotel is the location. They should encourage hotel staff not to smoke in the front of the building. I even think the manager was out front smoking a few times. Just not a professional look.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gents112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear gents112,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am pleased that you found our location convenient. However, I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Your comments about the fire alarm and the smell have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This excellent (FIVE) rating is in the category of chain hotels retailing for less than $100 all in. Laid over one night here after a late start driving Houston to Pensacola. I found the hotel just as depicted here in the multiple TA reviews. Corporate headquarters really should look into cloneing this management team over the rest of the Candlewood Suite empire. These people have it down.

Also found a pleasant eating surprise just down the street with Zea Rotisserie & Grill Restaurant. Spouse and I left the hotel at 9:30 PM expecting to dine at McD or one of the other fast food outlets nearby, and happened to see lots of vehicles in the Zea parking lot. Tried it, and found half of Slidell's smart set was still eating and drinking. Also learned Zea is well established all around the NOLA area. Address is 173 Northshore Blvd, Slidell, LA 70460
(985) 273-0500, about a half mile south of the Candlewood. Try it - You'll love it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Jackta,
Thank you for your kind words. We strive at Candlewood Suites to make all of our guest very comfortable and happy. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, this lets me know that the staff and myself have done our jobs . If you are ever in the area again please stop by and see us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Christina Restrepo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport,ms
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Even Though I did not receive Two Double bed as i Requested i was very Pleased with the hotel in general, Room was VERY CLEAN and had a GREAT smell. Beds are alittle hard but not too hard, inside pool was a plus ( no pool towels offered so make sure to bring your own towels from the room). No Breakfast but that is any Candelwood as far as i know. Great New Resteraunt just opened up down the street Called ZEA Very Good. Overall i enjoyed my Stay and will be back again. Thank you to the hotel Staff for being Very Friendly

Room Tip: If you ask for the handicap room you will get a bigger bathroom and Tub/Showe combo. The Standard Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluvlcy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear lluvlcy247,

I wanted to thank you for your review on our hotel. It's always nice to hear that my staff is providing friendly service. After all that is what we are here for. I wanted to send my apologize that there were not any pool towels in the pool when you went to take a dip. I will be sure to take that up with my staff. Please let us know next time you are in the Slidell area. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Slidell hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slidell Northwest
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Slidell-New Orleans East
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Slidell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Slidell Inn
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Slidell/New Orleans East Area
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Slidell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore

Property: Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore
Address: 100 Holiday Blvd, Slidell, LA 70460-6844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Slidell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Slidell
#4 Romantic Hotel in Slidell
#5 Family Hotel in Slidell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Slidell / Northshore Hotel Slidell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing