We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Knew Gators Breech?”

Dr. Wagner's Honey Island Swamp Tours
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Slidell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Picture the moss hanging on gnarled cypress trees as you travel into one of the wildest and most pristine river swamps in America. With the swamp tales of pirates and sightings of Big Foot in the back of your mind, you may be just a little bit nervous at first, but after your first boat ride you'll want to go back again and again! You'll be overcome by the primitive beauty of the cypress trees rising from the water...the sweet smell of wild azaleas in the air....
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Early spring in the bayou finds many gators still waking up, but the swamp tour didn't fail to please this suburban KY girl. Our guide made everything about his beloved swamp lands come to life. We watched a gator breech the water for a hot dog. Who knew? Gliding through the bayou past the Spanish moss draped cypress we saw egrets, herons, gators and snakes in their natural habitat. We past the fishing camps and homes of folks like our guide who loved the Pearl River environs. Spring displays of tupelo honey blossoms, water lilies in bloom, swamp iris blooms, and other native plants delighted us. It's a great getaway just 30 miles from NOLA. Certainly not an environment I'd experienced before, but one I associate with LA,

Thank derbycitylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drwhoneyislandswamp, Manager at Dr. Wagner's Honey Island Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We're glad you had such a great time and we were able to give you an experience like you've never had before. You painted a very vivid picture in your review; there is true beauty year round here in our swamps! Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for Dr. Wagner's Honey Island Swamp Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 679 of 960 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

This tour was one of the highlights of our trip to New Orleans. The company will pick you up at your hotel in a van and drive you to Honey Island Swamp (45 minutes to an hour). The boat is quite comfortable and our guide, Brian, was fabulous. He knew so many interesting facts about the swamp and its inhabitants, and was able to spot snakes and alligators that were well camouflaged by the environment and point them out to us. He took us to a spot where wild boar live and they swam up to the boat for marshmallows that he tossed to them! All in all we saw things we'll probably never see again, and we found it just fascinating. The weather was just perfect in March - not too hot, but sunny and mild. Take this tour if you possibly can - it's terrific.

Thank AmyGNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drwhoneyislandswamp, Manager at Dr. Wagner's Honey Island Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We appreciate y'all coming out and are glad that you had a great time! Hopefully we'll see you again soon; every trip and every captain is just a little bit different!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We very much enjoyed this outing. They will pick you up at your hotel door for a reasonable fee. The driver was very informative and personable. The office is a small shack with a gift shop. Our guide, Brian, was very well versed in the local wild-life. A wonderful family experience that we were thankful that we did!

Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drwhoneyislandswamp, Manager at Dr. Wagner's Honey Island Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank y'all for coming out! We're glad you had such a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Th tours depart from a tiny shack by the water and speed through the swamps over the thick green algae through the trees. You will see some incredible wildlife - birds, alligators - and experience Louisiana from a unique perspective. I went in August and it was extremely hot when the boat was still, but refreshing when moving.

The alligators seem unperturbed by the boats but they are fed by the guides to bring them to the surface so avoid if you don't agree with that, but highly recommended to see them in their natural environment.

1  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drwhoneyislandswamp, Manager at Dr. Wagner's Honey Island Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We thank y'all for coming out and visiting us! We're glad you had a great time and got to enjoy some sights that even some locals haven't been out to. We do feed the alligators a couple of marshmallows and hotdogs here and there to entice them to come to the boat, however these little "treats" do not take away from the alligators regular eating habits; they still have to feed and fend for themselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Me and my mom and dad went on the 11:30 tour. Our Captain, Captain Charley was amazing! He took us through the bayou showing off birds and snakes and telling about those native to the swamps and bayous. The time of year we went was not a good time for gators, but we did see a baby gator. The whole experience was well worth the time and money. The people are very friendly. We HIGHLY recommend Capt. Charley! Hope yall have a great time like we did! God bless!!

Thank apostoliclady17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drwhoneyislandswamp, Manager at Dr. Wagner's Honey Island Swamp Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We're glad you and your family could make it out to see us. While during the winter months alligators do go into a hibernation state, you are bound to see more turtles, wild hogs, and birds that are more adventurous knowing that the alligators aren't lurking around to feed on them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Wagner's Honey Island Swamp Tours also viewed

 

Been to Dr. Wagner's Honey Island Swamp Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing