We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't let the pilctures fool you!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cajun Inn

Cajun Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cajun Inn
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't let the pilctures fool you!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Do not go to this hotel!!!! I drove an hour out of my way just to buy the jacuzzi suite. When i got there. I could not find the Howard Johnson Hotel NO WHERE!! So I called the number and the man told me that the hotel has not been the Howard Johnson in 5 years!! It is called the Cajun Inn... It is RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE GHETTO!!! I wouldn't even feel comfortable leaving my car at this hotel over night. This is FALSE ADVERTISEMENT to show this nice hotel online, but when you get there its a MOTEL!! Just by looking at it, you would think they have roaches. But I didn't even go inside so I can't call that one! If i ever go back that way I will take a picture and upload it so EVERYONE CAN SEE WHAT IT REALLY LOOKS LIKE.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank christina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed one night at this property to go to the Independence Bowl in December 2006. My husband is a huge Alabama fan (Roll Tide) and we didn't want to fool with the hassle of parking. This hotel is a short walk to the stadium, our room was upgraded without even asking to the jacuzzi suite, and we were allowed into our room a couple of hours before checkin to freshen up after 4 hours on the road. The room was about what you should expect for a budget motel, older and in some disrepair. The hairdryer and Bible were both missing. But it was well-cleaned and we got a good night's sleep there. We would stay at this property again if we are in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — questionable neighborhood
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2005

Even though this hotel/motel is convienient and off the freeway, its in a shady area. Don't be fooled by its affordablity...stay elsewhere. The rooms were not in the best condition (i.e. blood streaks on the wall) and the grounds were not well kept at all. Staff even locked herself in the front office and it was only 6pm. You'll be better off staying at a Marriott or Hilton chain.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shreveport hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2005

Not dirty at all as stated by someone! We had a group of 9 people and our stay couldn't have been better! With a friendly staff and comfortable, quiet rooms...what else could you want?

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2004

First, get the jacuzzi room! Rather nice hotel rooms for the price, very clean and the staff is helpful.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2004

This place is only a year or two old, but the cheap construction and finishing really shows. We stayed there two nights in August, and had to change rooms twice due to air conditioning not working in either of our first two rooms. The rooms are standard cheap motel size and decor, but housekeeping is lacking. The front desk staff were friendly and tried to be helpful, but the building itself was pretty shocking. If you need to stay in this area in Shreveport, I recommend you find a different place.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shreveport hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Shreveport LA
Travelodge Shreveport LA
#23 of 37 in Shreveport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Medical Center
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 37 in Shreveport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Shreveport Airport
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Shreveport Airport
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shreveport-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cajun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cajun Inn

Property: Cajun Inn
Address: 2610 Claiborne Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Shreveport)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cajun Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cajun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Shreveport Hotel Shreveport
Howard Johnson Shreveport
Shreveport Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing