We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Extremely pleasant stay. Front desk staff was very helpful in helping us find a nice place for dinner. Room was clean and secure. Location was convenient to the interstate highways and easy to get to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmaiden, Director of Sales at Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
On behalf of the entire staff at the Best Western Chateau Suites Shreveport, thank you for staying with us recently. We know our guests have many choices and we hope that you choose to use Best Western Chateau Suites Shreveport again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    70
    39
    52
    89
See reviews for
83
101
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I am a Best Western Rewards member. This was the worst Best Western I've ever stayed at. Samuria at the front desk was nice over the phone and booked my family
(sons ages 7&9) a room on July 4th. However, that came with a cost. The kind size bed did not have a cover on the box spring, was uncomfortable, and the hotel is very outdated. The room did not face the river; therefore we were unable to see the fireworks. So we had to go outside to the pool area to watch the fireworks. The room faced and was under the expressway, so heard traffic all night.

The next day, the pool was supposed to open at 8am. It wasn't open and I asked Samuria and she replied that she'd call and see what time they're "going" to open it. Then we attempted to eat breakfast, it was cold, not a large selection and had to wait for tables to be cleaned. We decided to leave, like many other dissatisfied guests. At 9am, Samuria was nice enough to tell me the pool was open.

Also, they did not honor the Costco discount up to 20%.

Thanks but no thanks!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmaiden, Director of Sales at Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you for staying recently at the Best Western Chateau suites Shreveport. I am very sorry your stay was a disappointment. I have addressed your concerns and experience with the entire hotel team so we can ensure they will not happen again. Our team works very hard and strives to exceed expectations every day and we are sorry we fell short.

We hope to have another opportunity to have you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shreveport hotels

Forest, Ms.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you want cold showers and staff that do not care stay here. They will discount $20.00 per night for the cold showers. Be careful of the water at the top of the stairs on the 2nnd floor. unless you want to fall down the stairs. Or maybe you can mop the floors for them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank JJJJJrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmaiden, Director of Sales at Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you for staying recently at the Best Western Chateau suites Shreveport. I am very sorry your stay was a disappointment. I have addressed your concerns and experience with the entire hotel team so we can ensure they will not happen again. Our team works very hard and strives to exceed expectations every day and we are sorry we fell short.

We hope to have another opportunity to have you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was dirty. The pool was green and had lots of trash and bugs. Our room had mildew in the shower. There was no hot water for over 6 hours on the Saturday we stayed, forcing us to shower with cold water. We went to report the issues with the front desk staff, only to have Jeanette, one of the front desk staff, heckle us with sarcasm and completely disregard our complaints. She laughed and responded with sarcasm when we told her about no hot water saying "oh no" and "poor you" over and over. When I asked when that issue would be resolved she wasn't able to give us an answer. I asked for a Manager. She told us that Victor Patel would return on Monday and we could call then. I called on Monday and was sent to his voicemail. I have yet to receive a call from him. I also was charged for an extra night on my credit card. When I discovered the extra charge and called the front desk clerk said that Victor is the only one who can remove. So I once again let a number for a return call. This was the most horrible experience we have ever had with a hotel. I would highly suggest choosing a different hotel for anyone considering staying at the Best Western Chateau Suite Hotel in Shreveport, LA.

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here. It is the worst place I have ever stayed. This is not a cheap place to stay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmaiden, Director of Sales at Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you for staying recently at the Best Western Chateau suites Shreveport. I am very sorry your stay was a disappointment. I have addressed your concerns and experience with the entire hotel team so we can ensure they will not happen again. Our team works very hard and strives to exceed expectations every day and we are sorry we fell short.

We hope to have another opportunity to have you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has busted showers, no hot water and a green pool. When I asked about hot water Jeanette laughed! She is the front desk attendant. She did inform us the "manager" only works 5 days per week. Whomever does the staffing at their slumdog hotel needs a raise! When things go south don't make repairs just hire Jeanette she'll belittle the guests over small details like hot water, clean towels or a green pool!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmaiden, Director of Sales at Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you for staying recently at the Best Western Chateau suites Shreveport. I am very sorry your stay was a disappointment. I have addressed your concerns and experience with the entire hotel team so we can ensure they will not happen again. Our team works very hard and strives to exceed expectations every day and we are sorry we fell short.

We hope to have another opportunity to have you stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was dirty and the customer service was lacking. The pool was green and dirty. The shower were full of mildew. There wasn't any hot water for an entire day. Staff didn't care. I asked the front desk clerk when the hot water would be repaired and she was very rude and sarcastic. She basically heckled everyone with sarcasm rather than help. She just began saying "oh no" "how sad" very rudely. I have never experienced anything like it. I ask to speak to a manager and she said call Monday and told us there was no one other than Mr. Patel that we could speak with. So no manager on staff. Horrible Stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmaiden, Director of Sales at Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
We apologize for the experience you had and would like for you to give us another chance since we are under new management and have new front office staff . Please accept our sincere apology and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMARILLO, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were on a kill time trip and each day we changed our minds to move on to another city keep putting off traveling so just stayed at this Motel. The clerks were very nice and the room was very well worth the price. One of the best rooms we have stayed in. We will go back if in that area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmaiden, Director of Sales at Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Best Western Chateau Suites Shreveport Hotel and thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, We look forward to your next stay with us. Have a terrific Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shreveport hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 37 in Shreveport
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport

Property: Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport
Address: 201 Lake St, Shreveport, LA 71101-3737 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Red river business & casino district of Shreveport, LA. Hotel Amenities:• Complimentary Southern style full hot buffet breakfast .Complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of our facility including all area casinos, the Louisiana Boardwalk and Shreveport Downtown & Regional Airport between 7:30AM a.M.& 10:00 P.M. •Outdoor pool (seasonal) •24 hour extended exercise facility •Full kitchen with 2 room suites available •24 hour front desk service •Complimentary USA Today Newspaper (M-F) •12 hr turnaround dry cleaning service available (M-F) •Guest laundry facilities on site •Safe deposit box available at front desk Guest room door locks •32" LCD Flat screen satellite televisions in every room • •Multiple elevators for convenience •Ice / vending machines •Complimentary parking on site •Fax services at nominal charges•Photocopy services at nominal charges •Meeting rooms available for conference services •Exhibit services • •Large business center with complimentary internet •Complimentary wireless internet access •Corporate direct billing service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chateau Hotel Shreveport
Best Western Shreveport
Shreveport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing