We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Completely Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Completely Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The outside is nothing spectacular and the front lobby area was good enough. However, once assigned a room that's where the rating goes down, way down. There was one elevator that was excruciatingly slow and dirty. Once we arrived at our room and opened the door it was evident this was not going to be a good experience. Most hotel doors automatically close after you open them, but not this hotel, the door stays open until you physically close it. Upon inspection of the room, there was no comforter or duvet on either bed, just two sheets and a blanket, along with 3 couch sized pillows that were not comfortable at all. The bed skirt/dust ruffle was ripped and torn on each bed, the decor was dated, the reception on the tv was horrible as there was static on every channel, despite being cable. The bathroom had hair on the floor and a hole in the wall behind the door where the eraser sized lock had punctured through it. The noise in the hall and between rooms was noticeable and contributed to a lack of sleep. The hotel offered a "free hot breakfast". We went down the first morning and tried it. It was awful, the juice dispenser didn't work, the eggs and gravy tasted like a reconstituted powder and the rest appeared unappetizing. Needless to say we didn't return the next morning. While the staff were pleasant, this hotel clearly is in need of a major renovation/update to be on par with other 3 star hotels in the area. This hotel is AT BEST a 2 star. I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kolonialone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    71
    40
    52
    91
See reviews for
83
103
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We stay here at least once a year. The suites are spacious and clean. Conveniently located at the edge of downtown.
I've read several reviews that say it is outdated, I prefer to think of it as classic.
There is a good breakfast each morning. The bar is a little small and smokey, but quaint.
I recommend this hotel if you want a reasonably priced, large hotel room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank deezoomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We came without a reservation and Delilah checked us in. What a sweet and friendly person. Casey also is a nice young lady. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was quite nice. It was clean and the amenities good. Breakfast was tasty and plentyful. Delilah recommended a place for dinner and their shuttle service provided the ride there and back. How nice is that? We would stay there again. The location in downtown Shreveport was close to their summer Red River Revel festival. Fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ushie_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The front desk person was not professional looking at all. We has to change rooms and still has issues with the second room. AC didn't work, lamps not working, TV kept fuzzing out, no blankets in room at all, toilet broken, shower curtain didn't fit, phones wouldn't dial out, the list is long. No late checkout was available and we had a "double suite" and there where 4 of us and they said only 2 of us where allowed to eat breakfast. Housekeepers were rude and argumentative and our door keys had to be replaced right when we first tried to go in. This hotel needs a lot of work and updating. It's way to pricey for what it offers. Staff needs a lot of work as well. Do not reccomend this hotel if you want something nice. Beds are uncomfortable and pillows are horrible as well. You are better off paying more and getting you money's worth somewhere else. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shreveport hotels

Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a splurge for us but celebrated the end of our trip being near. The hotel may be a bit outdated with it's decor and furnishings but has a great staff and rooms. We enjoyed their pool, used their business center, and thought the breakfast was first class. The restaurant was closed on Friday night which left the Holiday Inn across the street or a unique place called the Blind Tiger within walking distance. Had we not wanted to walk to either of these shuttle transport was available to either or to the casino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Checked in @ 12:30pm and Delila was helpful and smiling. Had lunch in the resturant. Didnt like the tea but when i told the waitress she immediately made some fresh tea. WE were given a special dicount as well which was good. Went to the room and the duvet and entire bed was soft and huge. The room smelled of fresh berries which was odd but it made me feel at home!.
WE then left and went to the boardwalk and came back and they had a nightly snack awaiting us at the desk and then we woke for breakfast an it was moreeee than what i expected. Fresh everything and everyone was so nice. They even made us a fresh omelet. WE paid 79.99 for the room and then recieved our best western points and we were extremely happy and i will be bringing more people to this hotel. Thanks
Delila, Dinora, Rose and Jackie

Room Tip: Ask for Dinora, Delila or Rose when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is very classy a little outdated but very nice and the staff was very sweet and helpful! They had a very friendly bellman to help with luggage and the front desk was very helpful and knowledgeable of the to do's in the area! They gave me a voucher for the bar and breakfast buffet which was very yummy! We read previous bad reviews all i can say is you cant please everyone! Overall my stay was relaxing and my room was nice and stocked with a minibar and snacks i will definitely recommend this to all my friends and family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bowhunterhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#1 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Shreveport-Bossier City/Downtown
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport
#10 of 37 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport

Property: Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport
Address: 201 Lake St, Shreveport, LA 71101-3737 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Red river business & casino district of Shreveport, LA. Hotel Amenities:• Complimentary Southern style full hot buffet breakfast .Complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of our facility including all area casinos, the Louisiana Boardwalk and Shreveport Downtown & Regional Airport between 7:30AM a.M.& 10:00 P.M. •Outdoor pool (seasonal) •24 hour extended exercise facility •Full kitchen with 2 room suites available •24 hour front desk service •Complimentary USA Today Newspaper (M-F) •12 hr turnaround dry cleaning service available (M-F) •Guest laundry facilities on site •Safe deposit box available at front desk Guest room door locks •32" LCD Flat screen satellite televisions in every room • •Multiple elevators for convenience •Ice / vending machines •Complimentary parking on site •Fax services at nominal charges•Photocopy services at nominal charges •Meeting rooms available for conference services •Exhibit services • •Large business center with complimentary internet •Complimentary wireless internet access •Corporate direct billing service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chateau Hotel Shreveport
Best Western Shreveport
Shreveport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing