We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible but not terriffic either.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not terrible but not terriffic either.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked this hotel through Priceline's "Name Your Price" feature and paid less than $100 by the time it was all said and done. I won't ever use Priceline again. That being said - the place isn't a dump, it just is old! I felt like I was stepping back in time to the 60s!

The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were super tiny! BRING YOUR OWN PILLOW!

I really think the towels are the same towels they purchased when they opened the place. They were threadbare and stringy. I've never come across this in a hotel before!

The woman who helped us check in was very nice and efficient; she is the best thing about the hotel!

It's in a great location, so if you are wanting to stay downtown but not wanting to pay the casino price, it's not bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    69
    38
    51
    83
See reviews for
79
99
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at this Motel on 6-9-12 and found it to be a gem! No more will we pay those outlandish prices at the Casino Motels! Even though the Motel was very dated, I found it really comfortable. What impressed me the most was how clean our room was. I love, love...the triple sheeting on the beds. This certainly brought the bedroom up-to-date. I, myself, inspected it for bed bugs (I work for a Motel Chain and have been certified in this area) and found the beds very clean and free of bed bugs. I was very impressed with the mini bar and snacks. When we came back from the Casino around 3 AM....I had a snack and pepsi and my husband choose a favorite beer. We were very relaxed sitting in the living room area. I love the fact that their rooms are suites....very very roomy. You have a huge bedroom, living room, kitchenette, and bath. The staff was very professional, helpful, and nice. We were running behind the next morning and after a knock on our door from Housekeeping to make sure we were still there, the little girl told us not to hurry. She was just making sure we hadn't left and forgot to check out. She actually told us to take our time.....I have never been told that before. (We actually made check-out so it wasn't like we were an hour or so behind). WE will definitely be staying here whenever we visit Shreveport in the future. I am so happy that we have found a very reasonable, clean, very quaint Motel to make our little get-a-ways to the Casinos even more enjoyable. Thank you Best Western Chateau Suite Hotel for an enjoyable stay. Mrs. Myers

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelby_dsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslet, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

So, my husband and I visited Shreveport for our anniversary. Let me say, we don't have high expectations really when it comes to hotel stays or other. We're outdoorsy people, not high maintenance whatsoever. But this, to pay $94 for this just didn't seem worth it to me.

Pro's...
1) It had an old school classy feel - I appreciated that.
2) Front desk clerk was nice and did nothing wrong.
3) Work out room looked great, didn't use it though.
4) Within walking distance to the Mudbug Festival - that was fun!

Con's...
1) Smelly - like mildew and dust.
2) Dirty - flies were flying everywhere, the couches in the waiting area were gross, floor, everything didn't seem to be cleaned on a regular basis.
3) Creepy - yes, this may seem silly. But the neat classy old school feel with addition to the dirtiness made me start to feel like I was in The Shining. "Come play with us..." AHHH! This made it kind of fun though lol.
4) The main elevator has grafiti in it - says "F**K THIS PLACE* over the doorway from the inside. Not a good sign!
5) Pool was greasy and dirty - didn't smell much chlorine which worried me.
6) AC very loud and didn't cool down as much as we'd like.
7) Breakfast was not to my liking... Flies were all over. It seems to have been warmed up from previous days.
8) Bad location - scary with all the people about at night.
9) TV reception was bad. Even the channels we did have had interference.

Anywho, I guess that's it. Needless to say we stayed at Samstown the following night and LOVED IT! It was beautiful, cozy, clean, wonderful.

Please do note however that the pricing was probably higher due to the Mudbug Festival. So maybe if it's down to say, $39/night it'd be worth the stay.

Thanks for reading! Hope this helps someone! :)

-Bobbie-

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shreveport hotels

Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Negatives:

The hotel doesn't seem to be in the safest area. Also, the outside door lock was broken, so anyone could come in when ever they wanted.

I knew we were in trouble when we were at the registration desk, and a guest was complaining about the air conditioner not working, and toilet not flushing. The door key to the first room that we were given didn't work. At this point, we were given another room, and the air conditioner didn't work, and we couldn't flush the toilet. The third room that we were sent to was hot, muggy, smelled and the toilet didn't work. The fourth room was on the 5th floor. It was hot, but after turning the air conditioners on in both rooms (bedroom and living area), it became bearable after a few hours. Air conditioners are very loud. We had planned to move to another hotel the next morning, because it was just one disaster after another. Finally, the room cooled to a nice temperature. I called the front desk to get maintenance to fix the toilets twice. The first time, the toilet was better, but had to flush twice. The second time, the maintenance guy was able to fix the toilet. Still there didn't seem to be enough pressure to flush properly, but it worked at least. I asked to speak to a manager, but was told that there was no one there that could help me until the next day.

The next morning I went down to talk to a manager about our inconvenience. I talked to a lady by the name of Delilah. She wrote down my concerns, and said that she would speak to her manager (she was the Sales Manager), and she said that she would call me back. Of course, I didn't get a return phone call. Finally, I called her back only to find out that she had just left. I complained to the front desk again when we returned from our activities. The desk clerk said that she understood our concerns, but there was nothing that she could do and that we would probably have to wait until Monday to talk to a manager The desk clerk told us that there was nothing that she could do. I was very annoyed, and it probably showed. Shortly after we got back to our room, the front desk clerk called us and told us that she had talked to the manager, and instead of charging us $150.00 each night for our room, we would be charged $79.00 (which was the regular price of the room). The room rate had been marked up due to the Mudbug Festival that was in town. I thought that we should have received a free room for one night, but we didn't feel like arguing anymore.

On one of my many trips downstairs to complain, a police officer was in the office writing a police report. There's no telling what was going on.

There is a very nice gym in the hotel, but some of the equipment didn't work. Seems like there is very little maintenance of the hotel.

Positives:

Everyone was very nice. The bed was comfortable, and our 4th room was clean. The hotel was walking distance to the Mudbug Festival and some of the casinos.

I do not know why a hotel that was expecting so many people for an event would not have turned the air conditioners on, flushed the toilets, and made sure that everything was operational.

The hotel is old and needs to be updated. Although there is a flat screen in the living room and in the bedroom, there is limited cable and movies can not be ordered. They do have free internet. It was hot is heck in the hallways and in the elevators.

I think I will stay in a Bossier City Hotel from now on. This was not a pleasant experience, and we only got a room discount after complaining over, and over, and over again. The hotel obviously is not properly maintained.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here, we were in room 505. It seemed to be a lot better than the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

More than I expected in a lobby of hotel chain... quite charming. Rooms were good and restaurant offered a good hot breakfast (included with hotel stay at no extra charge). Price was reasonable and overall, this was an average stay with a good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SalBarreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmaiden, General Manager at Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and when you are planning another trip to the area, please feel free to contact us directly so we can try and book you for a free upgrade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Not a good choice. Was embarassed as I booked it for a crowd.
Beds very hard. Rooms noisy; hard to sleep. Not only thin walls and lots of highway and train noise, all rooms have very old and noisy cooling and heating units. Breakfast ample and varied, but some items reheated from prior days and are very bad. Dinner at restaurant awful. Bar is nice but rarely open...why would you only open from 5 to 10 pm in shreveport? Staff varies from extremely helpful to petulant. Shuttle stops at 10:30pm. Like I said, embarrasingly bad. Stay at the marriott... much safer and more convenient to casinos and such.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallastraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmaiden, General Manager at Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We take great care of our guests on a daily basis and i certainly apologize that your stay with us was not a pleasant one , however please feel free to call the hotel and lets try and make things right so that we can become your home away from home when you travel! We thank you for you for staying @ Best Western Chateau Suites Shreveport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We went ahead a booked a room here even though there were a few bad reviews. I'm so glad we did. This really is a nice place to stay in my opinion. It was our backup since Sam's Town was sold out.
Was a busy checkin due to weddings and other activities for the weekend but the staff was very nice, patient, and professional.
The room was 210 and was a suite with a bedroom, sitting area and bathroom on one side and thru the door was the living room mini-kitchen type area. Some furniture and appliances were outdated but still in good working order. Bed was fine and bathroom was remodeled and fine.
We did not notice any road noise or noise from other rooms as some reviewers posted.
We walked to Sams and El Dorado (7 blocks or so) an had no issues. Was actually a nice stroll thru the downtown area and w never got the feeling of being at risk.
We will definitely stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandnSun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shreveport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Shreveport -I-20-Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Remington Suite Hotel and Spa Shreveport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Shreveport
Hilton Shreveport
#2 of 36 in Shreveport
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Medical Center
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 36 in Shreveport
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport

Property: Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport
Address: 201 Lake St, Shreveport, LA 71101-3737 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chateau Suite Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Shreveport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Shreveport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Red river business & casino district of Shreveport, LA. Hotel Amenities:• Complimentary Southern style full hot buffet breakfast .Complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of our facility including all area casinos, the Louisiana Boardwalk and Shreveport Downtown & Regional Airport between 7:30AM a.M.& 10:00 P.M. •Outdoor pool (seasonal) •24 hour extended exercise facility •Full kitchen with 2 room suites available •24 hour front desk service •Complimentary USA Today Newspaper (M-F) •12 hr turnaround dry cleaning service available (M-F) •Guest laundry facilities on site •Safe deposit box available at front desk Guest room door locks •32" LCD Flat screen satellite televisions in every room • •Multiple elevators for convenience •Ice / vending machines •Complimentary parking on site •Fax services at nominal charges•Photocopy services at nominal charges •Meeting rooms available for conference services •Exhibit services • •Large business center with complimentary internet •Complimentary wireless internet access •Corporate direct billing service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau Suite Hotel, Downtown Shreveport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chateau Hotel Shreveport
Best Western Shreveport
Shreveport Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing